Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Grand in most respects

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The reception area and the breakfast.
Cons: Leisure facilities, tea and coffee-making in the bedrooms.
Location: Not a particularly nice location, although it does have the benefit of being quiet. A shuttle bus is provided into Sorrento.
The semi-circular building on the front of the hotel, which houses the palatial reception area with the dining room above is certainly five-star. The clean and comfortable bedrooms are in a six-storey block behind and those at the back offer a view of a dark alleyway. At the front you look across to Naples and Vesuvius, but in all but the best rooms the balcony is barely wide enough to take a chair. The breakfast buffet is excellent and there's a girl doing omelettes and pancakes. The only negatives are the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms and, for those who are bothered, the sub-standard leisure facilities. There's only an outdoor pool and neither that nor the Jacuzzi nor the sauna were heated during our stay in late October.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom polesworth, uk

Beautiful hotel made even better by amazing staff

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Really nice hotel, great breakfast especially the omelettes. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Viola in the bar is especially lovely. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Beds very comfortable. Shuttle bus good fun and reliable. Gym well equiped with changing rooms and sauna to top it off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk

wonderful hotel in a quiet location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The magnificent building, the absolutely beautiful lobby with so many areas to sit and relax. The spacious rooms and the restaurant & THE STAFF.
Cons: Provide tea & coffee making facilities in the bedrooms & 24 hour lounge and room service. Spy holes in main bedroom doors. Corridor carpet renewed.
Location: The location was ideal, not wanting to be in the centre of Sorrento. as too noisy and busy. Bus stations. railway station only minutes away.
The building is quite magnificent, the rooms large, most with balconies, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We were greeted by a wonderful Guest Liaison Manager, Claudia Arpaia, who offered us refreshments on arrival afterwards she gave us a tour of the hotel. This greeting was definitely five star. We were on half board basis and ate in a delightful restaurant in the evening with a charming and very professional Restaurant Manager Giovanni. There were candles on the table and the food was delicious. We had breakfast in our rooms each morning and after a word with Claudia five star service was given, as you would expect from a five star establishment. Giovanni kept a close eye on the presentation each morning!The waiting staff were very professional and cheerful. Reception staff were charming and efficient. The Courtesy Coach was very useful which took us into Sorrento daily. I must mention Jobin the linkman who was very courteous and helpful. All in all we had a delightful stay and will return. I have not mentioned the beautiful pool as I didn't use it but the little restaurant adjoining it was delightful serving substantial snacks and the service was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, Uk

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
This hotel lived up to our expectations, beautiful interiors with classic movie style glamour. We had been slightly concerned about being out of the town centre but this wasn't a problem as the free shuttle buses were very reliable and the distance was walkable, 10 minutes into San Agnello and then another maximum of 20 minutes into the centre of Sorrento. Once you get as far as San Agnello you are on the outskirts of Sorrento so the number of shops, restaurants and hotels gradually increases along the way for added interest. The walk back is uphill but not uncomfortably so, at least not in October for 4 able bodied adults/teenagers. Being out of the town centre the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and comfortably big enough for the 4 of us, with a mini bar and free coded safe. Our only complaint was that one of our beds was quite hard. We had a side view of the surrounding hills and the bay which was lovely. The staff were very welcoming. The buffet breakfast was substantial and varied. All in all a lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely Hotel but little issues

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: The view, the styling, the staff
Cons: Could do with tea and coffee facilities in the room
Location: Pleasant 20 minute walk down the hill and narrow roads into Sorrento, but a regular free shuttle bus service to Sorrento centre was also provided
GH La Pace is a superb hotel and we'd recommend it. The staff were excellent. But for a 5* you expect the little details to be right like there was no coffee/tea facilities in the room, The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special. There are two saunas and jacuzzis, one in the male and one in female changing areas, so we couldn't share. The king size double was two singles joined with a seam. And the lift mechanism was noisy through the night. No remote for the TV. But overall, very nice and excellent view from the bay facing balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bad Tölz

Ein in die Jahre gekommenes Grand Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Das Frühstück.
Cons: Den Gästen sollten nur Zimmer zugewiesen werden, die klimatechnisch in Ordnung sind!
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich etwa 30 Gehminuten vom Zentrum Sorrent entfernt. Unternehmungen in direkter Hotelnähe sind eher schwierig zu bewerkstelligen.
Ein an sich schönes Hotel mit gutem Service und schönem Frühstück, leider gelangt man nur an viel befahrenen Straßen in das Zentrum von Sorrent, deshalb ist man auf den - unkomplizierten und kostenlosen - Hotelshuttlebus angewiesen. Das Hotel und auch die Zimmer waren sauber; leider war in unserem Zimmer starker Modergeruch vorhanden - vermutlich wegen Schimmelbefall hinter den Textilwandbehängen- , so dass wir immer bei gänzlich offener Terrassentüre schlafen mussten. Ein anderes Zimmer wurde uns trotz Reklamation nicht angeboten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom paris

Excellent

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Super hotel, nous avons été très bien accueillis notamment par Claudia, la "guest customer" qui nous a été d'une grande aide! Le rapport qualité-prix est imbattable vu les prestations proposées. L'hôtel est très calme, ce qui est un vrai plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Nice Hotel away from the hustle and bustle

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The hotel public areas are of 5 star status but the rooms are 3-4 star, guests may not always get a free shuttle bus service to Sorrento as seating is first come first served. Breakfast selection was the same every day and could do with being varied, dining in the restaurant is expensive. Staff were very helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , no pavement so do not walk to town

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Shuttle bus not always convenient and when smaller bus used it was usually standing room for some !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Grand Hotel La Pace

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Peaceful, tranquil setting. Well run. Pool area with views is great. Very good food.
Cons: For the free bus to return to the bus stop in the older part of town, it is much easier for the walking challenged.
Location: One volcano, two buried cities, Amalfi coast, Capri, the list goes on!
Brilliant! On Half board. Arrived just after the restaurant closed, they sent up a cold platter. Food was fantastic for the five days with the restaurant staff determined to make sure everything was perfect. Everyone very helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble. The free bus to town ran on time both ways and now stops at the bus station, which is not so convenient for the older part of the town as it involves a cobbled walk of approx 10 mins. This is our third visit over seven years and seems to get better each time. Would recommend.