Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paulfrom plymouth, michigan

Great stay and staff!

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
great stay. ideal location. close to train station, sights, ferry to Capri. Staff was fabulous. kudo's for Marco & the Manager. I had my credit cards and ID stolen at the train station in Naples, and Marco and the Manager and staff went out of their way to help me get assistance, help me with calls. I won't forget their efforts. thanks again and again. Enjoyed the hotel and it's great breakfast. great three star property in the middle of Sorrento.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James & Nancyfrom North Carolina

Great for location, comfort,& service

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed stay very much. Staff was better than great. Can find anything negative to say. Plug a grocery store beside hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

excellent location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: tea and coffee making facilities could be included in the rooms (although many hotels in Europe don't have tea and coffee making facilities)
Location: hotel is in the middle of town - restaurants and shops in the same street, the marina is within walking distance
Whilst the rooms are small, this hotel is ideally situated in the middle of town. You can walk to everything from the hotel - restaurants and cafes, the marina to catch the ferries to Capri and Amalfi, you can walk to the meeting place for day tours. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the staff are pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

very friendly staff and owner very helpfull

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: was near the centre3 and the sea
Cons: Pictures on the wall would made it more cheerful
Location: As\abo9ve
I found my room too basic and it was without fridge but some members of my family had better rooms and were quite pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Location, staff. Breakfast was very good!
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness and occasional sewage odor.
Location: Perfect location! Restaurants, small market next door, pizzerias all right there. Only blocks to the town square and the beautiful Bay of Naples.
We stayed at Hotel Sorrento City for three nights, two weeks ago. When we checked into our room there was a chilled bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us. We were celebrating our 35th Anniversary in Italy so it was a nice gesture and an immediate warm welcome for us. We read a lot of reviews on the hotel before booking. The rooms, as stated in the reviews, are small so we knew what to expect. There was enough room for us and we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway. I was not thoroughly pleased with the cleanliness of the bathroom, upon arrival, but not so much as to complain about it. The refrigerator wasn't cold and we did mention that. We were told it was because it was warm outside. We had read reviews complaining about a sewage smell in the bathroom, which we did notice. Again, it wasn't bothersome enough to complain about it and wasn't very strong. The staff were all extremely helpful and very accommodating. Frederica, Simone and Marco were always willing to answer questions, guide us to restaurants and attractions, and were very friendly. They all got us ice cubes, which seems to be hard to come by in Italy! Based on other reviews, we requested a room with a balcony facing the street, which we were given. We passed every evening sitting on the balcony, with our wine, watching the craziness of the busy city and all of the people in it. Very entertaining! Sorrento is beautiful. Would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel very central

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: its central location
Cons: breakfast
Location: close to tasso square and restaurants and shops.
my husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at Sorrento City. Small and convenient. Clean comfortable room. Staff very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Texas

PERFECT LOCATION!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect.
Cons: Cant really change it, but size of showers are a bit small. Rooms were small but with balcony open felt better.
Location: All the shops, restaurants, train station, port for taking ferries were in walking distance. Sorrento was one of my favorite cities to visit in Italy
The hotel was a short walk from train station- finally no taxi ! The rooms were small, but clean. Love the balcony overlooking the main street. The street noise did not bother my sleep and it was great people watching after a day and evening out. The staff were helpful and friendly. The roof top bar was not really being used, which is a shame because it seems so nice up there. All in all a great hotel, I would visit again. Mark(Marco) is a Dallas Cowboys fan - so that helps!! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J

Comfortable hotel in convenient location

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally good - very convenient in terms of location and the hotel furnishing is quite contemporary. As some reviews have stated, avoid the rooms at the back if possible - they literally face out to a blank wall within a few feet!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Hotel City Sorrento

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Hotel well located on shopping strip, supermarket next door, train/bus stn 8 mins away. Check in quick and free wifi
Cons: Access to the coffee machine throughout the day not only breakfast. Access to cable tv channels (perhaps I didn't find it)
Location: Pretty location but life extremely slow paced with plenty of smokers, Mt Vesuvius background spectacular. Visit Pompei, Mt Vesuvius
Stayed in Sept for 7 nights, 2 adults 1 child, to attend wedding. Hotel well located on shopping strip, supermarket next door, train/bus stn 8 mins away. Check in quick. Room small put luggage on top bunk. Breakfast standard continental style (primarily cakes/bread) but food not replenished, coffee machine nice. Sorrento pretty but extremely slow paced after 3 wks in London. Ate in different restaurants daily, disappointed with restaurant food, primarily Italian style cuisine but lacking excitement, portions very small but not too expensive, superior Italian food in Australia. Wedding ceremony in old monastery location very beautiful and reception with Mt Vesuvius backdrop spectacular - wedding food gorgeous. Visited Pompei via train easy enough, serenading buskers requesting money - annoying. Went with tour guide which was beneficial, Pompei amazing, much bigger than expected. Went to Mt Vesuvius, walk not as long (15 mins) or difficult as expected even with 8yr old, although it would be harder for elderly or unfit. Didn't have time to visit Capri or Herculaneum. Enjoyed Sorrento but would prefer to travel around countryside staying at different locations. Not much for children to do, beach very small, seemingly no playgrounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Having previously stayed in a hotel in marina grande, hotel Sorrento City was a world apart. From the friendly staff to the brilliant location, there isn't anything negative I can say about this hotel. We had a room at the front which was great to sit and people watch from the balcony over a lemonccelo. Although the street in very busy at night, it does die down and doesn't cause any problems with sleeping. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting sorrento