Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Montreal,Canada

Beautiful boutique hotel with an outstanding view.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The experience of being in a smaller hotel and knowing everyone, staff and other guests.
Cons: The entrance to the hotel from the main road must be better identified and the road down to the hotel should be improved.
Location: There are a multitude of areas to visit i.e. Sorrento,Capri,Pompeii and the Malfi coast.
We checked in and we were given an excellent room. The staff was very accommodating especially Rosa and Giuseppe and they made us feel at home. The longer we stayed the more we fell in love with the location. We met wonderful people and we would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Holt, Norfolk, UK

Could be a 5* hotel with a few improvements

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: The tranquility, service & friendliness
Cons: ACCESS
Location: Off road, ideal quiet spot, ideal for walking, relaxing. 10 minutes from Sorrento, so plenty to see or do
Super Rooms, service, staff & grounds. Really poor access from the public road, would not suit the elderly of infirmed, Lack of facilities at the beach no toilet or shower, no restaurant or bar, just bar service, no lift!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from London, UK

Good but a huge missed opportunity to be great

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The room, the staff and the breakfast buffet
Cons: The private beach, no food or drink other than breakfast, inaccessible without car
Location: A long, long walk to the outskirts of Sorrento along a treacherous road. Marina di Puolo beach okay and walkable, sure isn't the Amalfi Coast though!
The Relais Regina Giovanna was a beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and great breakfast BUT it was a missed opportunity to be great and secure our return. It no longer provides a restaurant service at lunch or evenings, a bar but no service, beautiful grounds with a lemongrove with cantilever parasols which don't work and a private beach which is entered through what looks like an old sewer- charge 2€ for a small water, no snacks, parasols etc. we didn't go back. There was nothing to tie you to the hotel at all. It's pretty inaccessible without a car and driving into Sorrento in high season is a licence to crash into a scooter hurtling at you head on as he is overtaking a lorry on a blind bend, costs a fortune to park your car if you have the fortune to find a spot and then battle the thongs of package holidaymakers to get ripped off in the restaurants. Had RRG served the wonderful food the manager told us that they used to we would have stayed, picnicked in the lemon grove, frequented the bar talking to the guests who because of the set up saw fleetingly at breakfast and watch the magnificent sunset from the terrace (had there been some lovely seating to do so rather than a couple of naff plastic tables and chairs). All in all it no doubt was a lovely place that could be a wonderfully amazing place, very romantic with wonderful food- the staff Rosa, Michele and Pepe where the best I have encountered in Italy! However we wouldn't go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by oren from Israel

just came back

Posted Apr 19, 2012
Pros: staff, room, the area
Cons: a bit hard to find.
Location: 10 min' from sorento center, in the middle of a lemon grove.
my wife and i were for 5 nights, the place was great. 10 min drive from the center of sorento. recommended if you have a car. roza is most helpful and kind. the room was big and clean. breakfast was very good. no elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

A remote B&B

Posted Sep 27, 2011
A car is essential as the "hotel" is down a steep ,narrow and rough track. The access to and from the main road is very dangerous. Coming from teh south sat nav will take you down a road that is impassable to motor vehicled (too narrow). The second option is to take teh next left but that is too dangerous to turn into as you cannot do a left turn in one movement and it is a busy main road that you are exiting from and your vision is impaired in both directions due to it being a very twisty road.The property has been converted well apart from the electrics. Numerous switches in the bedroom - not sure what some of them did, if anything, and the wall-mounted bedside light was hanging-off the wall. No mirror in bedroom, so hairdrying had to be done in steamy bathroom. Breakfast was very limited in choice and you had to be early as what was set-out was not replenished. The staff tried hard but the establishement either needs more investment to make the necessary improvements or they should re-market it as what it currently is a 1 or 2 star B&B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Slightly Isolated

Posted Sep 1, 2011
The hotel is lovely, clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and individual with great views. The little private shingle beach in the alcove is a delight although the abandoned building you have to pass through to get there wasn't! The staff were also friendly and helpful. Be warned though. It's not an ideal place to stay if you don't have your own transport. We were informed on check-in that the hotel only offered breakfast! No lunch, no dinner and the small bar appeared to have been long abandoned! This left us with a 15 minute walk from the hotel to nearest cafe, shop or the bus stop into town. The walk was even longer from the beach. All in all it's a lovely place amid olive and lemon groves. More a glorified B&B than a four star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

Most Romantic Place

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Relais Regina Giovanna was the most romantic place we have ever stayed! I cannot say enough about the engaging staff and the panoramic views from our room. We hiked every day down to the private (very secluded) beach. It was all our own. And we hiked the olive/lemon grove trails up the the cliff overlooking Capri, Naples and Mt. Vesuvius every day, too. The room was clean, and quiet. Breakfast was included - bruschetta every morning yummy, and we dined in the hotel at night with delicious meals. This hotel sits in a large wooded grove in the side of the Almafi Coast. It is out of town about 1 1/2 miles. We drove to town each day for tours, boats to Capri and Naples and drove to Pompeii. The hairpin curves were a little scary, motorcycles everywhere and no stop signs or lights...but, we did fine with that. We will go back to RRG anytime we get the chance. I might say it would be a perfect place for an engagement or a honeymoon...or in our case an anniversary! Loved this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Lovely hotel, lacking atmosphere. Disappointed with our accomodation.

Posted Sep 22, 2010
We were given an "apartment" not a superior double bedroom. The bedrooms looked wonderful online and this is what we had expected. The apartment was in another building someway from the main hotel. The bedroom was extremely small, with very little space to get around the bed. The bedroom window being the only window in the apartment. The view from this one window was very poor. We ate at the hotel on our first night, but we did not do so again as the food was expensive, very basic and of poor quality. Two courses and half a bottle of wine cost 88 Euros. We ate at various other venues during the rest of our stay and the food was far superior and cheaper. Be prepared for a narrow steep track to the hotel and the track to the annex was unmade and very rough in parts. The private beach was very small and approached by a longish slope followed by 99 steps, into a partially completed building, then out on to the pepple and rocky beach. This in our opinion was not worth the effort. Having said all this the hotel is in a very relaxing environment amoung the olive and citrus trees. The hotel is beautifully furnished and well appointed. Our bathroom was in fact almost as big as our bedroom. There is nowhere to eat within walking distance, especially when you have to negotiate the steep entrance tracks, you therefore definitely need a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from La Jolla, California

a lovely experience

Posted Jul 20, 2010
We were delighted with our 4 nights here. On the cape as you leave Sorrento toward the south (Capo Sorrento), this is a great place to stay if you're traveling by car, partly for the secure and free parking at this gated lemon farm property. You have access to an amazing beach cove, and as it's rustic with pebbles, not sand, bring water sandals. Our 2-level apartment was spacious and comfortable, with tasteful decor that fit the setting of the lemon orchard we looked out onto. This is a relaxing place & mostly quiet but expect some traffic sounds from road above. You can reserve to have dinner here & the menu features fresh, local ingredients. The unobtrusive professionalism of the dining hostess contributed to the graciousness of the dining experience. She also oversees the cold breakfast buffets, and the pastries were our favorites of our 3-week trip through Italy. (It turns out that the dinner chef is also the pastry chef!) The RRG was our base while day-touring the Napoli and Amalfi coasts. In the mornings we took the hotel's courtesy van into Sorrento, walked to the train station and took the easy-to-use commuter system to Pompeii and Naples. To avoid the infamous stress of driving Amalfi coast we took a local bus (across from the train station) that you can get on and off to see the towns you wish. In the eves take a taxi the 2 km. from Sorrento back to RRG (obscure bus/ticket option from town, or walking narrow road are possible but not for most).