Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lath from London

Truly a Secret Garden!! The Secrets Out!!!

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were very genuine, lovely, and affectionate. Especially Giovanni, who I loved. His service, was second to none,cant wait to see him again!
Cons: heating in rooms could be better as even at the highest setting, it does nothing.Also a wider chocie of breakfast could be served,such as bacon e.t.c.
Location: Piano is located 10mins from Sorrento, its easy just to get a train (circumvesuviana) there to discover restaurants and the whole town alike!
This hotel is more of a B&B which is situated outside Naples in the nearby town of Piano Di Sorrento! It is a very posh B&B and gives a very focused service as a result, with a nice breakfast room lounge with fresh pastries, cappucinos, coffees and teas and with fresh lemon and orange juice. When I say fresh, I mean picked off the garden tree where lemons and oranges are the fruit of the tree. Another thing to note, Sorrento is a town full of lemons and oranges, so when it is nicknamed Land of Lemons and Oranges, it means exactly that! I found the staff very helpful, lovely and affectionate. Giovanni, a Neopolitan gentleman, was amazing and very helpful indeed. I am only sorry that i didn't learn more Italian than I could have done as he was very engaging. When I arrived in Naples, I had an issue with my lost luggage so checked-in late but Giovanni was understanding. Other staff members were very nice even though I did not get their name. The room I got was the Double Room and was very plush and romantic. Though I was on my own, I felt spoilt and favoured and comfortable. The only thing to say was that since I travelled there in February, the weather was still somewhat cold and heating was sparse in the room. But all else was fine with the hotel. The reception is not manned constantly so if you need anything, its best to try anticipate your needs and inform the staff in the breakfast time, which is 8:30 - 10am. Location to hotel has signs easy to find!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a short stay

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Staff and style
Cons: No clear area that you can sit and relax, outside.
It is more a B&B than hotel but a lovely place and really nice and friendly staff. It is has a feel of it being used more by locals than foreigners, perfect for a short stay Great but is needed to be a little better sign posted as it does live up to its name as the secret as the secret garden, a sign at the main door and at the top of the stair well and a note to show where the bell is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KT from Sydney NSW, Australia

Nice B$B

Posted May 10, 2013
The room we ( my daughter and I) stayed is very clean and comfortable with a huge private bathroom next door. Owner is very friendly and helpful, She printed bus timetable for us and gave us direction for surroundings. She even got up earlier to prepare our breakfast because we had to leave before the usual breakfast time. Very nice breakfast (lots choice and plenty). Although it is not in the centre of Sorrento, it is very easy to reach by the train (two stops). It is close to train station (about 8-10 mins walking) and there is clear sign to lead you to the B&B (look for the post outside the station and at turning point on the street). We stayed for three nights and was very satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gina from London, UK

Traditional Italian Hospitatilty

Posted May 4, 2013
Pros: Situated in a quiet location
Cons: Having to carry suitcases up to 2nd floor as no lift facility
Location: Quiet and amongst locals
Pretty traditional Italian B&B. The staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Had family staying in Sorrento were it was extremely busy, so was pleased to have somewhere quiet to relax. The local restaurants were cheap and the food of excellent quality. Well located for anyone attending a wedding at Villa Fondi (10 min walking distance). The B&B is set in a beautiful citrus garden heavily scented by Orange Blossom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by s_p from London

wonderful stay

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 5 days. The manager was lovely and more than willing to help with anything we asked for. The room was very cleaned every day with the only downside of this being that they took the glasses away to wash and didn't bring them back! Its easy to ask for more though. We had a really big room with a separate bedroom and living area. The relais is in piano not Sorrento which was clear when booking but the train was very quick and the station close to the relais. We enjoyed being in piano as we were able to access other towns such as sant agnello and the gorgeous beach in meta. We honestly loved staying in the secret garden and would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill and Sue from Pennsylvania, USA

Home away from home

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This B&B is a 5 minute walk from the train station and the village, and felt like our own home. Proprietors are very nice and make a banging cup of cappucino @ breakfast. They recommended a family-run restaurant 2 blocks away which we loved. Train to Sorrento runs every 30 minutes (then a 4 minute train ride). I'm too nervous to walk the 20 minutes to Sorrento on the narrow road (once was enough to convince me to use the train). We felt like we got a true taste of Italy - I hope you get the chance to enjoy this B&B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK

Lovely base for couples

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Pros: The views acroos the bay of Naples and the quiet area
Cons: The access
Location: Piano Di sorrento is a samll town only two train stops (10mins)to Sorrento.
This is a dwelling on the 3rd floor of a large house in the urban area of Piano Di Sorrento. It is not really a hotel but more of a guest house. The satff and cleanliness were excellent as was the room we had. Breakfast is Continental and plentyful and the staff were happy to make fesh Expresso etc if requested. We stayed for 2 weeks in late September, the rooms were cleaned and clean ample towels etc provided every day. The Secret Garden is in a secluded area and at the top of 59 steps of a large spirral stair case. Vehicle access to the garden is very limited (taxis will not drive down the actual road but will pick-up and drop of at the rear of the Bassilca St Michelle some 100m away). Although the train station and town Plazas are only some 10 minute walk this is not a location for those who have mobility or health difficulties.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Brian and Wanda from Macclesfield

Not impressed

Posted Apr 1, 2012
As previous reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is not in Sorrento centre and is hard to find. We arrived on Friday 23rd March, before the season started and there was nobody who spoke english and this remained the case for the whole week. We had to find our way around by trial and error, but that was not so bad. If you like ham and cheese or cheese and ham for breakfast, accompanied by lukewarm coffee you will love it here? Hopefully there will be staff here in the season, because the owner, who is very nice but no english, does not do cleaning or more interesting breakfasts. We will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from California, USA

Would stay again.

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Pros: The location, friendly staff, quiet area, experiencing the feeling of "living in Italy" in a home instead of just staying in a hotel room.
Cons: The room was a bit cold at first and the door locks and keys took some getting used to.
Location: Good location, close to train station but quiet, and close enough to downtown Sorrento.
The room was small but comfortable. The building is quite old, early 1800's I believe, but nicely converted to a bed and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, especially Elaina, sp?. The location to the train station was great, just a short walk down some quaint streets and alleys where you get a nice feel for daily life in this part of Italy. The neighborhood was fine and it felt safe enough, and it was quiet. Just a short train ride to downtown Sorrento and all it has to offer. I visited in December and it was a bit cold and rainy, but I imagine that the area is very nice in the spring, summer, and fall.