Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, in a small town.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: It felt like you were going back in time, with the effort that had been taken with the renovations of the room. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing I can think of at the moment.
Location: Only stayed one night so cannot comment on this too much.
There is a restaurant, which is at the back of the hotel. The staff there, were all friendly and the meal was nice. Rooms of the hotel, have been done up well to resemble the past. Just a pleasant place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very quite and comfortable.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Very comfy. Staff was very friendly and onsite restaurant was excellent. Nice place to stay along Hwy 1.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Oh - I thought it said Valley FORGE..."

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Lupe, the girl who brought out the keys and let us use the house land line (since there was No AT & T wireless signal).
Cons: Where do we start? New location further from the highway, additional restaurant options (or more nights open during high season)...
Location: Too close to dead man's curve, and there;s nothing to do nearby except drive away.
Couldn't stay - there was nowhere to eat dinner - including the in-house restaurant, closed Mon-Tues-Wed. - and the "hotel" sat adjacent to the endless whoosh of cars and trucks on the highway. "Valley Ford," fine name for a car dealership, is merely a bend in the road en route to Bodega Bay. As Gertrude Stein famously said of Oakland: "There is no There, there." Owner was nice about trying to re-list our one-night booking, but no one else bit - so we ate the $137 fee. About 30 min. north we discovered the Bodega Coast Inn, with "continental breakfast," and, more urgently for us, nearby options for dinner that were Open for Business. Belinda at the front desk was lovely and helpful, the Bay itself stunning, and the deer near the beach dear and photogenic. Consider the VFH a last resort resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from Redwood city, ca

noisy in the morning, but it is the nature of area

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Cons: nothing really
Location: country life, very cool
loved the quaint little hotel, nice ambiance, set up, just what i expected
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Sacramento

We were visiting the nearby beach area.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Very minimalist hotel. We were there on a Tuesday eve. There were six envelopes left on the porch of the Hotel. Each had a name and a room key. We let ourselves in. The restaurant was also closed as were any other places in town to eat dinner. The room was clean, pleasant. However the pocket door to the bath had a broken pull latch. The wood toilet seat was chipped and most likely should be replaced in a hotel. Small shower, low shower head. OK if you do not want to wash your face or hair. Rather austere Euro type room, bed. But, clean, interesting old hotel in a nice area. Just do not expect fancy.
3 out of 5
by Jorah from Charlotte, NC

No AC, and loud traffic noise

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Charming rooms, good food in the restaurant.
Cons: Air conditioning, if it could be added, would be a huge help. I suggest that they get a new mattress for room 5!
Location: We spent the next day at Point Reyes.
This was the most-expensive and least comfortable hotel we stayed in during our two-week trip. With no air conditioning, we opened the window and were treated to loud noise from the traffic on the busy road. The bed was lumpy and caved in, in the middle. The room itself looked very charming, and I could put up with the tiny shower since we were only there for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

underwhelmed.

Posted May 27, 2014
Very small room, wifi was intermitant, lots of street noise... Restaraunt was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dan sisco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from SLC UT

Old Fashioned Nostalgia

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I loved this quaint and nicely updated little roadside hotel. Except for Highway 1 right outside the windows, it had great character.