Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHILA PA

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL WITH VIEWS OF MOUNT VESUVIUS

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: CAN'T THINK OF ANY IMPROVEMENTS
Location: NEAR CENTER OF TOWN
LIKED THE LARGE ROOMS WITH WATER VIEWS ON HIGHER FLOORS AND WONDERFUL BREAKFAST! SHORT WALK TO CENTER OF SORRENTO WITH LOVELY SHOPS AND WONDERFUL RESTAURANTS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh UK

Great hotel, very helpful and friendly staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Was my second visit I loved it so much the first time I went back and its still as great.
Cons: Not that I could see - had a fantastic holiday.
Location: .
Amazing hotel and location. Loved the local bar on the corner and also local restaurant the Red Lion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small and friendly first class hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Quality, Style, Food, Staff
Cons: The downsides of the hotel relate to location/facilities;- grounds, garden areas are very limited in size, no cushions on any of the outside/balcony s
Location: 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Sorrento. The Royal is half that. Quiet location, not front line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Excellent choice, for Sorrento

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Superb breakfasts very helpful front desk, and very attentive wait staff. Own underground parking.
Cons: Their dining room prices seem to be a bit on the high side. The views from our balcony was okay, there are lots of hotels with superb views.
Location: Train station and Amalfi bus terminus within a5 minute walk. The ferry docks about 10 minutes away. The main square was about a 7 minute walk.
Every thing was up to expectation. Check-in and check-out was quick and smooth. Every item on our bill was explained
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Excellent hotel, 5-10 minutes walk to City Centre

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Everything but especially the Staff and the views.
Cons: It would have been nice to have had tea and coffee making facilities rather than a Mini Bar.
Location: Location excellent close to Tasso Square. 5 minutes to Buses and trains which were great value. Tour pickup point close by. Lots of restaurants bars.
My wife and I stayed for 9 nights at this lovely hotel in late June. The staff were all wonderful and very polite friendly and helpful. Reception staff frequently helped us with maps and info. Our spacious room on the second floor had beautiful views across Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. It had a large bed, air conditioning, lots of wardrobes and storage space, table and chairs, television and safe and beautiful tiled floors. The marble bathroom had a bath with shower wash basin loo and bidet large mirror and a hair drier. At breakfast we sat outside under a canopy of flowers. The choice was huge with everything from a typical Continental breakfast to a full cooked breakfast. A great start to the day. We eat Dinner in the hotel twice. It was typically a three course meal with a very varied choice of starters main courses and gorgeous desserts. The MaƮtre D always made recommendations. The meals and some of the wines were in my view reasonably priced, compared to eating out and the quality beyond compare. The Dining Room is very grand and the staff complimented this, but guests did not feel obligated to dress to the nines. The hotel had a nice reception area with seating and a nice bar area and also had two pools. One was on the ground floor and looked very relaxing and the other was on the roof. Both had their own bars and towels were supplied. There was never a problem getting a sun lounger and the view from the roof was spectacular. We would both strongly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel and staff.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: I was very impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of the entire staff. Really a great group of people!
Cons: Bed could have been a bit more comfortable.
Location: If you like to shop then Sorrento can keep you busy for days on end. Lots of local restaurants too. We used train to get to Pompeii and Herculaneum
Loved the staff. Couldn't have been better. Food choices are typical European - which means a bit odd for an American. But there was plenty to eat and there were always adequate choices for both breakfast and dinner. All floors are tile (room and hallways) which makes the hotel a bit noisy at night but the guests are generally older and late night sounds are not a problem otherwise. The location was nice but a seaside hotel might have been better - but at a higher price. (this hotel is about a block from the cliff overlooking the sea however two of the sister hotels are on the sea and a pass is available to use their "beaches".)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from Toronto

A "Grand" hotel in Sorrento

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The service, the restaurant, the view
Cons: Nothing
Location: great location, a 10 minute walk from the town centre
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel de la ville. From our arrival, where staff courteously greeted us and took care of the car and the luggage until our departure, we had a succession of pleasant experiences. This hotel beats a lot of 5 stars hotels for the quality of the service and the quality of the food in their restaurant. The view from our room, which was adjoining the roof terrace was simply amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scotty from otlandsc

Overview of stay at Hotel Grand de la Ville

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: General ambience. Roof top views
Cons: The lounge should not substitute as a second Television room! most distracting for those wishing to read or simply relax .
Location: The hotel is where it is- not much you can do about that!
Hotel was comfortable and well appointed. We had half board. We felt that dinner was sometimes a bit bland and not appetising. Pleased to say that this did improve during our stay. Bar staff, porters and reception were all very helpful Entertainment was minimal but what there was was enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stlear from maryland

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Location: Very good location.
We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay here. Great location and short walk to and from the train station. The rooms and the overall hotel accommodations were very clean. They did not change the sheets nightly, which had been done at the three previous hotels we stayed in during our trip. The small porch/patio off the room was very nice. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful and the selection is above and beyond. We also dined in the dining room one evening and all six of us enjoyed our dinners. The front desk personnel seemed to have a hard time communicating with us. We would definitely return here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H from London

Beautiful stay in June

Posted Jun 14, 2014
The Grand Hotel De La Ville is beautiful. We had a very relaxing three night stay here in June 2014. Breakfast is spot on. I think as the hotel wasn't too busy we were treated to a room at the front of the building with the sea view, which made our stay even better. The pools were both very quiet even when busy, I think because it is almost entirely adults staying here. The Sorrento crowd is similar, not much for children, or night life for us young adults, but we weren't fussed after so much delicious food. All in all a fantastic chilled three nights!