Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Berkshire, England

A very warm and inviting Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Pros: The location, the Staff, the Hotel
Cons: Leaving
Location: It is perfect to see all the historic sites, towns and coastlines.
We were all very impressed with the Hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. We felt we were staying with friends. All the staff were first class and made us feel at home. The Hotel Manger, Francesco is incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. The Concierge, Salvatore is attentive and helpfully and caters for all dietary needs. The Hotel has a car park and is well situated for bus and train routes. We had a wonderful time and have recommended this hotel to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from Hampshire, UK

good for couple who want to explore Pompei, etc

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: all the staff
Cons: sant agnello is not v inspiring as a location, but is a vg base with the train , and 10 euro coach transfer to the airport ( 1 hour 20 mins)
Location: as above . little good local restaurants , so walk 20 mins into Sorrento, get the train or get half board at the hotel ( good value and choice )
CLOSE TO LOCAL TRAIN STATION. GOOD VALUE EXCELLENT STAFF VESUVIUS VIEWS HALF BOARD , V G VALUE, EXTENSIVE MENU CHOICE, little else nearby. clean , quiet hotel,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Petet from Australia

Needs a bit of polishing

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: The friendliness of the kitchen staff
Cons: No air conditioning in shoulder season and no alternative even if it is still hot
Location: Poor location away from central Sorrento area but close to a station
The hotel is close to the second last train station on the Napoli to Sorrento line but not much else. The down side of this is that you don't have much choice for dinner except the hotel restaurant. The food is okay here and the service is brilliant but it is very much over priced. Other than that, the only other complaint was that they turned off the central air conditioning as the said it was the off season despite the weather being in the high 20's (C). They had no alternatives other than to leave the door open which invited mosquitos into the room. They said some people were requesting blankets already (must have been the oldies) but our room was facing the sun all day and very hot. They should provide these rooms with a fan if they a going to turn off the air conditioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Scotland, UK

Great Hotel and Lovely Views

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Clean room, balcony with great views, good and varied breakfast, friendly, helpful staff and good hot shower.
Cons: None
Location: 5 minutes walk to Sant'Agnello train station and 25 minutes walk to Sorrento.
We checked in late on the night as we had a late arrival to Italy. Trains were regular from Naples Train Station to Sant'Agnello (2nd last stop for the train to Sorrento). The guy at reception was really friendly and helpful and took us to our room. The room was well-decorated, modern, very clean and the cleaner cleaned it every day for us. We had a lovely balcony, in which we stepped out in the morning sun when we woke up each morning, you could sunbathe there also. There are chairs and a table provided on the balcony. The shower was great and equipped with hot water. There were also shower caps, soap and shower gel provided. The bed was comfy also. Breakfast was good, lots of choices, buffet-style breakfast. Restaurant staff are extremely friendly and helpful too. The hotel has a pool, but the water was rather cold so we just sunbathed in the warm weather. We had dinner on the last night, the food is extremely good and the waiters are informative when you have queries on what the food is or what is in a certain dish. The dinner menu changes daily, and we just dined out on the days when the food menu wasn't to our taste. All in all, I would go and stay at Hotel Alpha again and would recommend friends and family when they visit Sorrento and surrounding areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracey from Auckland, New Zealand

It was great even with glitches

Posted Oct 16, 2012
Pros: Restaurant, service staff and overall ambience
Cons: Air conditioning, shower and noisy toilet
Location: Very handy to the rail station, good location
The food was excellent, the service staff all excellent. The showers, toilet and air conditioning needs work.the toilet took a long time to fill with water and made a lot of noise, the shower is weak, and the bath jets didn't work. We didn't think the air conditioner was working and slept with the balcony door open because it was too hot. But overall the experience was a good one. The restaurant and the maitre d - superb, everyone helpful and hotel was VERY clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rachel from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

weekend away

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Pros: dining room staff
Cons: bathroom
Location: suited me fine - but others may find it too far from the centre
staff could not have been nicer..bathroom needed an update
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Hertfordshire, UK

Very good hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Hotel appearance - lovely garden and setting - lovely road of pine trees
Cons: Lack of atmosphere in evening
Location: Choice of trains or buses to get around. Cheap supermarket close by and short walk to see Bay of Naples where you could have a coffee in a bar
Wonderful hotel - excellent location - very good food - only thing lacking is entertainment or just piped music. Just lacked a little atmosphere. Why not a little Pavarotti or similar for half an hour before the meal. Or more modern Italian music in the bar area. But excellent value for money hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value.

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Everything was fine,except the air conditioning was not in use the season we stayed, late September and it was Warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great little hotel in santagnello, near sorrento

Posted Sep 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were all pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Room was very clean and with beautiful views. Yes some noise from the road but not too bad. Bed a little uncomfortable but we only stayed 3 nights. Brillant cooking school on the same road, were I had an actual italian cooking lesson in english! Highlight of the trip! Very good location for trains/ bus transport to sorrento or to pompeii/ naples airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK

Great Hotel For Couples

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Service, breakfast, gala dinner
Cons: Location- some road noise. Minimal entertainment
Location: Quite a way from sea bathing access points
A very well run hotel, with exceptionally friendly and attentive staff. Beautiful swimming pool area, surrounded by palm, lemon and orange trees. Huge patio for outside eating/ drinking