Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
I had a very LOUD problem with people staying above us the first night. Called the front desk at around 11:30pm and minutes later, it was finally quiet. The next day, I asked to have our room changed. We were given a free upgrade to a beautiful suite for all our troubles!! What a pleasant and unexpected surprise! Great front desk staff!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Mellow But Needs Noise Control

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Spa next door. Good food.
Cons: See above. The pool situation all but destroyed our visit.
Location: Lots to do. We drove easily to Sonoma.
Love the spa next door and the general mellow atmosphere. However, the last visit there was when school was in session. So there weren't screaming kids in the pool till past 8 pm. Not enjoyable when we were trying to have a relaxing dinner on the patio. We heard later that the hotel has a Pool Membership for Local Families in the summer. Which leaves the pool a noisy Marco Polo game ... depriving grown-ups of a pleasant swim -- and negatively affecting our quiet birthday dinner. I think future guests should be warned of this change in the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Location: We went to Safari West and that was main reason for staying overnight
Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Clean facility and excellent breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dressed up Motel 6

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Good location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Replace the antiquated furniture and bed to call it a resort.
Location: Russian River Brewery a mile away.
This hotel needs some serious updating. The AC unit made a loud ticking noise the whole time it was off. The staff loaned a fan to disguise the noise. The fan in the bathroom was too noisy to have on. The bed was an old style bed where if you or your partner moves, it moves the whole bed. The bed was a low bed style, so you know it's over twenty years old. It was awful. Woke up with a stiff back every morning. The room was clean, I'll give that. But every room is next to old wood stairs...need I say more?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Willits, Ca.

We really wanted to love it...:(

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The employees were nice.
Cons: Read the above review, believe me, it says it all!
The first room they put us in had 2 lightbulbs out, one on the only light for the desk & the other the large fluorescent tube over the sink in the bathroom & the closet door would only slide open around 6 inches making it difficult to hang up your clothes. We called the office & they said they would send maintenance, I asked if we could be moved to a different room, the office said they would check & get back to us. So after a few minutes the maintenance man came to the door & we asked if we could be moved to a different room so he called the office & they moved us to a room that had filthy carpet with 2 large stained spots one about 2 feet wide & 4 feet long, hopefully from a leak. The hotel allows pets with a deposit, so we hoped the spots were'nt from a pet! It is hard to find a parking place where our room was located because the hotel also has a health club for public use & people using those facilities take a lot of spaces. We did enjoy the pool after the little kids left, must have been a daycare using the pool cause there were lots of kids, Thursday a work day for most parents. This hotel is'nt cheap, so we had expected a little more. Hopefully they will at least clean the carpets for future guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wi

Small rooms

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Pool area
Location: Great grocery store near.
Very small rooms, not has clean as it could be. Grounds and pool area were wonderful. Price of ice cream pool side was unbelievable. $15.00 for two ice cream sandwiches. Should have free coffee early in the morning and free Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Black Rock City NV

Love Historical hotels. Not a cookie cutter chain.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
The only negative for the hotel was the lack of free wifi. The grounds and staff were excellent. Great food in the Terrace Grill as well. I would stay again while in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor, ME

Flamingo was a flop.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Pleasant and helpful housekeeping staff.
Cons: Larger bathrooms, curved shower curtain rods, replacing furniture, refrigerator, adding a microwave.
Location: Centrally located in Santa Rosa.
1960's motel offers little to the modern traveler. Small bathrooms, barely adequate beds, and old furniture... generally a lack of expected admenities for the price. Spa was separate business next door with little discounts offerred. Pool, though large, was set up for lap swimmers, and difficult for elderly or disabled to make use of. Hotel does a great deal of business renting space to conferences, etc, and parking could get difficult during the day or over the weekends when resturant and live music were available. Housekeeping was excellent, cleaning the rooms well daily, and quick to deliver room service, extra towels, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ron from oregon

Nicely remodeled older property

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Remodeled room and good working desk
Cons: Bathrooms could be updated - should not charge for internet
Odd layout - however very unique. Great pool area for children - most of the rooms have been nicely remodeled. Very nice- accept the bathrooms counters & sinks are still old. Updated lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2014
The experience was extremely disappointing.The dining room staff needs to be trained.