Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl. USA

Wonderful return to Britannia Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is always a pleasure to stay at this historic hotel. However I miss the all the Palm trees in the Palmehaven! The staff went out of their way to meet our needs and was friendly and attentive. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derick from Atlanta

Great location, great price. Historical Hotel.

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Very accommodating staff. We arrived early by boat and they got us in our room by noon, and as we had a late flight the next night, and they let us keep the room until 3pm the next day. We really appreciated it. The hotel is a historical landmark in the center of town. The rooms are tired, and our bathroom reeked of cigarette smoke, but the room size was generous, and reasonably quiet given the location. Being Norway there is no air conditioning, even in August, so we slept with the windows open at all the hotels we visited. The breakfast buffet was great, served in a wonderful old dining room with vaulted ceilings. All in all, I think it was a great value. Just know that you're not staying in a luxury property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent service, amazing breakfast, outstanding spa. Cleanliness of floors in room and hotel corridors was however disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Faily good, but nothing exceptional

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decent hotel in decent location. Rooms a little old-fashioned but still comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from London

A nice quaint hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great long weekend, the hotel is well situated in easy walking distance of major shopping areas, a short walk to the Cathedral, a middle walk to the fortress and a long, long walk to the Tower and Egon restaurant. Parts of the Hotel are in a time warp but the rooms we had were well appointed an d had an extra large bathroom, bigger than some of the rooms I've stayed in. The breakfast was good, wholesome and plenty of choice and quantity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from UK

Best hotel breakfast ever

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: Excellent breakfast served in an impressive breakfast room
Cons: Shower cubical in the bath was a bit cramped and might cause problems for more elderly guests.
Location: Good central location
Nice, well maintained, hotel with helpful staff. The room was a little on the small side but comfortable and clean, although it did not come with coffee or tea making facilities. Quality of the breakfast was excellent - the best choice I have ever seen in a hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Warren from Manchester

Poor rooms, good hotel

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms here were worse and more dated than your average premier inn. The twin beds were a small single size, with a 3 inch mattress on top. Not 5*. The spa is a good extra, the bars and restaurants are cool, staff excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid at all costs!

Posted Feb 12, 2013
I would advise others not to stay here. Shabby for the price. Check in was a joke, no communication what so ever. WiFi was poor and breakfast was cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Beth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com