Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Les from Denver, Colorado

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The family that runs Il Nido was friendly and very service oriented. We especially enjoyed the restaurant. Some of the best food we had in Italy. (The pear risotto was great.) The rooms were spartan. So were the bath towels and TP. Beds were comfortable, view was great, it's a small hotel so everything was easily and quickly navigated but, again, the rooms were very sparse. And the hotel was quite high up in the Sorrento hills, so it was a trek down to town, but the shuttle ran frequently, so it wasn't too annoying. I would highly recommend Il Nido for a two or three day stay. Very nice people, it was clean and we had good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natasha from London

Best view, perched upon the rock

Posted Apr 23, 2014
The hotel was built by the family exactly 50 years ago, and while it's a little old fashioned I couldn't fault the cleanliness or decor - no parking paint or tired furniture. The owners were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful - it's easy to just turn up and attached your troops with them as you can get bus tickets, travel advice and recommendations from them easily. There's a free shuttle bus which runs hourly from the hotel to town which is essential and makes getting into Sorrento easy and effortless - you've just got to remember the timetable ! Couldn't fault the rooms, with such an incredible view from the balcony of Vesuvius - beautiful. Free WiFi, and internet access was problem free. Bathroom was spotless and beds comfortable. Breakfast was delicious - freshly squeezed orange juice was out of this works ! And they even had real tea bags- seeing as I don't drink coffee this was a pleasant surprise. It was wonderful to have breakfast looking out towards the bay. We never got around to eating in the restaurant in the evening but other guests aired us the food was very good. A lovely little girl if you enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle and like some tranquility and astounding views, yet easy to get to ask the tourist locations too. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from USA

Great view and location

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Location and services
Cons: Shower door was broken and it was apparent that it had been fixed several times. So, they would need to work on knowing when to remove and replace.
Location: All things Vesuvius (Pompei, Herculaneum, etc.) shopping, Capri, Amalfi Coast
Easily accessible by their free shuttle downtown Sorrento. The staff is excellent and oriented toward service. They experienced a bizarre lightning strike near the hotel on our third day which knocked out the wifi, phone, etc. But, they accommodated the customers very well. The view is breathtaking of Vesuvius and surrounding area. The bus stop for the Amalfi coast is right across the street. We would definitely stay here again. The rooms are small. But, that is consistent with all of Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom from minnesota, usa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank Montalbano

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris & Maria from Wilmington, NC

A great hotel with a wonderful view across the bay

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: I waited and waited unsuccessfully for Vesuvius to show its summit for a photo. Sadly clouds remained.
Location: We took a full day tour down the Amalfi coast that was really spectacular and enjoyed exploring and shopping in the old town of Sorrento.
My wife and I stayed at El Nido for three nights and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Our initial concerns that we were too far away from downtown Sorrento were quickly removed by the conveniently frequent hotel shuttle bus. And we were rewarded from the truly wonderful views we had across the bay. Our room was comfortable and convenient and the staff were always friendly and helpful in everything we asked. The restaurant was really good for breakfast and dinner with a varied menu and excellent food quality; the cost was very reasonable..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Checkin staff friendly, but the brother/sister owners weren't. Also, there was an 18th birthday party the night we checked in and it was so loud we couldn't sleep. Owner apologised next day but claims he told checkin staff to notify all guests checking in, about the party, which they didn't. Despite the obvious inconvenience to us, he didn't offer any concession, not even a free cup of coffee (we asked at breakfast but were told we'd have to pay extra)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The staff, location and comfort.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Unfortunately we were only there for the night.
From our arrival in the dark to our departure the next morning we were pampered and treated special. The view was wonderful and breakfast on the deck was all we expected. We have already recommended Il Nido to two couples we met on our month long trip in Italy and France.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosana & Sergio from New Orleans

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed out stay at Il Nido, great shuttle service, great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Sep 29, 2013
My only complaint is that they have thin walls and rooms above and next door can be noisy