Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from New York, NY

A perfect homebase for our first visit to Sonoma

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds are completely charming, our room (#53 in the Carriage House) was cozy and comfortable, and the staff was exceptionally helpful and kind.
Cons: After one day of enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast, we defected for eggs and grits at the Fremont Diner.
Location: Easy to walk to the square from the hotel - we also rented bikes (right at the hotel) and toured nearby wineries.
We chose Macarthur Place based on other Expedia reviews, but I have to say, the hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The grounds are every bit as beautiful as they appear in the photographs - actually, I found them more charming in person. We had booked a Standard Queen, but when I called to ask about a possible upgrade to celebrate our recent engagement, they not only quietly upgraded us but also had a bottle of bubbly waiting for us upon arrival. From check-in to the wine reception to renting bikes from the concierge to taking a movie out of the library, every person we interacted with was so friendly and helpful - the service here is really top notch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth for the price

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Cons: Change the Expedia's description and photos.
The description of room type was one queen bed, but my room was with two small beds and so noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from CT

A beautiful, comfortable, friendly place

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Great location. Spacious, well-appointed bedroom and bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff. Fine breakfast.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Wineries. Fine restaurants and shops. Charming town.
We loved our too-short stay at MacArthur Place. It was like staying at a gracious friend's lovely home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best 2nd trip

Posted Feb 18, 2014
so good we went back, and would reccoemd to anyone going to visit Sonoma
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wine-tasting weekend

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Cons: The bathroom fixtures need rethinking: sink was small and hard to access, and shower head was poorly aligned. But these were minor inconveniences.
Lovely cottage-like rooms around a pool and sculpture garden. Nicely located near but not in the Sonoma Plaza. The rate included an outstanding buffet breakfast in their restaurant, which is also excellent for dinner. The staff was very knowledgeable about Sonoma, Napa, and Russian River wineries, and provided maps, recommendations, and special tasting cards for all the properties. We had a very relaxing weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lisa from boston

Great find for overnight in Sonoma

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Cozy comfortable spa/ hotel.. Room was beautiful..facial at spa was super relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beautiful hotel close to some nice wineries

Posted Feb 3, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and excellent dinner at Saddles
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth for the price you pay

Posted Jan 27, 2014
We had stayed for 2 nights, and they told me they upgraded our room for the price we pay. We were happy first. however when we entered the room outlay was quite odd, and the bed was close to the front door. We liked only the rain shower head they had. They offered free wine tasting in the evening, and they provided very cheap wines. We thought we had resort coupon for $100. Originally, the guy at the front desk told me they would honor the coupon at the checkout. Hence to spend the money we had a dinner at the restaurant on the property. It was the worst dinner for the price of $100 for 2. When we finally checked out, they did not want to honor the coupon we had, and they told me that since we booked from Expedia website the coupon was not valid. They cheated literally, One of the worst experience we had. Never to that place again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Wonderful Staff, beautiful grounds, terrific room, great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Lafayette, CA

Too expensive for what it offered

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was for only one night but good. It was too expensive for the overall quality of the hotel. The workout room was small and inadequate. I had a massage at the SPA. Unfortunately it was a typical SPA massage, lots of lotion, nice person, but not much sensitivity- rushed and formulaic. Wine and cheese hour was nothing special. Staff overall were great. Might be better in the summer.