Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, CA

Comfortable stay in private residence

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The house is almost 100 years old, so it's got lots of character!
Cons: The lock on the door gave us some difficulty. It's got one of those old skeleton keys and it took us a couple minutes to get it opened from the inside
Location: Close to everything, but in a very country-like setting.
My guy and I really enjoyed our inn keeper, Lucille. She joined us for breakfast and got the scoop on the wedding we attended the night before. I will note that you are actually staying in a room in her private home, so it's a fairly intimate setting. We're flexible, so it worked well for us. Hollyhook was less than 15 minutes from our venue and close to town and many wineries. You really can't beat the price for the area. The other option we looked at was more than double what we paid here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint relaxing country home.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Super adorable quaint, cozy country home! Was adorable! Quiet street surrounded by vineyards. I felt like I was at my grandmothers house, gave me warm and fuzzies! Super close to downtown shops and restaurants.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Zoomingfrom Newry

Stay anywhere but here

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The problem I am facing when starting this review is WHERE do I begin?? The entrance to this ramshackle dump should have alerted me immediately, an old faded sign stuck on a chain link fence announces your unfortunate arrival, overgrown with weeds and extremely unkempt with a pothole filled "driveway" which isn't a driveway at all merely a dirt track. I was instructed to park the car anywhere I liked as we were the only guests. (Surprise surprise) There are NO parking facilities at all, you abandon your car in the side of a field, ok for 4wd vehicles but I was concerned for my rental. Broken steps lead up to a FILTHY tired looking bungalow with peeling paint, uneven porch boards and just a general feeling of neglect. Inside the house it's DARK, floor boards screech at ever footstep, no private bath, dirty kitchen with rubbish all over the place. Our room was tiny, filled with junk, poky and the whole house stinks of rancid cats urine. This all washes over the head of the owner who informed me at almost 3pm the "room" wasn't ready, gladly we took off and spent the next few hours searching for alternative accommodation but to no avail. We killed time before we went back to the dump at 9pm, took sleeping tablets and got up and left at 5am while it was still dark, no way would we be having ANY breakfast in this place. I was angry beyond belief that anyone would DARE to charge people for staying in this dirty, untidy hovel, quite honestly the kennels I put the dogs in are better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Suzettefrom Southern California, USA

Cozy Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hollyhock Country House is a simple & cozy place to spend a night. Our room had a double bed with a coat rack and seated bench with an adjacent bathroom. It is an old house, so the floors do creak as you walk. Located a few miles east of Sonama Plaza, where there are no street lights. GPS makes it easier to find, esp when driving at night. We drove down the driveway, which leads to the back entrance of the house. Continental breakfast was served.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by disneytaurusfrom Sacramento, CA

Comfortable and quiet

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: It's very quiet and away from the main strip.
Location: Definitely recommend the Sonoma Plaza...lots to do and lots of wine tasting.
This was our first trip to Sonoma and our first Bed and Breakfast. Overall we had a great experience and got the rest we deserved. Lucy is the hostess and she was very social and kind to us. She has a very social cat that was very friendly. If you are not a cat person don't worry because she will keep it away and out of the room. She also has very good tips on things to do in town. Just remember if you choose to go here you are going into their home so don't over expect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alma og Ole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Visitor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hollyhock Country House-Amazing!

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is an amazing jewel in Sonoma! The Hostess is a very delightful and talented artist. The House is filled with lovely antiques, collectibles and artwork by the Hostess, Lucille. My room was very compfy, clean and cute. The country property is beautiful with deer meandering around the front yard. In the sunroom, where breakfast is served, the squirrels, outside, chase each other through the trees. The Continental Breakfast was delicious with raisin bread, apple turnovers, wonderful coffee and juice. Lucille is extremely affable and interesting to talk with. The House is located about 5 minutes from the Sonoma Square-it's wonderful to be able to retreat to The Hollyhock after the bustle of downtown Sonoma. I look forward to returning to The Hollyhock for a longer visit.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tomasfrom San Francisco

A COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place was a shock. First, It's an old farmhouse which shows it's age. Entering the house which was located far from town, we smelled cat urine. The B and B advertised that we would have a room with a bath, the opposite was true. . Once we entered the house the woman who owns the farmhouse showed us a small room. The double bed and a bookshelf filled the space. She then told us that another couple who needed a place to stay would be sharing the bath we were supposed to have to ourselves. Also the bathroom was located in the hallway not privately accessible from the room. The room was small and stuffy. She claimed that Expedia had gotten things confused and so only this room was available, and the other couple who had elected to stay had no problem sharing the bathroom with us. The bathroom had a toilet and a claw bathtub which did not have a shower. Instead there was a hose attached to the bath's faucet and while other types of hand showers have a shower head attached to the other end of the hose this was just a hose. There was no shower curtain. We have stayed in small bed and breakfast before but this was a place we wanted no part of. This woman advertises her home as a hotel but it is far from being anything but a place where you are sharing a room in her private home. There should have been a full disclosure as to what one would expect by paying to stay here. We left without having another place to stay in Sonoma .