Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Cons: Not clear from website that pool and walk down to private pier into sea are shut from October.
Location: Sorrento, lovely. Herculaneum, Pompei, Naples all accessible by train (get an inclusive ticket from the station which is less than 5 mins away).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Suzy from Scandinavia

Wonderful old world hotel with fantastic view

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The special old world atmosphere with good location. I have always liked this hotel, stayed here several times already some 20-25 years ago.
Cons: The hotel sadly has some plumbing problems?
Location: Everything is nearby and Sorrento is a buzzling town, shopping, eating, strolling around, the views. The local people are so nice.
Stayed in a suite overlooking the harbor. High ceilings, lots of space. Bathroom very large with separate bathtub and shower cabinet. Beds exceptionally comfortable. Wonderful terrace overlooking the bay with Vesuvius in the background. Very helpful staff. Thank you Loredana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Honeymoon Experience

Posted Sep 2, 2013
We spent a week in Sorrento and loved every second! The hotel was amazing - we had a balcony sea view which was worth every penny extra. The hotel was beautifully presented, with lovely high ceilings, large windows, lovely terrace and the pool and sun bed over the sea was amazing. Sorrento was a beautiful place to wonder around (we spent quite a few hours doing this) and the variety of restaurants and bars down little streets was great. Plenty to do within a few minutes walk of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TV from New York

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great old world hotel! We stayed in a fabulous suite with an amazing view. The room was huge with a gorgeous marble bathroom. The staff were all warm and courteous. We enjoyed the elegant and bountiful breakfast as well as the dinners in the lovely sea view restaurant. We could not find fault in anything other than the mattress being to firm for our liking. We would definitely "come back to sorrento " and stay at the Europa Palace.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from London, UK

A gem of a location with potential for much more

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: The view/setting, On site massage, On site swimming pool, Location easy access to town and local tours departure point
Cons: Access to the pool and beach, Decor, furnishings and upkeep of the hotel, Internet access, TV services, quality of the food and variety available
Location: Its just outside the center of town with about 10mins walk, easy access to local tours' departure point & beautiful view from the terrace of the coast
First of all the view and setting of this hotel is incredble and inspiring, on the cliff face right on the seafront it has the potential to be really first class if only it did a few upgrades. The service level of the staff really varied from incredibly nice, proficient and friendly (concierge, some reception staff and bar staff), to sullen, rude and militarian (pool staff, night staff, some waitors). Internet is available at a surcharge which is kind of a basic nowadays I think with western hotels. The TV services were terrible, five channels all in Italian with a few films in English from the 70s (Monty Python, Three Kings and Flash Gordon in italian dubbed) - not exactly the Satellie TV you are promised on booking. There were no real recommendations or welcome given by the concierge either, nor explicit help on booking transfers for departure even when requested by email prior to arriving. The massage treatment we had was very good and great value at 45euros for an hour. Food was okay but a limited buffet breakfast, few pool side or beach side facilities which is a shame and doesn't encourage you to stay at the hotel. Also the access to the pool and breach is through a badly lit, public access elevator and stone tunnel which may cause access and safety issues for some. The pool is salt water which we didn't mind but you have to wear a swimming cap to use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by luck from Vancouver, BC, Canada

2 nights not enough

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Having to wear a swimming cap at the pool. I didn't mind paying the 2 euro I just don't like looking silly.
Location: High on a cliff overlooking the Bay
This hotel had old world charm, very central to the town centre and wonderful views of the sea. And elevator would take you way down to the bottom of a cliff through a tunnel (very James Bond) to the sea. There was a large pier where you could lie in the sun. The water around the pier was great to swim in. Up a set a stairs was a beautiful swimming pool. My only regret is that I only stayed 2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JohnT from Belfast

Excellent place to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel in excellent location within Sorrento. Great private beach / sunbed area. Excellent service and staff very helpful. Good breakfast. Room well maintained during our stay only downside was the small shower. Overall an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from NW England

Excellent hotel with stunning views

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Stunning views and pool and terrace
Cons: Small shower
Location: Perfect location close to centre of Sorrento and train station
Excellent hotel with stunning views from terrace, breakfast room and pool. Staff all professionally friendly and many go that extra mile to make you feel genuinely welcome. Breakfasts perfect. Great position close to centre of Sorrento and only a couple of mins walk to train station and buses which makes it great for trips. Room with city view looked out onto small park with a balcony which was pleasant and was quite large with double and single bed, decent sized bathroom. However shower quite small and bed could have been more comfortable. Hotel itself was very classy and a lovely place to stay with a large bar and a separate lounge area. I loved sitting on the terrace looking out to sea and Mt Vesuvius ... perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jan from Warwickshire

great location

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and were given the key to our room so found it a mess from previous occupants. However this was quickly remedied and the concierge provided us with complimentary drinks while we waited. Plumbing was quite antiquated and the shower was hand held and not very effective. Staff were brilliant, view from terrace amazing. Breakfast more than adequate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Aurora, ON, Canada

With the right room this hotel cannot be beat.

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Massive walkout terrace right off our room with unbeatable views of Vesuvius, the Bay of Naples and cliffs/mountains to northeast of Sorrento
Cons: Rooms could be more modern but still were clean and charming
Location: Best location in Sorrento - no hotel with better seafront outdoor spaces or view
This property has the best seafront outdoor space of any that we saw in Sorrento. Even the Vittorio Excelsior which is defintiely the nicest hotel in Sorrento did not have as much or as nice an outdoor space on the seafront at the back of their property. Breakfast on their terrace is fantastic. The Europa Palace is an older buidling but charming and very clean. The staff was fantastic - always very helpful and welcoming - we stayed 6 nights and their attentiveness never wained. Get a seaview rm - the views are amazing. The best rooms in our opinion are like the one that we had - deluxe seaview room on the main flr of the main building. There are only 7 or 8 and they walk out onto a massive terrace (50'x100' +) - space for each room marked by planters - includes wicker patio furniture for each room. If you have kids or just like to spend time outside this is where you want to be. We travelled with our 6 yr old daughter - she loved running around on the terrace - and it was easy for us to still keep an eye on her. We spent every evening out there after after our daughter went to sleep enjoying a bottle of wine. Often a cruise ship would anchor just off shore directly out from the hotel - the lights from the ships are beautiflu at nght. Twice during our stay an amazing firewroks display was set off for the cruise ship. We had front row seats with Vesuvius in the background. Best combo of value & location in Sorrento - just be sure to get a seaview rm on the 1st floor terrace.