Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Diane & Steve from Denver

Comfortable and great location

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Have stayed here many times before and always have enjoyed it. Nice wine tasting in lobby before heading out for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I paid for.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
I was disappointed with the hotel room because I thought I bought a garden view and king size bed. When I arrived I was put in a room with a double bed and it was not a garden view. They were sold out. Hotel needs to be updated. This is not a four stR hotel. More like 2.5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice place and extraordinary staff!

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were fabulous, friendly and accommodating The hotel lobby, wine bar, and pool area were beautiful and well maintained
Cons: The rooms could be updated as they didn't seem to fit the property.
Really enjoyed my stay! The grounds of the resort are lovely and well maintained. The staff is excellent. I've stayed at many hotels (business and personal) and found this place to be the best in customer service! The food was great all around...from the restaurant, wine bar, room service, etc - all was top notch. The guests ranged from couples to families and all were friendly and appeared to be having a great time. The resort common areas seemed to encourage social interaction and made the overall experience more fun. The rooms were fine. Nothing special, but not bad either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven Z. from La Jolla, CA

Nice hotel but F&B questionable

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room exceeded expectations. Nice, spacious, and very clean. Seemed well maintained except for the toilet paper dispenser that was broken. Front desk, shuttle driver & bellmen were all great. Disappointed with the quality of the food for room service and very displeased with the service we had @ Carneros for breakfast. Both room service's pricey filets were discovered to be charred after the wife and I returned to the room from a night out. We wondered why our kids barely touched them and were still hungry (they ate the fries). I don't blame them as I wouldn't have eaten that. Dining in house was bad too. To make a long story short service was horrid. To compound the bad service and either delayed or missing items, after we finished eating we had another couple and their daughter join us. They also got the bad service along with missing items too. Running behind for checkout due the unwelcomed lengthy breakfast, the waitress finally returned with the bill not split & a 20% large party grutuity added!! Industry standard is 18%. I normally tip 20%+ for even decent service this was a joke. I had to complain to the manager where she split the bills and took 20% off our bill. I still left the waitres $10 she didn't deserve. It's a shame as you'd think in Sonoma good food/service would be at this 4-star resort. They need to to do better. Otherwise everything else was great I just wouldn't recommend anyone eating here.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J from CA

Terrible service at the front desk spoiled my stay

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Terrible service at the front desk spoiled my stay. Front desk insisted on charging a daily resort fee that clearly should not have been charged, and was curt, rude, and condescending. Had to call hotels.com so they fixed the issue by talking to the manager. Kudos to hotels.com, and FAIL to the Sonoma Renaissance. Will stay at the Fairmont next time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Terrible service spoiled my stay

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Terrible service in the front desk spoiled my stay. I had fully paid the hotel when booking, and yet was charged a "resort fee" on a daily basis. Tried to explain that this fee should not be charged to me, but the woman I had the "pleasure" of dealing with was rude and patronizing, treating me as if I were clueless and had never stayed at anything but a one star hotel. Did not want to keep arguing with her, is I simply said OK. Of course, called hotels.com and thankfully will be reimbursed for that charge. Just wish I remembered the name of that front desk woman, as she has no clue how to treat customers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J B from CA

Out of the blue, charged an extra $20 per day fee

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is my first VERY NEGATIVE experience booking a hotel in hotels.com. The hotel out of the blue charged us a $20 "resort fee" per day to each of the rooms in our family vacation. This was not an optional fee, but obligatory. And this was NOWHERE ADVERTISED when booking in hotels.com. Really disappointing, to be charged an arbitrary $20 a day "resort fee" (we didn't use any facilities, i.e. no spa, no nothing... and they charged for those separately anyways!) after having paid in full in hotels.com (at a tune of over $300 a night to boot). Felt like a complete ripoff. Will complain with hotels.com. Hopefully they will be more receptive than the rude staff at the Sonoma Renaissance (boy was the woman in the counter rude and condescending to some in our party).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

an unequivocal "meh"

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
this place is ok if you are not going to be at the hotel that much. It doesn't leave a huge impression either way. while not lovely, it's not charming either. they also failed on the little things: no in room menu, forgot things on the order, that type of thing. HEADS UP: hotels.com tells you there is no resort fee but there is. This hotel took it off but there is definitely a miscommunication going on.