Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from U.K

Classic, elegant hotel, good location

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Classy
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Sorrento town short walk, lift down to port gives acces to lots of boat trips to Capri, Nalpes. Very short walk to station for train to Pompeii
Stayed b&b with room , hotel and location all excellent, short walk to the busy centre with lots of bars, restaurants and interesting shops . No hen / stag parties lots of mature couples , families and locals having a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel review

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Excellent hotel and location staff were very friendly helpful and very acomerdating to all our needs. Restaurants were great breakfast had all you needed with al a carte if you choose!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Grand Hotel Royal

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Terrace view of harbour, bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.
Cons: Room and corridors floors are made up from ceramic tiles which are decorative but can generate some noise.
Location: Excellent location, within easy walking distance to Sorrento town centre and main bus/coach/train terminals. Pompeii and Herclanuim short train trip.
A very pleasent stay at this excellent hotel. Hotel benefits from a great location (overlooking the bay of Naples and within easy walking distance of Sorrento main centre) quality furnishings and attentive staff. We have stayed at this hotel several times and can highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury UK

well located close to town

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Very good experience great staff, beautiful building in pleasant grounds. Lift down to sun deck / jetty, good swimming pool. Garden ideal for alfresco dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost perfect

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Everything about this hotel is wonderful except the food at dinner! This isn't a huge deal because there are many lovely places to eat within a couple of minutes walk. Rooms are wonderful as are the staff who can't do enough to give you a lovely relaxing time. Will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

If you can't relax here you can't relax anywhere!

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Comfort and luxury, wonderful friendly and attentive staff, the food, the room facilities, the pool and swimming platform.
Cons: Hot food at breakfast could be hotter and an adequate amount of teabags, coffee and milk sachets should be available free throughout the stay.
Location: Wonderful clifftop location, lovely grounds, fabulous views, within 5 min. walk of Piazza Tasso, the main square, with bars & restaurants nr. Marina.
The hotel is in a great position, on the clifftop but within 5 minutes walk of the main square. Our room was spacious, elegant, well-furnished, well-equipped and very comfortable. We had a full seaview, out of this world. We had more drawers and cupboards than we could possibly fill and 21 coat hangers! Plenty of surfaces for toiletries, etc. The bathroom was massive. The staff in all areas were friendly, courteous and attentive throughout and could not be faulted. The swimming pool is lovely and was never overcrowded. There are masses of enormous, luxurious sunloungers. Excellent towels are provided at both the pool and the swimming platform, a wooden pier-like structure jutting into the sea, also equipped with loungers. We were always able to get a lounger. Swimming from the platform was a wonderful experience. It is a bit deep though. We ate once at the a la carte restaurant on the terrace, which was magnificent. All the food at the hotel was good except that the bacon and sausage for breakfast was usually lukewarm. Eggs were cooked freshly to your requirements and these were lovely, cooked by a very smiley friendly lady. The fruit and pastries at breakfast were wonderful. There was a kettle in the room but once you had exhausted the VERY meagre supplies of tea, etc. you had to buy more at 0.50 Euros per piece. V. small niggles though compared with overall stay. Lovely bathrobes & slippers & an evening turndown service with chocs. provided. A wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel close to the centre.

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Lovely Hotel. Location/Rooms/lift to Hotel Beach excellent.
Cons: They must put in Tea/Coffee facilities in the Room. Its only a small thing and I noticed others made the same comments.
Location: Its 5 minutes walk to the centre. Excellent location to shops and restaurants. There are a number of museums/churches . Bus/ferry available nearby.
Lovely Hotel close to the centre. There was No tea/coffee facilities in the room which the management have to address. Otherwise lovely location and spacious rooms. Will come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Very well-appointed hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Its situation, easy elegance, and great service.
Cons: We couldn't fault it.
Location: Bus and train station, Piazza Tasso, restaurants and bars very close-by.
We were very impressed with the level of service at the hotel and the quality of the accommodation - the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is very well appointed with fantastic views of the bay, and is a stone's throw from the train and bus station, making it ideally situated for exploring the region. Equally, for those looking for a restful break, the pool and sea deck areas lovely, with a great terrace area for reading, chatting and enjoying a drink - and there is a piano bar for the evening. Piazza Tasso is only five minutes walk away and there are many restaurants and bars within an easy stroll. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Mamma Mia, I love this hotel!

Posted May 24, 2015
Things I love about this hotel: -Location! Just a few min walk to Tasso Square. Or, cross the street and walk a block and you're at the train station. -Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. -Beautiful rooms with gorgeous tiled bathrooms, flat screen TV, our room had a furnished patio w/ unobstructed views of the ocean and Mt. Vesuvius. -The hotel, as a whole, is a beautiful building. -The included breakfast is wonderful. -Beautiful pool, also a lift that takes you right down to the ocean for a swim. Things I didn't love: -The fact that I don't live here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhasset, NY

Great location in town with gorgeous water views.

Posted May 20, 2015
Comfortable hotel, close to everything in sorrento. Nice friendly staff, clean room.