Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Exmoor Pub

Posted Mar 29, 2015
This is a classic exmoor pub. Staff were very friendly and willing
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simonfrom Corwall

Dont Book if you want an early breakfast

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Poor customer service received from this business. No where on Hotels.com did it state that Breakfast was from 8:30am or I would not have booked this property. When I asked about breakfast after having a meal and drinks I was told it was the later time, the landlord did not even offer any alternative I had to leave the property and incur further expense for the breakfast from a local village garage. Breakfast at 8:30am for people working with appointments to keep from 9am onwards is completely unfeasible and to not offer any form to resolve the matter is very poor service. Would not recommend this property for the poor service and unfriendly Landlord in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephenfrom Bromsgrove

Wholeheartedly Recommended

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked literally the night before, on arrival we were greeted pleasantly and given all the information about the facilities, our room was spacious very clean and warm the bed was comfy, the only thing lacking was only one chair two would have given our room 5*,we ate our evening meal in the lower bar and the food was absolutely stunning so no complaints, overall very enjoyable and wish we had stayed longer, we will use it again next year as a first choice if available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Theofrom Cambs

Top notch!

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great inn, packed with character and extremely comfortable. Busy for the two nights that I was there (early September), but not at all rowdy. The service was great, the food was superb, and it's ideally situated for exploring Exmoor. Looking for an excuse to return...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Nottingham

Excellent stay in a brilliant location

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stay at the Royal Oak which we used as our accommodation for comleting the last 2 days of the Two Moors Way walk. The hotel was very clean, our room was very comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff were both friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Markfrom Northants

A hidden moorland gem

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is more than an inn. The facilities available through The Royal Oak Inn would make any country sports enthusiast, or non sporting enthusiast, feel at home. Excellently appointed rooms, very comfortable, with great food served in a real old world bar. I was made to feel very welcome and the breakfast was excellent with fresh local produce. I am sure to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by dhfrom uk

very accomadating, lovely food

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
the pub was so accommodating, making things as easy as possible, and assisting with my father. the food was superb, and a very pleasant stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howardfrom London

The ROYAL OAK INN EXMOOR -WHY STAY ANYWHERE ELSE

Posted Feb 26, 2014
I WILL NOT WASTE WORDS! EXCELLENT STAFF, EXCELLENT FOOD AND EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by aesopfrom Cornwall

Lovely Exmoor Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I arrived at 10am not expecting to check in but to grab a coffee before going for a walk on the moor. I was met by Sarah the new owner who opened the bar area, offered coffee toast and the Times and I spent a very pleasurable hour waiting for the rest of my party. She then checked the rooms and said mine was ready. A great start. On returning to the hotel, my brother and I went to the bar and waited for ages to be served, to discover the barman in the next door bar. He was a bit "cryptic" but served a very nice pint of local ale. Dinner was a very wide range of very good food (almost too much choice) and breakfast also very good indeed. My bed was very comfortable, shower hot and linen all good quality. A very pleasant stay in a historic hotel/inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Slough

A great place to get away from it all.

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I visited The Royal Oak for three nights September 13. We were very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to return. The room was compact and very comfortable with a nice soft mattress bed. The bathroom was adequate for our needs and the bathrobes a nice touch. The only downside was the TV, not a good reception. That suited me but the wife was a little put out. We ate there the first night with intentions of eating elsewhere the other nights but the food was so enjoyable and cooked to a very high standard that we ate there every night and were not disappointed at all. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The bar was stocked with some good local ales and looking around at the decor was not a veggies paradise with pictures and mounted heads of the local wildlife. All in all this hotel is a great place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. (No motorways or planes to listen to whilst trying to get to sleep). In fact I had no trouble sleeping. As I said we would not hesitate to return there.