Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Clean, comfortable with stunning views

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Very conviently located ( if you dont mind an uphill walk) but views are beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Meg S. from Sydney, Australia

Amazing view

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
As it was a special occasion for my husband and I we stayed in a Junior Suite and it was amazing. We had a huge terrace with outdoor shower, daybed and table and chairs with a 270 degree water view. The suite itself was also huge and very comfortable. The service was very friendly and helpful and they were happy to hold our bags for us after checkout as we were on a full day tour to Pompeii. We had dinner a couple of nights at the hotel restaurant. The mixed seafood starter was fantastic but the mains were not as good and it was a bit pricey but very convenient if you didn't feel like walking into Sorrento. It is a little out of the centre of town which we liked as you were away from the crowds and it was an easy walk or you could get a bus to and from the hotel entrance to Sorrento centre. All up a very nice stay and we would happily recommend the hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

views to die for, tiny room

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel La Tonnarella is about 1/2 mile up the twisty main road out of the town of Sorrento. Close enough to walk, far enough to feel you've escaped the crowds. The hotel is virtually a display cabinet for the local ceramics - beautiful tile on all the floors, more examples on the walls. And the view - boy-o-boy! Our room's lovely balcony, which was large enough to have two chaise lounges, a small table and two chairs, and a couple of potted lime and lemon trees, had a 180 degree view of the town to the right and Vesuvius dead ahead. The only complaint I have is that the room itself was substantially smaller than the balcony. There was room only for a bed, a small wardrobe and a tiny desk. No place to put your suitcases away, and nothing to unpack them into. Judging from the fire escape map, our room was the smallest of the row of rooms with nice balconies - the others looked a bit larger. So avoid room #9 (it's also just off the entrance hall so there was a bit of noise from people coming and going). The breakfast was good, the service was fine, dinner at the restaurant was neither better nor worse than other restaurants in Sorrento (except for the setting which was spectacular - on the terrace overlooking the bay). All in all, I felt that La Tonnarella wasn't quite worth the high price, at least for that room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike

Wonderful view of bay and Vesuvius

Posted Oct 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was large and had a private balcony and terrace. The view from our room was fantastic--the Bay of Naples and Mr. Vesuvius. The desk staff was most helpful. The breakfast room was old style gorgeous. We will go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Romance or just incredible views - It has it all.

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Bath Tub - View from the room and dining room
Location: Incredible position overlooking Sorrento and the bay
The hotel is easy to access by car. The setting is perfect for for views of Sorrento and the bay and the dining room views are equally wonderful. I have been staying here for nearly 10 years and every time I come back I remember why I never want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bren from London, UK

LaTonarella review

Posted May 7, 2012
Pros: All tiled floors, clean, safe, quiet and views from every part of the building.
I had a balcony view and it was delightful. I overlooked the bay and could see Mt. Vesuvius. The staff were helpful, spoke English and the breakfast had everything: eggs, cheeses, homemade olive bread, cereals and fresh fruits. The OJ and pineapple juice were canned so not everything was perfect. The rooms were recently renovated and all tiled. Everything was clean and it's a quiet place to stay and within a 10-15 minute walk from the center of Sorrento. I'd definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great View!

Posted Nov 30, 2005
The reason I recommend this hotel is for the view of the ocean and downtown Sorrento. The hotel is high on the cliff on the ocean side of the road. Our room (number 4) was on the corner so had a panaramic view. The room was beautiful with colorful tile everywhere and new features abound. The staff was very friendly and helpful about transportation and day trips, etc. Definitely take a day trip to Capri on the Fast Ferry. Two bad things for us though were that the first night it was so windy that the shutters rattled loudly all night, but such is the weather. The other thing was that the heat worked very poorly in our room if you are planning to go in the colder months.