Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Beautiful Resort, Secluded

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The thing I liked most is that you can go to the beach to sunbathe or choose from an indoor heated pool or an outdoor unheated pool .
Cons: Night life for those who like to socialize and meet new people.
Location: Location isn't great. Almost at the west en of the island. Felt a little isolated and there is nothing much to do close by.
Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is a very well maintained property. Our accommodation wasn't ready when we checked in at 3pm so they gave us an upgraded cottage which was just lovely. Beautiful views of the sea and a very large cottage. Not much to do at the resort in the evening except go to dinner and then have a drink in the small bar, Port O' Call. If you're looking for a relaxing place to unwind, this is a good place to start. The only downside to the resort is that is it way out on it's own. There aren't many place you can walk to for "night life", except a small local pub called the Country Squire. Be forewarned though, it's a local bar with a very "colorful" clientele. It's about a half mile walk from the resort, which is comfortable, but I wouldn't come back too late in the evening as there are a few men who sit at the end of the road drinking. If you choose Cambridge Beaches for you vacation, be sure to watch the resort's channel before you head out anywhere. They give a lot of good information on what there is to do in Bermuda.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Quiet, no children if that is what you want. Secluded, intimate setting.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel will shuttle you to the bus stop twice a day. Closest to the Dockyard, which was quiet for the time of year we went (March).
Richard was going to bring us to our room, but instead requested a quieter room because there was construction going on at the initial building our room had been. He was most helpful the whole time we were there, as was the whole staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portsmough

Good, hotel, excellent position but isolated

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: It's setting is beautiful with excellent sea views on both sides of it's private peninsula. (However it is thereby relatively exposed to bad weather)
Cons: For this standard of hotel, one would expect the serving staff to be a bit better trained an on Valentines night staff numbers were insufficient.
Location: The historical Royal Naval Dockyard is a few minutes a way by bus and is well worth a visit. Taxis are very expensive but buses are frequent
Unfortunately, the weather was unusually stormy for this time of year and the fact that we had gone for a week of winter sunshine tainted our potential enjoyment of the hotel. It is ideal for a romantic 'hideaway' for a weekend break (which owing to travel costs puts it out of reach of many Europeans) but, owing to its 'rural' location at the West end of the island and almost as far as it is possible to get from the airport, it makes much more sense for the normal holiday traveller to choose somewhere closer to the middle of the island or in the capital Hamilton. All of the staff were very helpful, attentive and courteous. However, we found the 'island culture' a little irritating (e.g. making a joke when things went wrong such as transport turning up late or when drinks, which had to be ordered twice, did not turn up until after the end of the meal. When these were cancelled, the drinks were still placed on the bill ! (although this was corrected immediately when pointed out). Everything on the island is very expensive and one can expect to pay up to twice what one would expect to for food and drink. We found the widespread norm of making a compulsory service charge particularly galling; the fact that it is 17and1/2 % adds insult to injury!! Whilst service at the the hotel was invariably kind and well-intentioned, we would expect to give between 7 - 10% in UK and elsewhere for this standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Amazing honeymoon, beautiful property, attentive and wonderful staff. We will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Nice Hotel but Maintenance was poor

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Our room was nice, bathroom was updated and comfortable. Breakfast staff was nice and breakfast buffet was OK.
Cons: Building maintenance and service/attention to details need to improve significantly. Hotel shuttle could bring guests into town for free.
Location: Location is very far out from Hamilton and most sight seeing locations, so travel via taxi was very expensive. The views were terrific.
Our room was great and the views are wonderful, but up keep and maintenance of the facility is very poor. Lots of things are in disrepair and not kept clean. They could blame some of it on hurricane damage that has not yet been repaired, but other stuff has been obviously neglected for a long time. No attention to details. Staff did not pick up dirty towels around the pool area or come around and ask if you wanted anything. Pool bar staff acted like it was a huge chore to make a drink for you. It was not busy at all, so the service should have been great, but it was not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully located, peaceful, multiple beaches!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Staff is excellent, very professional and very helpful. The location is exceptional with uninterrupted water views.
Cons: The only dinner restaurant on the property was overpriced with a small selection, little for vegetarians, and unexceptional.
Location: We rented a moped right on property and toured the entire island. There are four separate beaches surrounding the hotel, as well as gym, pools, etc.
We stayed at Cambridge Beaches over New Years. It was a lovely experience, the staff was friendly and helpful, the location was quiet and perfect for a round of golf at the gorgeous Port Royal golf course, as well as moped rides to Hamilton, walks on the beach, and dips in the pool. The included breakfast was robust and fantastic with daily omelette bar, nicely prepared hot foods, as well as a full array of fresh fruit, pastries etc. Other meals were expensive and less impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sheetalfrom New York City

Peaceful hideaway in Sandy's Parish.

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Wonderful stay and great staff. The west part of the island is not as frequented so that may not suit some people who want to be in the middle of the action, so to speak. However it was perfect for us. Besides you can always rent a moped on the resort grounds and drive on over to other parts of the island. Plus the bus stop is a 5 to 10 min walk from the resort entrance. The food at the resort is great. We especially enjoyed the special Christmas dinner! Breakfast is varied and buffet-style and overall satisfying. The staff is always warm and friendly! The indoor pool was great in the winter. There are plenty of little places to walk down to the water and enjoy the sounds of the water. Our water view suite was just perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bermuda

Overlooking the beach

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Staff were so friendly. They offered to pull back our bed linen in the evening, It was my wife's birthday. They brought her a lovely chocolate cake.
Cons: Directions to the reception!
Location: Lovely swimming pools, inside and outside. Spas where you can be pampered/pamper yourself. Delightful afternoon tea to enjoy by yourself/with others.
Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a deluxe room overlooking the beach. Check-in was a delight, so warm and personal. We were offered a drink and then the attendant escorted us on a golf cart to our accommodation. It was clean, comfortable, and spacious, with free Internet and a flat screen TV. There was a lovely balcony complete with sun-lounging chairs. It was quiet and romantic. There were lovely walks on site to beaches and gardens. At breakfast time we chose to eat outside. It was a very good meal in an excellent setting. We took pictures near to the site commemorating the visit of President Bill Clinton and Secretary Hillary Clinton. My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much, thank you, Cambridge Beeches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Review of Cambridge Thanksgiving Beaches Visit

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
My family enjoyed our first visit to Bermuda and stayed at the Cambridge Beaches. It was absolutely beautiful the people were lovely and kind and the service was top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

great ocean view from private lanai

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: relaxing, setup, food/restaurants
Cons: staff could be more knowledgeable about how to get places and restaurant selections.
Location: dockyard for a meal and shopping (not the best of either, but something to do). horse shoe bay / nature trails. gibbs hill lighthouse.
this was a great place to stay. they're secluded on their own little penisula of the island. breakfast was included and great each morning. staff was very friendly. it was easy to get around and see a lot of the south end of the island from this resort. pool was gorgeous.