Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Hampshire, UK

Excellent all round

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Exceptionally friendly staff. Excellent food and service.
Cons: None
Location: 3kms out of town, but hourly free shuttle bus ran from 8am to 11pm.
Excellent hotel all round. All staff from the management down were friendly and helpful. We stayed on half board basis, the food was delicious! Lots of choice at dinner and breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, couples, families and older people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Relaxing hotel in the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. Really friendly and experienced staff. Brilliant hotel for a family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Imogen from Oxford, UK

Great hotel, amazing staff - out of Sorrento

Posted Oct 4, 2012
The hotel is brilliant. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms are very clean and in the evening the bed is turned down and a chocolate left which was a nice touch. The pool area is great and gets loads of sun through the day, not that we were around a lot as there are so many sites to see. The hotel has lots of excursions that can be booked through them, they seemed to be well priced and you would be taken and picked up from the meeting point. We did feel like we had to fend for ourselves sometimes when we arrived at the meeting points though as there are so many guides and you need to find out which one is yours!! We found the guests at the hotel were mostly older, I guess this is because the hotel is a way out of Sorrento. They have a shuttle bus running from 8am till 11pm, which is great unless you fancy staying out for a few later drinks, a taxi back is 25 Euros. It’s a 15 minute drive so the walk would take ages and the road really isn't the safest. Hope this is helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John P

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Outstanding service, great pool, satisfactory location with great shuttle service, nice room. Massimo and Nicola were fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KC

A wonderful retreat

Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
We headed out to Sorrento to relax after a busy week with students in Rome and Florence. This place was hard to find when first coming from the train station, but once we figured out where the free shuttle picks up, it offered a nice respite. We had a HUGE room, especially by Italian standards, with 2 TVs! The staff was very friendly and competent, and there were nice little touches, like complimentary wine & sweets. The wifi comes and goes, but that seems to happen all over Italy. There was a very nice breakfast buffet with a view overlooking the sea. Same with the pool – and as a swimmer, I was very glad to finally stay somewhere with a pool big enough to swim laps. But it’s also nice just for lounging. Getting into town was a bit of a chore with the shuttle, but it’s nice to be up on the hill away from the hustle and bustle. If you want a relaxing retreat, this should do it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chops from Buckinghamshire, UK

Hotel Solara

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Very professionaly run
Cons: Food and drink was expensive compared with the rest of Italy, no alt. restaraunts within easy reach, Did not tell us where to pick up the shuttle bus
Location: Outside of Sorrento with nothing close by BUT hourly shuttel bus.
Traditional upmarket hotel, outside of Sorrento aimed at the package tour market. Plus points - extremly well & proffesionally managed if a bit old fashioned. Minus - No local alternatives to the hotel restaraunt unless you go into Sorrento. Hotel restaraunt is good for a 3 course meal but there is no alternative selling Pizza and snacks. Food is dearer than in Sorrento where there is a lot of competition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Wonderful hotel, family friendly, great views!

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Location: The location is very hilly. It is not accessible on foot due to no pavements and the steep nature of the roads but there is a regular minibus service.
The only concern I would raise about this hotel was that it was advertised as air conditioned. There was in fact air conditioning in the room but it was not switched on (Arpil) I do not know if this is a policy not to switch it on until later in the season or if it is never switched on? I did ask for a fan and was provided with an air conditioner but it was large and bulky and noisy so not really appropriate. There were balcony doors that could be opened though but we were on a low floor and I didn't want to leave them open all night. The hotel was very family friendly with free pool side towels & free table tennis which the boys loved. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the hotel are spectacular, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New jersey

Near and Far

Posted Nov 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Near towns....far from the crowds. The entire staff was superb in every way. Best views are from the top floor !!!! We stayed here in early October.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, England

Best Western La Solara in Sorrento, Italy

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is a very comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. They run a shuttle bus service into Sorrento (3km) and back. It needs it because there is nothing around the hotel at all. It's on a dangerous twisty road that you can't walk on unless you like dicing with death!. The pool didn't open till after 9 so we couldn't swim before breakfast. It was October but even in summer it doesn't open till 8.30 so that's a downer. Excellent restaurant - set meal or a la carte as you prefer. Couldn't use shuttle bus when we arrived as it wasn't clear where we had to pick it up.