Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Good location / Excellent service!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Great place to settle in for three nights in Sorrento. We spent our days out seeing Pompeii, Capri and Amalfi. Enjoyed the breakfast each morning and cocktails at the bar each night. Our room had a balcony w/ 2 chairs and the TV in the room included CNN and BBC in English. Large flat screen TV in the lobby. Had fun watching a local futbol(soccer) game with some other guests in the evening before walking downtown for dinner. As an American this felt like brand name hotel quality with excellent local service. The rooftop terrace has a great panoramic view of the ocean and mt Vesuvius.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Excellent

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A new toaster
Location: Good
Very good breakfast, staff and lady receptionist excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from belfast

Lovely family hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: Reception area a bit dated
Location: On a busy and very noisy road, although pool area at back of hotel is quiet. It takes about 15 mins to walk into the central square.
We stayed for six nights at end of August. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel very clean. We had booked and were in small rooms, fine for a short stay. Breakfast excellent, great range with fresh fruit salad and freshly baked breads, pancakes and cakes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Nice Hotel with very friendly staff

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: I would definitely recommend this Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were kept spotless and the breakfasts were plentiful.
Cons: The downside to this brilliant hotel was the traffic as it was situated on the main road into Sorrento.
Location: Good location about a 15 minute walk into the main square. Frequent train service and very cheap.
We had a lovely holiday combining sunbathing and site seeing. Italy is a beautiful place and I would definitely recommend a trip to Capri. We had a guide who charged €20 and I would recommend doing this. A must is the chair lift to the top of Anacapri.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel a ten minute walk from the train

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The pool was lovely and terrace area,snack could be purchased around the pool.the Buffett style breakfast was very good with a great selection
Cons: Tea & coffee making facilities in the room although a stocked fridge was in the room the items were a bit pricey for a family on a budget
Location: From the train station you could go to Pompeii & other destinations and a boat ride took you to Capri
We arrived in rain of the circumvesuviana train which had been very busy, walk ten minutes along the main road out of the town to the hotel. The hotel was lovely the staff gave us a lovely welcome and the stay just got better when the sun came out and a walk down to the shops showed us what sorento had to offer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel a bit out if the centre of sorrento

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This hotel is clean, friendly, has a good breakfast selection and a nice pool and plenty if sunbeds. It is a 10 minute walk from the centre of sorrento down a busy main road were the pavements are very narrow in parts. So I wouldn't recommend this hotel to those with children or that find it difficult to walk. We enjoyed our stay here and loved sorrento!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from Walton on Thames, UK

Clean and friendly hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The relaxed and cheerful atmosphere
Cons: The drainage could be better in the shower
Location: Sorrento itself is beautiful. Pompei is a must & visiting the Isle of Capri. You can also eat well for a reasonable price.
When we arrived we got a friendly greeting and informed on where things were and shown information on the many day trips. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony with a view. The staff were always helpful and chatty and breakfast was always plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sisters from England

Two night stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: shower was slow to drain away and there was a slight smoke smell in the room
Location: Moonlight restaurant is within walking distance - very nice atmosphere and good food. Hotel is walking distance to Sorrento and Sant Agnello
Great location, not far from Sorrento station (about a ten minute walk). Comfortable room and very helpful staff. Receptionist, who is French, booked a wonderful restaurant for us to celebrate my father's 80th birthday. Breakfast was great and when we had to leave very early on our departure date we were allowed to help ourselves to some cakes and other items to take with us on our journey. This hotel has a nice pool (shared with neighbouring hotel) and roof terrace with plenty of sun loungers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lexy from Herts UK

Lovely hotel close to all the sights

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and good service.
The Gardenia deserves more than its 3 star rating. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is comfortable and spotlessly clean. The family room had a double bed and bunk beds with minibar, TV and plenty of storage space. The bathroom had a shower cabinet and was modern and clean. The communal areas are very attractive with a comfortable bar area in reception, with reasonably priced drinks. Breakfast, included in the price, was very good with a selection of cereals, yogurt, bread, eggs, cheese and ham, pastries, fruit and delicious home made cakes. You choose which hot drink you want and it is brought to your table. The hotel is very well located for visiting the sights. Sorrento train station is about 5 minutes walk away where you can get the train to Naples via Pompei and Herculaneum. Many buses stop here as well, heading for resorts such as Positano and Amalfi. The centre of Sorrento is about 10 minutes walk away. There are several good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, including Il Ritrovo which is literally across the street. All in all a good value family run hotel with good facilities and excellent customer service. I would recommend it to anyone who wants an excellent and well located hotel without the 5 star price tag.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com