Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

There is no Free wifi in hotel rooms.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
I have a sea view Balcony It should be made in the brochure to clarify that free wifi is only at the hotel bar. In the hotel rooms it also jammed my mobile internet. Some staff at the reception and the restaurant are impolite and unhelpful. Be aware. They also have kept our passports overnight that I am not happy about. Otherwise it is a very good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great big room for 4

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Negative: Single bed not comfortable No facial tissue in bathroom Scrambled eggs were disgustingly moist. Positive: Free shuttle into Sorrento Use of pool and another room for shower before leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Vic

Nice hotel quiet location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and cleanliness. In room Free WIFI was a bonus!
Cons: Attitude and service of some of the front desk staff!
Location: Isle of Capri tours and tours to Pompei.
Hotel is located 20 minute walk from the centre of town with a shuttle bus to and fro! Breakfast is plentiful and delicious! Hotel room spacious, clean and comfortable! Unfortunately view was requested but not granted and we overlooked a concrete wall! Overall pleasant stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Not Worthy

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The only good thing I can say is that the room we were in was spacious with a nice view. I used the free parking, which I thought was a huge benefit.
Cons: There is a pool which I couldn't use because it closes at 6pm...why??? Obviously everything is set to their convenience and cheapness, no considerati
Whoever wrote something good regarding the service and the food must be joking or is simply paid by interested parties. The hotel is way too far from town if walking. For a good portion of the distance there are no sidewalks and it is not only unpleasant to walk up the hills for so long but it is also quite unsafe with the cars passing by just inches away, especially in the dark late in the evening. The food? OMG! I couldn't believe I was in Italy. Breakfast was included in the room rate. The buffet style setting couldn't be in competition even with the complementary snacks at Extended Stay America or Motel 8 while, according to ratings, this hotel has 4 stars. The breakfast consisted of ham (you can't find cheaper crap in any deli), sliced yellow cheese of similar quality, a 'variety' of pastry (variety is a joke because there were a couple of different shapes of the same tasteless material), the cheapest boxed orange juice and coffee....don't get me started on the coffee. Seriously, you can get better coffee at any non-branded gas station in the US. The service - not much better than the breakfast. There is no concierge. Anybody at the front desk plays the role, but you would be much better off asking Google ahead of time for anything...and that leads me to the free Internet service. Yes, it is free, but it is also virtually non-existent, even in the 'business center', which consisted of a desk in the corner of the lobby with a desktop and a non-working printer. T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The pool, the staff and the views
Cons: maybe the odd coat of paint here and there but nothing major at all.
Location: Great location. the views are stunning and its lovely and quiet. There is a free shuttle bus in to town but its onlitsy about a 10-15 minute stroll.
We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly. the pool area is very nice and welcoming after a day sight seeing and there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone. We had a seaview room and the view was absolutely stunning! Well worth the extra supplement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome view

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Good hotel, nice pool and location. Overall I was more than happy with the experience and would recommend it to others. Two minor negative points: it was hard to get info from the lady at the desk, eventually we gave up and found things out ourselves. The pool has an underwater step that's easy to cut your toes on when playing with the kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful views in a great location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean. Beds comfortable and great service. Great family location. Doesn't attract the loud crowd which is always a bonus.
Location: Easy access to all the popular locations.
The views are fantastic. A real joy to see Mt. Vesuvio morning, noon and night. Also great location to get to the main locations. Train to Pompeii. Ferry across to Capri and off course the Amalfi Coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Amazing views on hill

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Nice hotel clean and tidy - not the most modern but rooms practical and clean. Pool area lovely and plenty of sun beds even in August. Not suitable for those with walking problems but walk to town manageable despite scary Italian drivers ! I would recommend - just for stunning view and location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel but out of town

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Nice pool, views were wonderful. The room was surprisingly large; staff was friendly and breakfast was great. They have a shuttle to town.
Cons: Restaurant was not open all day and was quite expensive. Shuttle didn't start running until 9am.
Location: Short shuttle ride into town. The center of town is good for shopping; took a nice trip to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius and a Blue Mini Cruise thru bay.
Family trip through Italy and Sorrento was our first stop. Hotel was surprisingly nicer than we expected and room larger than anticipated. We had a quad room for 2 adults, 2 children which was really 2 rooms. One with a king bed (AKA 2 doubles pushed together) and another sitting area with a twin bed and pull out twin. The bathroom was standard size but had a counter for personal belongings. There was also a balcony with small table and chairs. Breakfast was really good for a free buffet, otherwise the restaurant was expensive and hours weren't great for a family. They had a shuttle into town, which was great...it ran frequently on a schedule. It was timely and we had no issues. Only complaint was that it didn't start running until 9am so if you had an early morning excursion, you had to find your own way into town. They report it being about a 20 min. walk but with 2 young kids and some areas not having a sidewalk we did not walk. A cab ride was about 22 euro one way. The staff were friendly and helpful with trip information. We took a trip to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius, which was really nice and a boat ride (Blue Mini Cruise) through the bay to Amalfi. Both trips were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Grand Vesuvio

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Pool, food, sea-facing room.
Cons: Hotel needs more plants and shrubs to make it prettier.
Location: Bus service into Sorrento works well. It's also walkable, but dangerous as no pavements.
Not a very pretty hotel (why don't they put more plants and greenery in outside areas?!) but great pool area and wonderful service. We enjoyed a number of excellent lunches by the pool. The chef and waiters were outstanding. Internet service intermittent, but we loved the overall experience.