Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ana

exactly what i was looking for

Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
Could not have found a better spot. Loved the location, the walk to the place was part of the experience (true some steps were involved but nothing crazy). Would not hesitate going back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Buckinghamshire

Great location, great price, great views

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Pros: The location, the price, and the views
Cons: The towels!
Location: In Marina Grande which is the quieter, and more family orientated, beach area. 10 minutes walk into town, or a cheap bus at 1 euro twice an hour.
We stayed at the Hotel Admiral in September 2012, two couples, we were given rooms 105 and 106, which as the hotel is mostly full of Thomson package tour holiday makers, we think those two rooms are kept (amongst others) for independent travellers as they are the best, with huge terraces overlooking the sea and the marina and beach. We found the staff friendly, but I have seen reviews saying the opposite and I think it depends how you treat people (and you get treated the same in reverse), some of the other holiday makers made no attempt to speak Italian or be pleasant and polite to the reception or waiting staff. Why go abroad if you want a home from home, with the same UK food, and don't expect to adjust to a different way of doing things. The hotel is a little tired in some areas - some of the towels have seen better days. The sun desk consists of tables and chairs, and desk chairs (which aren't the most comfortable after 30 minutes or so#. I think they could do themselves a favour and invest in some sun loungers, that way people will spend longer on the desk #rather than going elsewhere to sun bathe). It's reasonaby priced, and I'd definitely stay again as the location is fantastic. The Thomson people wer on half-board, but there are so many places to eat in the Marina and in town that you are spoilt for choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Near London UK

Sorrento

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, location
Cons: Limited breakfast. Coffee is awful.
Location: Great. Walk uphill is challenging so many people would need the bus - every 30 mins and €1.80 each way so no big deal
Good location on the marina - just away from the main marina and a short bus ride or a 15 minute walk to the bustling Sorrento town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rebecca from Watford, Hertfordshire, UK

Our stay 8-18 June 2012

Posted Jun 20, 2012
Pros: Situation and views from room and the staff.
Cons: not able to swim in the sea from the hotel
Location: Perfectly situated in Marina Grande - a small harbour with a small sandy beach only minutes away and lots of great restaurants within walking distance
Couldn't have stayed at a more perfect hotel. The location is ideal set in the harbour with just the sound of the sea and seagulls and beautiful views from the rooms. The hotel staff were great, Francesco on reception, the bar staff and the Manager were all very friendly and helpful and prices for drinks and food at lunch very reasonable. Good value for money all round. Only thing I would recommend is the hotel adding access to the sea from the deck!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hotel Admiral

Posted Jun 19, 2012
We went to this hotel after reading good reviews on trip advisor.. We spent 4 nights there on a bed and breakfast basis. We were both shocked at how dated everything was within the hotel. The walk to the centre was uphill which is not for the faint hearted and I feel that this should be expressed more by the holiday companies. The food was okay but nothing special. The bathrooms were especially old and there a signs of age on the sanitary ware.The wall light had a dead spider on it which was still there when we left. The iron on the balconies is rusty and could do with paint. This hotel is in a good position to be amongst the local people with the option to walk to the centre of Sorrento. There is a bus once an hour although we never saw one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by George

Hotel Admiral May 2012

Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very happy stay. Meals very good. Staff very helpful
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rodrigo

WITHOUT HOT WATER IN A HOTEL 3*

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
the hotel is very bad located. It's situated in the farest place in sorrento. You have to walk 30 minutes to get the center. Is a hotel 3* but there was no hot water in the first floor (because a problem) and the knew about that and decided to check us in the first floor. the reception has a woman called NADIA, her attention is really really BAD. DONT GO THERE!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Law

independant traveller

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a Thomson hotel hence hotel staff not interested in anyone not with Thomson. Not forthcoming with information regarding the area or excursions even the ones run by hotel. Thomson gold award winner 2006/7 says it all not been refurbished since. Transfer taxi refused to go beyond marine so had to walk last 300mtrs. Not near Capri ferry as this leaves from another marina which is up the hill and down again( lift now installed if you can find it)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

a view to die for

Posted May 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Tucked away, but the view over the bay of Naples, was superb, good local Bus service, Restaurants close to hotel excellent, a little community of its own. Good access to all sight seeing, but a wonderful place just for some Rand R, Room adequate and bed good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing view!

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel literally hangs over the Mediterranean Sea. I think that should sell just about anyone thinking about booking. The view was just amazing. We woke up to the sunrise over the ocean every morning. The mist covering Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking! It is located on the grande marina which has what looked to be the best seafood dinning (we are not seafood eaters so we went into the city to eat). You have a great view of Sorrento from your balcony. It is a good uphill walk into the main part of the city. Not so bad that we didn't head out just to grab gelotto, but could be a problem for older guest. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy. Lots of choices and wonderful coffee served with an ocean view. The room was small, but we had the balcony doors wide open every time we were in the room so it felt larger and it wasn't the smallest we had in Italy. The biggest complaint we had with the hotel was that the internet can only be used in the lobby. Our room was directly over the lobby and we couldn't pick it up. Overall simply based on location, one of the best hotel rooms we'll probably ever have (and one of the cheapest).