Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GJR from Scotland

Quiet location; 15/20 mins walk from centre

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Wonderful views from our balcony. Comfy beds. Clean room.
Cons: Desk staff could have been a little more friendly. Shuttle bus could run more often and a little later in the evening.
Location: Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples can all be visited using the Circumvesuviana train (very cheap and easy). Capri is worth a visit - go on the boat tour
We spent a week here for our silver wedding. Beautiful views, quiet location ( but perhaps that was because it was still off season). Staff were fine but not particularly friendly. Rooms pretty basic for a 5 star hotel, but very clean.
2 out of 5
by Jenny from London

Overpriced 'retro' hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Decor
I was astounded - having paid £140 per night - that anyone could think that retro 1970's formica is a good look for a hotel. The location is OK (probably a bit too far out of Sorrento but manageable) but the hotel itself is poor if this is a so called 5 star hotel. We were upgraded to a top floor large balcony room but even so - the room décor (and balcony) is resoundingly 1970s and I guess you have to like that décor to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzie from London

Architecture Dream Destination

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: I am a fan of Gio Ponti.
Cons: The cotton pillow cases were scratchy. And I did not like the bath products: they gave me a rash!
Location: Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento, Positano, The Amalfi Coast
I have always wanted to visit this remarkable Design Destination hotel by Gio Ponti, and it was incredible. We travelled on a package in February so we could afford to stay here, so the weather was pleasant but rainy, and it wasn't warm enough to swim in the crystal clear blue waters. This hotel is really one of a kind and very very special. Visually it is a treat on every level. The sophistication and high design was examined in the most wonderful fashion. It was truly like stepping into a movie set. The Sea views were wonderful and peaceful and the authenticity of the entire hotel and it's furnishings are a design lovers dream come true. ( Like Me!) There were small things like not the most modern power shower, but I loved that this hotel really really felt like it was totally preserved from a different time period. The staff were very professional and genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. The hotel itself is a short 10 minute walk into Sorrento city center, but the Hotel provides a free shuttlebus to take you there and pick you up. Pompei is a short and easy thirty minute train ride away. Also its a perfect bus ride to Positano , 30 minutes away, great for day tripping. This is a hotel with the WOW factor times ten, and if you love design, you will love this very special hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sapna from Usa

Excellent service and worth price

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; beautiful gardens, great views of the

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Gardens and views of the ocean
Cons: More care for the custumers at the tables
Location: Have to walk 15:00 minutes to town . Nothing to do nearby
Overall a good experience. Breakfast was the same everyday,basically boring and the staff id not care about our table. We had to serve ourself for extra coffee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frequent travel

The Service and food at Restaurant were excellent!

Posted Oct 23, 2013
The Captain at the restaurant was very pleasant! However, the clerks at the reception during the day were not very helpful. The room was very clean, but the beds were not comfortable. The mattress should be changed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gene from Oklahoma

Beautiful view

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was perfect. The service was great, nice quiet neighborhood. Streets in Sorento are not marked so we had to guess where we were going, but we guessed correctly! The hotel has been refurbished modern but maintains the old style charm. Definitely would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within a park setting

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We had an ocean view room which was worth teh price. Excellent views, nice balcony.