Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cotswolds

Good location

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Location, view and staff
Cons: WI-fi
Location: Capri, Amalfi Coast
The hotel is on main road out of Sorrento high above the harbour. The hotel is built into the cliff and so you enter at road level (1), reception and restaurant is down at 0, and the bedrooms are on the floors below (-1,-2,-3), the pool is at -4. As far as we could see all the rooms have balconies of varying sizes ours on -1 was a good size for a small table and two chair, -2 seemed to have bigger balconies but can be overlooked by those at level -1. The rooms face out to sea and views are superb, on road noise. The old town is a 20-30 min walk, and the more modern town is 30 mins walk. The port for Capri ferries is another 10-mins. The hotel staff were great and very helpful. Breakfast is a good spread with a cooked option if required. All the staff spoke good English. International TV channels available. Only down side the wi-fi drops our regularly but not a real problem. The restaurant serves a good dinner but we chose to eat in the old harbour plenty of choice just an uphill 30 min walk back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Panoramic ocean view and old world charms!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
I booked three nights in Hotel Belair based on good reviews in Expedia, and now I can tell u that my boy and I had such a nice experience and we will stay in Belair next time again! The hotel is right on the main road to Amarfi coast, 2 minutes away from busy tourist district of Sorrento by car. Gated free onsite parking is a big plus in Sorrento if u drive. Upon step in the lobby, we were welcomed by Francesco. He became our main contact through our stay. He is outstanding! Like hotel belair, he has those old world charms. Now come to the hotel, It is elegant decorated with panoramic ocean view everywhere you go, lobby, dinning, lounge room, bar, pool... We used room services every night, the spaghetti with meet sauce was best we had. If you'd like to try a hotel other than those big chain hotels(there are a few in sorrento), I highly recommend hotel Belair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Peaceful

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Nice hotel away from the noisy, crowded city center, but an easy walk. Only complaint is the food, which was tasteless. Really don't want to eat in the hotel restaurant. Better to walk to town twice a day for a good meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2015
The hotel had amazing views. The service was excellent and the rooms were big. Loved our stay and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The view was fantastic and when my son turned up for the wedding, the staff were very helpful in accommodating him.
Cons: Bed seemed a little hard but I slept well, so no complaints.
Location: Excellent location - 12 minute walk to the centre square. Shops, restaurants and bars in the town and some beautiful drives around the Amalfi coast.
Excellent all round. The location, the amenities and the staff were great. My Italian is poor so the excellent English spoken by most of the staff at the hotel and the staff at the restaurants was a massive help. I would highly recommend this part of Italy! :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warrington uk

Beautiful hotel fantastic views.

Posted May 24, 2015
Hotel belair was the most beautiful hotel we have stayed in.its got class and elegence and the staff are very professional and helpful.the room was clean and spotless. Every night someone called into the room to turn your bed back which is very professional and not many hotels do that now.breakfast was very nice and the waiters couldn't do enough for you and the view as you sit on the balcony eating your breakfast is breathtaking.we will be definitely coming back and staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

All about the spectacular view.

Posted May 18, 2015
We selected hotel for the view and were not disappointed. Restaurant is not recommended except for included breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sorrento

Stunning views

Posted May 8, 2015
Amazing views of mount Vesuvius. 5 minute walk into a buzzing town where you really Sample a buzzing atmosphere. The food was fabulous in Sorrento as was the weather. The hotel can arrange excursions and transfers. A truly unforgettable holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to town

Posted May 3, 2015
A fabulous hotel reminiscent of old world charm with modern touches. Close enough to walk to town but far enough to be quiet and restful. Gorgeous views from this cliff side gem. Great food and a supremely attentive staff. Stay here!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Nice hotel with a VIEW

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Wonderful view.
Cons: They could fix the security gate into the car park.
Location: Brilliant location for the view. Duomo, museums, restaurants etc down in the town.
Had a week here in the middle of April. It's situated a little way out of town (about 20 min walk uphill) but very easy to find as it's on the main coast road going west. The car park is at road level but is actually on the hotel roof as the hotel is built into the cliff below - for a very good reason - the view. The reception and public areas are very open, clean and pleasing. In the dining room there's lots of large windows taking advantage of the views. Actually ate here twice, table d'hote, and very passable it was too. Breakfast buffet was standard continental fare but clean and well presented. Eggs, bacon etc are available by request. I didn't bother. Nice looking pool and sunbeds, but once again I didn't bother. I was there to see the Sorrentine peninsula, not a swimming pool. We have those in Oldham. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable with the usual facilities. All rooms have a sea view. That bland statement does not do justice to the view. When someone says 'a view to die for', this is what they mean. Sorrento panorama, Bay of Naples, fishing boats, ferries going back and forth to Capri, Naples etc, and the crowning glory - Vesuvius. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. ps Did I mention the view?