Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Perfect setting for those who want to relax.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The Grand Hotel Hermitage ticked all the boxes for us as regards location and service.
Cons: Pillows were a bit hard but just a minor point!
Location: We hired a car as we like to be able to explore. Enjoyed exploring villages on the peninsular. Anunziata particularly lovely. Also Ravello.
The hotel was situated in the hills above Sorrento with beautiful views. For us it was ideal as we prefer to be a little away from 'busy'. Sorrento is 5km by road but there is a footpath from the hotel to the town, steep but can be done in about 25mins. Recommend bus back up! If not dining at the hotel the village of St Agata is a 5 minute walk through the grounds and has a number of restaurants and bars. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We felt very welcome and very comfortable during our stay. We were booked into Villa Romita in the hotel grounds but on arrival were given a room in the main building. As we were very happy with our room we didn't bother to query this. Overall a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Hotel was very nice. It was a little far from town but the shuttle was great and if you don't mind a little walk you can take a path into town. The small town on the hill was very nice with good places to eat. Very nice place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful time

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Nothing too much trouble for hotel staff, they'll even provide a brochure on all the main trips available and help you book. We were bed and breakfast so ate dinner at the hotel and also at two wonderful restaurants in the nearby village, which is just a short walk away on a private path. Courtesy bus to Sorrento was frequent and we never had trouble getting a seat except on the popular 6.30pm back to hotel. Cant recommend this hotel highly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel with beautiful views.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff,always with a smile and happy to help.
Cons: The free shuttle is an excellent service but they could do with adding more regular trips to Sorrento and back in the afternoon.
Location: The location is idyllic. St Agatha is a 2minute walk from the hotel where you can find plenty of places to eat and provides a bus service.
We had a very enjoyable stay. Hotel had all facilities necessary, even a free shuttle to take you down to Sorrento. St Agatha had plenty of lovely places to eat at and was only a 2minute walk from the Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful view. Big size rooms.
Location: S. Agata village with its beautiful church and gorgeous trails is sure aplace to check out. Buenos Aires cafe, Orlando Ice Cream, Lo Stuzzichino
The director and staff of the Hotel were extremely freindly, polite and helpful. The Hotel itself is very clean with wonderful view and a very beautiful pool and breakfast room. It is approximately 5 kilometers out of Sorrento, but the hotel provides shuttle service to and from Sorrento in certain times of the day. If you do not fit in the schedule, then you have to pay for either taxi or find the local bus. The hotel is located in S. Agata which is the most active village in Massa Lubrense with many trails which provides a good stay for the hikers. Rooms are clean and being cleaned everyday, but like anywhere else in Italy-as far as my experience goes-is not very quiet. Life never stops in Italy, so you may hear a loud talk or door slam from your neighbors in the middle of the night. Bus line goes from right in front of the hotel to Amalfi Coast towns, but you have to buy tickets ahead of time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Excellent Stay We recently stayed at the Grand H

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The views and staff make this hotel a great experience it is so friendly and they really do understand what customer service is!
Cons: What didn’t please are group and a number of other guests was, in an evening after being out for dinner we would go back to the hotel bar and have a f
Location: 20 mins away from Sorrento but 5 mins from the neareast village, great views very romatic setting
We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita in July 2014 for a large family holiday. From arrival the staffs were attentive and very welcoming. As we were a party of 9 we were placed in the Hotel Villa, rooms were nice and the cleanliness was of a high standard. Some of our party were lucky to get balconies with excellent views. Unfortunately our room was large but had a small balcony with no view at the back, but there were some tables and chairs outside the villa were my husband and I had a lovely alfresco lunch looking out over the hills and Naples bay. There was also a solarium on the roof of the villa with breath taking views for guests that just may want to get –away and have a bit of quiet time in the sun. The majority of staff were very friendly and most helpful, and were willing to advise and help in anyway. The hotel was happy to arrange tours, taxis out with the organised free transportations to Sorrento at a very reasonable cost. One morning we had an extremely early start before breakfast so asked the hotel if it would be possible to have something made up for us to take away. The next morning we were delighted to find at reception some coffee ready while we waited for our transportation and lovely little packed up breakfasts for each of us consisting of cheese, ham, bread, fruit and a bottle of water; which we were delighted with! There is a lovely village with Bars and restaurants 5minutes walk past the villa where you can get a lovely mea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Good hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Situation was magnificent. The hotel facilities were very good, the pool was very clean. Food was good and plentiful, very good fixed price menu.
Stayed in Villa Romita . Would not rate this as four star, the facilities are not in the same class as the main hotel, on the other hand you don't pay four star price. Would not recommend the villa to anyone who has any difficulty walking a fair distance up hill as the walk between it and the main hotel, where the dining room is situated, we found quite a drag late at night, (we are 80 & 72) but was no problem to our much younger daughter and son in law. Our booking was for B & B but we struck a deal with the hotel manager for evening meal which turned out to be excellent value for money as the hotel menu is quite extensive and very good. The staff are excellent, from the top down to the gardener, all very pleasant and helpful. The only disadvantage to this hotel is probably it's distance from Sorrento, but some may consider this no problem as the hotel provides a free mini coach service to the town at frequent intervals throughout the day. On the plus side are the magnificent views from the hotel across the bay to Vesuvius and the surrounding, mountainous countryside. Would not recommend car hire unless someone has experience in motor racing techniques!!!!! The local buses are allowed to go over populated by our standards but ok if you don't mind crushes. Likewise the trains. Both are reasonably priced though (6 euros all day anywhere) If you like ancient ruins then Pompei, Herculaneum and the Greek temples at Paestum near Salerno are well worth a visit (over 65s free)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location to explore the Amalphi Coast!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The view was spectacular!
Cons: The Shuttle service could be improved upon.Didn't arrive to pick us up and late arriving upon check out so missed the early train to Naples.
Location: Location is excellent.- SITA bus stop is right outside, however they do not recommend that you use this as the drivers don't always stop.
Beautiful view from the 4th floor, overlooking Sorrento and Mt. Vesuvius. Lovely hotel with great amenities for those who did not want to venture any further than the hotel for food or drink. The shuttle service needs to be improved upon. The shuttle was often late and when I called ahead to find out where to meet the shuttle service from the train station, I was given a time the the shuttle would be there. The train was late so we were not able to meet that shuttle, however was able to find the location with little issue as this is where all hotel shuttles meet. We called the hotel upon arrival at the meeting place and were told when the next shuttle was to arrive (approx. 1 hour). We waited and many shuttles came and went but no Hotel Hermitage. Approx. 15 minutes after the time to be picked up we again called the hotel. They reported that the shuttle had been there however he did not see us. This was hard to believe as we were anxiously waiting for 1 hour for a ride, as well, we are seasoned travelers and have no trouble asking for assistance. The hotel did send a driver for us and he found us immediately. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that a driver service was 30 euros, however they would waive that fee due to the mix up. Upon check out the fee was added and we were told there was nothing they could do about it. The shuttle was then 20 minutes late leaving the hotel upon check out which made us miss the early train to Naples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel full of Italian charm.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Old world charm. Quality of room and service. Clean pool area and no towels claiming sun beds though this changed as new guests arrived later in week.
Location: A short stroll to the delightful St Agata. We dined more than once at Lo Stuzzichino....highly recommend this intimate family run ristorante.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The management was well organised and this enabled us to relax and enjoy the beautiful area. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and although we had initially booked bed and breakfast, we had several lunches and evening meals here. The quality and price matched and at times surpassed that at other restaurants. We had a spacious room on the 4th floor which gave us superb views across the bay and also the surrounding green areas. Fridge included at no extra cost as were towels in the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com