Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would definitely stay again!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: Facilities in rooms very basic, but hairdryer was available from reception,
Location: About 20 minutes walk from Sorrento town centre, but stunning coastal views and bar only 5 mins walk.
The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly which helped make our stay memorable. Great location with stunning views. Rooms and facilities basic, but good value compared to some of the pricey hotels in the area. Lots of outdoor space which would have been great if the weather had been warm enough for us to use it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK

I wouldn't stay anywhere else

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: The staff's English was impeccable and they couldn't be more helpful.
Cons: The breakfast could be better but only because I need to write something here!
Location: About 20 mins from the centre of Sorrento, and very close to the train station.
I've spent my birthday 3 times in this hotel now and the reason I keep going back is because it's brilliant. Rustic, simple, clean, the location is great, the price is incredible, and the staff are wonderful. I can't say enough good things about Porto Salvo to be honest!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Improper Bostonian

Okay Place

Posted Oct 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was an okay experience. Everything about it was average or less, except for the service of a desk ckerk, which was outstanding. Breakfast was simple and so was the room. Nothing special jumps out. I should have stayed in Sorrento, rather than this place as it is a good 20 minute walk from the train station and Sorrento is where the action is! At this price, I could have reserved a better place in Sorrento. I would NOT recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Columbia, SC, USA

Good hotel for budget-minded travelers!

Posted Oct 12, 2012
Pros: Helpful staff, free WiFi and location.
Cons: Lack of ventilation in rooms and smell of outside burning. A fan would have helped with that and had the added benefit of creating white noise.
Location: The location, although outside of Sorrento, was a block from the water and gorgeous views. It was relatively quite and had a neighborhood feel.
Domus Porto Salvo is a wonderful inexpensive hotel but does have some limitations. When we stayed there in October 2012 our reservation for two rooms was confirmed with bathrooms in each room. However, when we arrived only one room was available with a bath. The other room had to use a hall bath. They did compensate us and did move us to a room with a bath on the third day of our six night stay, however. The rooms are clean, simple without air conditioning or fan (no thermostat that we saw) so we needed to open our windows for ventilation. We woke every morning to smell someone burning trash so we had to decide on whether to sleep with the windows closed and be hot, or to keep the windows open and smell burning in the AM. Other than this, I have no other complaints. The staff is very helpful and the complimentary breakfast is simple. I would have liked some fruit and good bread, but the cereal, coffee and juice was fine. The location is close to the water and beautiful views are within a block of the hotel. Be ready to walk into Sorrento (a 20+minute walk) or to the train/bus station. I feel that the hotel met my expectations considering the amount of money we paid for the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is characterful with beautiful grounds and a marvellous location with some rooms having views over the Bay of Naples. In that respect you get a lot for your money in this budget hotel. The hotel staff are lovely. On the downside, in the summer the rooms are hot without air conditioning and it would be good to have fresher looking bedding. And bring your anti mosquito spray.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Hong Kong

Excellent Value

Posted Aug 3, 2012
Pros: Quiet room, excellent value, friendly staff
Cons: Tourist tax not included in rate advertised
Location: A nice quiet area , 20-25 minute walk to Sorrento
Porto Salvo is in a quiet location, a 20-25 minute stroll down to Sorrento or 10-15 minutes to the local railway station which is one stop from Sorrento. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Air-con worked and was quiet and I slept like a baby. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Elina and Maria. Good continental breakfast. Would cetainly go back to this B&B. Only negative comment was the unexpected Tourist Tax that I was not advised of until checking out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barney from UK

Calm, clean and relaxing

Posted Jun 10, 2012
Pros: Good breakfast, clean bathroom
Cons: Church bells at 7am! Sometimes difficult to get hold of a member of staff at the reception
Location: Lovely sea views nearby, welcome break from touristy Sorrento
We had a great stay at Porto Salvo - the hotel was clean and cool even though we had really hot weather. Our bed was comfortable and there was a good selection of breakfast items (toast, cereal, yoghurt, croissants, meat, cheese, hot drinks). It is 50 metres from the coast with lovely views of the sea. It took us 25 minutes to walk to Sorrento but you can walk to the train station in 10 minutes and get the train instead which only takes 2 minutes. The owners were really accommodating and let us check-in in the late evening, with prompt replies to our emails.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beaytiful Sorrento

Posted Jun 10, 2012
Stay in the center of Sorrento. It takes 2o min from the train station to get to the hotel. The rooms are super basic. Most rooms dont have their own bathroom and you have to go and use the shared bathroom.There is no phone in the room and no shampoo. There is not enough buses from the hotel to take you to Sorrento. Sorrento is the hub and its beautiful. The staff are nice, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast is good. If you have your own car it may not be a bad deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
we didn't realize that our bathroom was private but EXTERNAL to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR, USA

Nice place to stay.

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Very nice place to stay. The room size was nice and everything was clean.