Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Good hotel in the middle of town

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Outside needs a tidy up, but inside VERY clean. Food excellent this is a non smoking hotel but on booking form says its smoking so could put non smokers off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Comfortable weekend stay

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, helpful staff, great food, centre of town
Cons: Definitely parking, if possible. Reception (had to book in at the busy bar)
Location: Hotel is in centre of town - Longleat is quite close, and a short trip to Bath.
We stayed here for two nights (weekend) and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is old, and in the centre of town. Rooms are all 'upstairs' - I forgot to check this before booking. Hotel was very clean as were our rooms and very well furnished with warm bedding, and all facilities needed for a short stay. We dined here also, and the food was great. Plenty of choice, especially at breakfast too. The only downers we found were the parking. This was at the back of the hotel, and very tight underground parking for larger cars. The first night was fine, plenty of space, but the second night we arrived back at 6.30pm and could not get in - had to park at public car park further back. Also, being an old hotel, the windows are mostly single glazed, the one in our bathroom did not shut tight, and left a small gap - and also being the coldest weekend it made for a cold bathroom despite the heater. Overall, however, a pleasant stay, staff very friendly and helpful - we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - would stay again

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Make your way to this town and this hotel!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Fantastic town, great old hotel really comfy.. Best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel and it's included!,, great stuff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

friendly staff, excellent food, newly refurbished

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: staff, food
Location: centre of village, near longleat park
upon late evening arrival the hotel entrance was closed but it is linked to the pub next door so went into speak to the bar staff. staff gave instant attention and was friendly and helpful and polite. explained all details in kind manner and we had a pleasant overnight stay. we had dinner at the same pub/restaurant and the food were excellent and exceeded our expections of pub food. meat and fish quality were really good and presentations were way better than your usual pub grab. breakfast was excellent and offered big variety. staff were again friendly and helpful. rooms were totally refurbished and clean. only downside was bed was a bit 'springy' otherwise would give 5 star to comfort too. coffee and teas and your usual 4 star hotel stuff were all present. hotel has a secure parking garage behind the building, would be good if it had a small alley way leading to the front entrance so would not need to walk to the side and to the entrance again. overall excellent stay and would recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Another good stay at the George hotel in Frome

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice. We had a very comfortable night, and the staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandrafrom Hampton

Family Room One Night Dec 14

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely spacious family room. Nice breakfast included. Pleasant staff. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, very nice refurbised bedroom.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Stayed one night on flying visit to Bath Christmas Market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glynnfrom Oxford

GREAT STAFF

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were brilliant. Room faced road and was very noisy late at night with loud voices and motorbikes revving. Ask for a back room!