Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing hotel in Sonoma

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Gardens, room, room and reception service
Cons: Insolent waitress in restaurant
Location: Wine regions
Ideal hotel for relaxing and enjoying excellent restaurant and other facilities in garden setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Perfect place to kick back and relax

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Terrific inn with gorgeous rooms and grounds. The inn is close to the town of Sonoma. Overall, a terrific experience and I would highly recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and tranquil stay near heart of Sonoma

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: If we had one request, it would be to add some more protein (sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs?) to the free continental buffet.
We usually stay in Yountville but needed a hotel in Sonoma for an evening wedding, so decided to try out MacArthur Place. We were not disappointed! The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful, and the room was spacious and very comfortable. (My husband even wanted to know who made their mattresses!) The grounds are spacious and beautiful--lots of places to sit and enjoy the quiet or a good book. We highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bend, WA.

Great character and very relaxing.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: We really liked all of it. Their wasn't anything not to like about it. Definitely a place to recommend!
Cons: The only thing is that the pool staff leaves at 3:00 pm, but that doesn't mean you can't get anything.
Location: Beautiful part of Sonoma. Loved the bike riding and the convenience of walking to town!
We really enjoyed our stay at MacArthur Place. The room was great and very clean. I loved the walkways and all the different vignettes. The staff was so friendly! The food from Saddles was really yummy and it was great having it poolside as well. We rented bikes for the day to go wine tasting. Another thing that we loved was that it was a really nice 15 minute walk to the center of town which we did thru the neighborhood and was able to see all the beautiful homes in the area. While I was there I texted some friends saying that they need to stay here when they come to Sonoma! We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yum! from Louisiana

Great place for a romantic over night

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and beautiful gardens.
Cons: Protein at the free buffet.
Location: Pretty close to town, walking distance. You can also use their bicycles.
The staff here was friendly and helpful. They have a great library of DVDs to check out, for free. The wine during the free happy hour was very good. The only negative was the lack of protein on the buffet table for breakfast. Otherwise, the food was very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from San Francisco

Old style comfortable resort near the Sonoma Plaza

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable room and close to downtown.
Allowed early check in and was given a room with easy access to the pool. Excellent wine and apps free at happy hour, very nice cont breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The room was cozy and the grounds and outdoor art were beautiful.
Cons: I was completely happy.
Location: There were wineries and shopping near by. Napa is only about 40 minutes away, there is wine tasing in Sanoma.
The place was so beautiful. We went to the Sanoma area and had a wonderful weekend. The location was so beautiful and restful. The grounds wre beautifu!! I went for several walks around the property and took countless photos. The outdoor gardens and art were amazing. The room was so cozy and the breakfast was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from New York, NY

A perfect homebase for our first visit to Sonoma

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds are completely charming, our room (#53 in the Carriage House) was cozy and comfortable, and the staff was exceptionally helpful and kind.
Cons: After one day of enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast, we defected for eggs and grits at the Fremont Diner.
Location: Easy to walk to the square from the hotel - we also rented bikes (right at the hotel) and toured nearby wineries.
We chose Macarthur Place based on other Expedia reviews, but I have to say, the hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The grounds are every bit as beautiful as they appear in the photographs - actually, I found them more charming in person. We had booked a Standard Queen, but when I called to ask about a possible upgrade to celebrate our recent engagement, they not only quietly upgraded us but also had a bottle of bubbly waiting for us upon arrival. From check-in to the wine reception to renting bikes from the concierge to taking a movie out of the library, every person we interacted with was so friendly and helpful - the service here is really top notch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth for the price

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Cons: Change the Expedia's description and photos.
The description of room type was one queen bed, but my room was with two small beds and so noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from CT

A beautiful, comfortable, friendly place

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Great location. Spacious, well-appointed bedroom and bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff. Fine breakfast.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Wineries. Fine restaurants and shops. Charming town.
We loved our too-short stay at MacArthur Place. It was like staying at a gracious friend's lovely home.