Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Nothing, bearing in mind it is not really possible for the staff to move it closer to the centre of town!
The only reason I would not give this Hotel 5 out of 5 is because those who consider booking it, need to understand that the location would not be ideal for a lot of people. The location is nice, overlooking the Bay of Naples, but it's quite a walk from the centre of town. Also, much of the winding road you have to walk along to get to and from it has no pavements which can make it a little nervy with the traffic. This of course can't really be blamed on those who run the hotel and work there. Everything else was excellent, and I have to say my experience of the staff there was all positive - very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for me. The room was always clean and comfortable
2 out of 5
by Ken from new york

Off beaten path, recently renovated,

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Recently renovated but very small rooms, service is decent food not good, not very clearn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from london

Hotel Spicy

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: get a lift ASAP (we were told it was going to be put in next year)
Location: Location was just outside the town, loads of museums, shops, restaurants . and visiting Pompei, Hercalnuem and Versuvius, is a must for visitors.
it was a very clean hotel with plenty of room in the restaurant and bar, staff were very helpful. Breakfast could have been aimed at the UK VISITORS as well as Europeans , as the choice was limited a bit, a toaster and sliced bread would be a good idea to have as a choice, but on saying that the evening meals were 1st class, quality ingredients, perfect presentation and excellent taste. The only disappointing thing was there wasn't a lift, my brother in law found it very difficult climbing 4 flights to the 2nd floor room, as he has only one lung working, staff were willing to move them to the 1st floor ,but would have meant the view wasn't as good so he said he would be fine if he took his time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Simpson from Essex, UK

'Spicy' staff are very helpful

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: The helpfulness of the staff
Cons: Breakfast could have had more varitey
Location: 5 to 6 min journey by shuttle bus (1 euro) into town (approx 20 euros by taxi)
Found the staff at Hotel Spicy very helpful and the room was above average for this standard of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alex from Toronto

Good value, a bit out of the way

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The lobby of Spicy is newly renovated and looks like you just stepped into an upscale Miami or NYC hotel with sleek white details and a nice indoor/outdoor lounge and dining area. The rooms however look like they haven't been updated in about 30 years though. However, they were clean, comfortable and spacious and most have a nice balcony with a view of the town. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful and make you feel right at home. The biggest downside to this property is that it isn't actually in downtown Sorrento - it's about a 5 min drive or 20 minute walk. They do offer a very cheap 1 euro shuttle at any time and a lot of the best restaurants do offer free pick-up and return as well for dinner. Overall, I'd still say this hotel is great value for the price!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Team Graven from Oklahoma city

Club spicy

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thought the staff was nice and helpful and the hotel itself was clean and well kept. Now for the negative, at breakfast they were blasting club like music when family's were trying to eat breakfast and yelling across the table to talk. Late night and early morning we could here EVERY step from people walking down the hall and talking. You could hear every door down the hall SLAM shut. To say the least we didn't get much sleep. But on a positive side, it was clean, friendly and nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ed K. from LA

Great hotel, but out of the main area.

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a pleasant hotel, but the Internet wasn't working during my stay...spotty. I'm sure that was just an anomaly, but it wasn't good for me. Also, the shuttle service was undependable and the driver disagreeable. Otherwise, the hotel was nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Spicy was a fine hotel but is located very far from the center of Sorrento - much too far to walk. They provide shuttle information but shuttle rides cost at least a euro each way and are not available very often.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jenny from Austin, TX

Decent Stay

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Spicy is decent enough for a quick stay in Sorrento. The location is nice. The only disappointment we have is with the restaurant recommendationt that we think it's too pricy for what you get but perhaps it is just that way in such tourist trap of this town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Luke from Edmonton, AB

Excellent

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Modern look, clean and enjoyable. You get a great room for the price you pay. It's located up the hill so you'll have to make your way down to get into Sorrento itself, but we walked it down and up again daily and it wasn't strenuous. Plus the view is lovely. (Note: there is no sidewalk for most of the way so you have to walk along the shoulder of the road. Drivers are used to this though and it is not a major issue.) There is also a hotel shuttle for 1€ that will take you to the edge of town if you prefer. Only complaints are the thin walls so you tend to hear it if the people around you are up late. But the hotel staff themselves are friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay again.