Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Al from Warwick, UK

Welcoming inn

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Nice pub, easy, friendly, clean. Staff were happy to help. Beds were comfortable and we had a quiet night.
Cons: Rooms were quite small, I wouldn't want to stay there for a long holiday. Food in the pub was very good but not cheap.
Location: Good for exploring the beach - it's about 1.5 miles away (there's a closer car park). We went fossil hunting!
We stayed for one night in the family room, well fitted out and very comfortable and peaceful. Used it as a base to explore the beach with the family, for which it was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed from London

Great location for access to local amenities

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here two nights, the accommodation was well kept for a period establishment. Quite noisy at night as room was above the bar. Staff were welcoming and accommodating. Locally sourced food on menu looked great but didn't have an opportunity to try. Breakfast was very basic, with a reasonable selection and portion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan from Uk

Comfy beds

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very cold when I turned up and was a bit musty. However once it warmed up the bed was very comfortable. The food in pub was very good and well worth the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly getaway

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Quick walk to the fossil beach perfect for a country walk! Amazing views. Hotel is part of a pub with excellent food and friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from London

Stopover on A 39

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Welcoming staff. Good food. Sift bed.
Cons: Cleanliness. Better to have a tiled bathroom floor than carpeted.
A real inn. A comfortable stopover on a long journey from London to Cornwall (going the slow way). Great meal. Comfortable bed. Bedroom up a grotty staircase.
3 out of 5
by Charles from New Zealand

Average hotel.

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Food was good but the bathroom was not up to standard as shower over bath had no shower curtain and bathroom was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great place and location to stay for a fantastic break. Owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is very good and dogs are very welcome. Will dtay there again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dom E

Did the job, dog friendly, good food

Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for a night early March en route to Cornwall. We wanted a dog friendly place and it ticked the box. The food was good and they have local real ale so all good. We found the staff efficient and pleasant but not overly friendly. Not unfriendly but we'd read on Tripadvisor about friendly manager - well at breakfast he sat and read his papers on an adjacent table but didn't go out of his way to chat to us or say goodbye as we left. None of the staff took time to ask where are you from where are you off to, or did you enjoy your stay etc. We would stay again - it was a comfy room and all efficient and pleasant. I just felt it wouldn't have taken much for the staff to have done a bit more to exceed expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very welcoming, quirky but very comfortable room. Excellent restaurant food-eveing meal, however if you need early breakfast, before 8, offer cereals and rolls. Friendly landlord (with cute puppy) and sociable locals
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2012 on Hotels.com