Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Great location close to city center. Complimentary wine tasting, hiking guide, and shuttle were excellent services.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Overpriced and the room was not the one I reserved

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The grounds were very nice, and gives the idea the hotel would be the same
Cons: Provide the reservation you have requested, have clean rooms and follow thru on what you promise.
Location: This is located in the wine country, so there is endless things you can do. Shopping, wine tasting, wine train, hiking and the beach is close by.
I reserved a king room, and got a 2 bed room, when I complained they said it was Expedia's fault. The room was on the Highway so it was noisy, their was long black hair in the shower, 2 of the lights in the room did not work and the phone did not work, When I told the front desk at check out, they said I should have told them sooner, I only figured out the phone did not work, when I called to check out. When I checked out, they asked about the stay, I told them and she said they would reverse the resort fee, then they did not do that correctly. Give the rate total cost of more than $500 a night, this was by far one of the worse experiences I have had. The staff that served breakfast was very good, attentive and were the bright spot of the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Tyson Tomao, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize that your room was not as expected. Please reach out to the hotel in advance if you do choose stay with us again, and we will make sure that your reservation is 100% correct. We are addressing the other items of your stay and we are retraining our teams to make sure that every guest experience is a good as possible. I hope you will give us another chance, because as you mentioned we are in a beautiful location and really do have a lot to offer. Tyson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Loved the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Posted Aug 6, 2014
A gem. Wonderful staff made our stay exceptional. Thank you to Timothy at the front desk for being welcoming and accomodating. Be sure to take advantage of the services offered by the concierge/navigator Dominique Catteau. She is an excellent contact for all reservations as well as recommendations for wine tastings. Absolutely fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskoka, ON

Very Relaxing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
After a big screw up with the hotel in San Francisco, we were very happy to find this place. We had a great stay here, it was more than what we expected for what we paid. We had one of the cottages
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice hotel near wineries

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Great pool area. Restaurant was excellent. Convenient to town and wineries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
hotel was very relaxing, clean and staff very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girls Wine Trip

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Spent the weekend with 5 girls wine tasting in Sonoma and stayed here as we had heard it was very close to everything. Hotel was very nice, staff was nice, shuttle was amazing and the location was close to everything. Food was great---bar fun...but cleaning of the room was horrible! We were there for 3 nights in one of the cottages with 5 girls and they only cleaned one time! We ran out of toilet paper, towels, shampoo and had to keep going to the front desk to complain. They gave us one breakfast voucher as a "sorry". Gee, thanks. P.S. They also served Sangria for their wine happy hour...worst thing I have ever tasted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Tyson Tomao, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the quality of housekeeping service you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. We are updating our summer strategy for groups and families to add more amenities and linen to the rooms. I am glad that most of your interactions were positive, and I hope we can welcome you back soon and provide a flawless experience throughout your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ericka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elzie from East Bay

Across the street from Train Town

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice large hotel. The rooms are laid out in many buildings, probably at least a dozen. The pool area could use more shade and there is pool service. The pool area is not at all private; it is quite public. There is another small pool in the spa which is only available to spa guests. Rooms are spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfy room with patio

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lodge is a solid 4 star hotel. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and spacious. We had a walk out patio where we enjoyed wine and cigars. The hotel staff even brought us matches within minutes. Highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Sonoma.