Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good base for Almalfi coast Pompeii Capri and Herc

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Great welcome somewhere to park free bus to Sorrento, great food and service. Very comfortable. Great base and fantastic scenery. Tourist town means a good chance of being ripped off on some excursions and meals out. Take the train for Herculaneum and Pompeii. It's quicker and cheaper and will drop you at the door pretty much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel with a fantastic view!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the view
Cons: Sunbeds could be booked for €4 each per day, which meant that either you pay, or you fight over the remaining one or two beds.
Location: The view out over the Bay of Naples is great, but the shuttle bus to/from town was not always reliable. Taxis to/from Naples airport are expensive.
We stayed at the Gran Hotel Aminta during the first two weeks of August 2014. The hotel was always clean and the staff were always very cheerful, courteous and helpful. The view from the hotel is fantastic. It overlooks Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. We had a fantastic time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

excellent service and good facilities.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: As always, and despite best efforts of hotel, pool sun lounger arrangements are frustrating.
Location: Herculaneum, Pompeii, boat trip taking in Positano and Amalfi, and swimming off Capri. Local beach (with the Italians) at Grand Marina was fun.
7 nights, with our two children aged 21 & 19. Good rooms, great location for exploring Amalfi coast and archaeological sites. Excellent staff, useful courtesy bus means no need for hire car. Breakfast plentiful, first class steak and pizza in restaurant. Stunning views from pool and bar area. Good value accommodation prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Hotel Aminta Sorrento

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very well run and tasteful hotel in fabulous position at top of Sorrento Hill. Probably best view of Naples Bay of all the hotels in the area. Hotel itself was cool and spacious and the staff were delightful. Not a large hotel so only one pool but verandas were attractive and had the fab view. Only annoyance was the constant piped pop music, especially at the bar. No let up and a lot of it very mediocre. The waiters were quite traditional - wore blue jackets for lunch and white jackets and bow ties for dinner. Formal dress required for evening meal or else you couldn't enter the restaurant. Food very good though. Very pleasant walk down steep hill into the centre of town but worth getting the shuttle bus back especially at night. Queues sometimes too long for the bus so that not everyone could get on. The hotel should work on this as it was annoying to have to arrive at the bus stop at least half an hour before getting on to ensure that you had a place. Overall though, a very good hotel and an excellent vantage point from which to explore Sorrento and the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel with amazing views

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel was well maintained and super clean. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The rooms we had could have done with an update, but they are still nice. The food during our stay was excellent from the al la carte menu. Sun beds need to be reserved to be guaranteed and this is at a cost of 4euros per day, but well worth it as space is at a premium round the pool. I would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Fantastic hotel with stunning views!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We could not fault this hotel! Staff were fantastic, food was excellent quality and the pool area was gorgeous. The hotel is a 20 min shuttle bus ride into sorrento but don't let this put you off! The views from the hotel are absolutely stunning and the shuttle bus runs every hour into town. We stayed in the hotel annexe building, which is a 3 min walk through gardens to the main hotel. Our room had no view but had air con, tea and coffee making facilities and an iPod doCk. The free wifi was excellent throughout the hotel and grounds. We had a brilliant stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

3* not 4*

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: Not charging for sun loungers, enough sun loungers for the size of hotel, shuttle bus times
Location: Use of shuttle bus required, otherwise a 20 minute walk to centre of Sorrento. Unlit, uneven and very steep hill to walk back.
The one week stay at the Aminta was enjoyable, but in my view it is closer to a 3* than 4*. However, this was our first holiday in Italy so I am comparing the hotel to those in other countries. Staff in the main are friendly and efficient, stunning views can be enjoyed due to the mountain side location. Porters do not greet guests on arrival and a collection service of suitcases was not offered when leaving. I understand that porters are available on request. Breakfast was average, and as commented upon previously, akin to afternoon tea given the sweet choices on offer. The fruit supplied was not fresh but from a tin. Lunch was good with a reasonable choice (although not good value for money - 8 euros for a tomato salad, consisting of a dinner plate full of cut tomatoes with olive oil). Dinner was not taken at the hotel but I was told several times that dinner was excellent and plentiful. Housekeeping was satisfactory, but in no way what one would expect from a 4* hotel. Bed linen was changed once during our stay, towels daily. Tea and coffee making facilities were advertised but I had to ask for these and was told that in the grade of room occupied, these are not made available. The helpful receptionist did ask someone and they were subsequently provided. The sun beds are packed around the relatively small pool side area with hardly any room to move in some areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shenfield, Essex

Fabulous views from above Sorrento.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Fabulous situation, stylish surroundings and wonderful staff.
Location: A free shuttle bus runs hourly to and from the town of Sorrento, which has lovely restaurants and gift shops.
Perched on a hill overlooking Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, this elegant hotel offers style and comfort, excellent views and a refreshing pool to laze around when taking time out from visiting the bustling town or taking a boat trip to Capri. The staff are superb, very attentive, helpful and friendly and the food, served either in the smart air conditioned restaurant or on the terrace with stunning views, is delicious. We have stayed at this lovely hotel twice and on both occasions have chosen to stay in the annexe, Villa Aminta which is a short walk through a beautiful garden (well lit at night) boasting olive and lemon trees, herbs and flowers. We intend to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Idyllic....

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Position.... 10 mins out of Sorrento, overlooking port. V.peaceful, excellent restuarant and v.attentive staff :-)
Location: Sorrrento is a good base for exploring... Pompei, Herculaneum & Vesuvius.
Idyllic.... Especially if you get a room in the Annexe building set in the hotel gardens :-) Try to get a room with a balcony & sea view.... Perfect !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Family Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Views, breakfast, pool and pool bar, terrace
Cons: 10:30 pm shuttle bus back, proper third bed in triple room, sun bed provision
Location: Sorrento is as lovely as it has always been - easy access for Capri, Pompeii, loads of great restaurants to suit all budgets
I booked a standard triple room here for myself and my two daughters. Unfortunately, on arrival we had a double room with an extra bed squeezed in which, coupled with the fact that our room was directly under the kitchen and we were consequently woken between 5:30 and 6:00 most mornings made for a less than relaxing holiday. Otherwise the bathroom (water temperature control issues aside) was good and the room was clean. With exception of one rather over zealous receptionist all the staff were delightful. Breakfast was excellent. The pool itself was lovely and well maintained, however the facilities were somewhat lacking as there are clearly not enough sunbeds available for the number of guests, which resulted in the whole 'towel on the sun bed' to reserve scenario. Frustratingly, a lot of these sunbeds were then empty for large parts of the day but unavailable for other guests. The shuttle bus seemed like a good idea on booking, but we found this a little restrictive as although the service is advertised as hourly on the website there is no bus at 10:30 pm back from Sorrento - it is either 9:30 or 11:30. To get the 9:30 back meant a rushed evening meal and the 11:30 meant a long wait with tired children.