Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Mamma Mia, I love this hotel!

Posted May 24, 2015
Things I love about this hotel: -Location! Just a few min walk to Tasso Square. Or, cross the street and walk a block and you're at the train station. -Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. -Beautiful rooms with gorgeous tiled bathrooms, flat screen TV, our room had a furnished patio w/ unobstructed views of the ocean and Mt. Vesuvius. -The hotel, as a whole, is a beautiful building. -The included breakfast is wonderful. -Beautiful pool, also a lift that takes you right down to the ocean for a swim. Things I didn't love: -The fact that I don't live here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manhasset, NY

Great location in town with gorgeous water views.

Posted May 20, 2015
Comfortable hotel, close to everything in sorrento. Nice friendly staff, clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Excellent hotel close to town

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Its location is close to the centre of Sorrento so no need to rely on courtesy buses, the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
Cons: Nothing in my opinion.
Location: Perfect location for the centre of Sorrento and within walking distance to the train and bus station.
After many years of staying in the same hotel in Sorrento I decided this year to stay a little closer to the Piazza and was not disappointed. This hotel ticked all of the boxes for me and will definitely be revisiting next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Very relaxing place.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The location, the grounds, the breakfast ,and staff.
Cons: No, It was perfect!
Location: Easy walking distance to all sites in Sorrento. A good location for all age groups.
We were looking for a place to relax after visiting Rome and this was it. The views are wonderful, the common areas are very beautiful and the location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely location; stylish hotel.

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Lovely public areas and good sized comfortable bedrooms.
Location: Roman sites !!!!
A lovely spacious room, kept immaculately clean. Good breakfast sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea; extensive public areas which were stylish and comfortable. Excellent access to central Sorento and to the train station for trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO, USA

Elegant Italy on the Mesiterranean

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the architecture of the hotel, as well as the sumptuous breakfast. Views were amazing, location was simply the best access to trains,buses.
Cons: Really not anything.
Location: The hotel is a great place to headquarter in Sorrento for nearby boat tours to Capri, train trips to Pompeii and tours of the Amalfi coast.
From the moment we entered this fine hotel, we were treated to service the way it used to be. Always helpful and extremely pleasant, we enjoyed the staff, who made our stay very comfortable. We felt fortunate to stay in such a warm, beautiful environment, so close to many attractions. We were able to walk to the port, the train station, the bus station and the main plaza in Sorrento. But also, were able to really relax in the very comfortable chairs at oceans' sedge, as well as in the beautiful gardens and at the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Hotel for Sorrento Honeymoon

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The location, the pool, the views from the balcony and pool area, the staff, and the breakfast.
We spent 5 days at the Grand Hotel Royal at the end of April at the start of our honeymoon. Overall I would definitely recommend staying here. The best part about this hotel is the pool area and the sundeck down on the water. It is in a great location for Sorrento as it is in a quieter area but both of the main squares are less than a 5 minute walk. The main street and all of the restaurants are within a short walk as well. The rooms are a decent size for Europe and the balconies on the ocean side are amazing. The breakfast is excellent with a lot of choices and even a make to order omelette station. The staff was very friendly and helped us make several reservations at restaurants. The check in and check out process was very easy and all of the staff spoke at least some English. We would definitely come back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful hotel and property overlooking the Bay o

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Central location, convenient to the train station and downtown shopping and restaurants
We were very impressed by the facility and staff at the hotel. Lovely grounds and views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2015
Cons: Add tea making facility in the room.
Great position with garden overlooking the bay, very helpful and friendly staff. This was our second visit and would certainly return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lydd

Lovely hotel with amazing costal views

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: It was very elegant. The staff were extremely helpful. The breakfasts offered lots of choice and was plentiful setting you up for the day.
Cons: The TV remote didn't work. It was reported but not fixed.
Location: The hotel is only a short walk from the restaurants, shops and transport links. You can travel to Naples by ferry or bus, or ferry to many other place
We chose this for a short break but would return for longer, time permitting. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had lovely breakfasts in a beautiful dining area, and the gardens, terrace and pool area were beautiful. The hotel was located near to the piazza and all of the restaurants, suitable for evening strolls.