Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset

Wonderful staff and views. A true Italian feel.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The roof terrace was a pleasant surprise as views even better from up there and loungers allowed for a relaxing book read in the sunshine.
Cons: I wouldn't want to see lots of modern updates but it would be great if the wardrobe draws had been easier to use. Sometimes impossible to pull open.
Location: Fantastic views of the bay of Naples and easy access to a small local beach. Visit Capri, Ischia and the Amalfi Coast using local transport.
We went back to Sorrento 25 years after our honeymoon there. Villa Margherita did not disappoint, it was really close to the the hotel we stayed in last time and I made a request on Expedia for a room with a sea view. We were thrilled on arrival to get a fantastic view over Vesuvius and the bay with a balcony as well. The general feel of the hotel is very traditional Italian, so don't expect the height of modern luxury but it is authentic and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfasts where there was a decent continental range on offer, although one day someone had already taken what seemed to be the one and only daily pain au raisin which did not start my day well! We did have some ants in the room during our first night but after reporting this in the morning the matter was quickly dealt with. The staff really made us feel welcome and were happy to assist with any enquiry. We were able to print out some flight details using the hotel PC and handed an extra umbrella when a stormy morning arrived. They are always on hand with local knowledge and suggestions. The walk into the main part of Sorrento is realistically 25minutes. If you do walk, beware of the traffic on the small sections where pavement is lacking; an elderly local nearly took me out with her wing mirror and it a very busy route for traffic with scooters weaving everywhere. Sample some limoncello on the way is my advice. In Sant'Angello find the fabulous delicatessen where Giovanni let us try nearly everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in guter Lage zum Meer,

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Hotel in guter Lage zum Meer, jedoch weiter Weg vom Stadtzentrum (ca. 25 min zu Fuss). Gebührenpflichtiges Parken vor dem Hotel auf der Strasse möglich und günstiger als Angebot vom Hotel, aber nur begrenzt Parkplätze
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Ireland

Lovely area, spotlessly clean- but a bit noisey

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cannot fault the hotel or the family who run it, excellent service, spotless and a lovely location. Located 100m from the entrance to the beach and about 10 min walk from downtown Sorrento. The only faults would be the breakfast and road noise. I'd still recommend it though. The restaurant on site serves amazingly fresh food, one of the nicest meals we had in Italy. The breakfast unfortunately is not up to the standard of the dinner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ken & Tammyfrom Pasadena, CA

Villa Margherita a Gem in Sorrento!

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a marvelous time at the Villa Margherita Hotel in Sorrento. It's a little far from the main train station (the next stop north) and the center of town. We had to take a cab to both the closest train station and the center of town. But the property is well maintained, the rooms were clean and the air conditioning worked like a champ. The staff was both friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was a winner. All-in-all, a good value for the money if a little distance from the important stuff. We liked it enough to consider staying again . . . my wife's sister and her husband stayed right in the center of town and had to wear earplugs and take a sleeping pill to make sure they got a good night's sleep. Don't get me wrong, Sorrento is a fun and exciting place and being on the main street in the center of town is convenient but NOISY. We're glad the Villa Margherita was both comfortable and QUIET!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danielfrom Argentina

Buen servicio

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lo pasamos bien, aunque para trasladarse caminando a Sorrento es un poco lejos. La atencion buena, en especial la gente del restaurante (el mozo Tomasso de lo mejor), las instalaciones bien, aunque quizas faltarian actualizaciones. El desayuno bastante bien (lacteos y cereales, jugos, panes y algunos dulces bien, el fiambre no es bueno, pero en general se desayuna bien). Conexion a internet... de lo peor, solo en espacios comunes y regular
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom torino

ottimo hotel a due passi da un tramonto bellissimo

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: grandissima disponibilità a risolvere ogni problema; buon ristorante associato; disponibilità della colazione anche prima dell'orario di apertura.
Cons: soluzione alternativa per evitare 4 gradini verso l'ascensore (specie per anziani e portatori di handicap).
Location: L'hotel si trova a 4 passi da una veranda sul mare con meraviglioso tramonto e vista mozza fiato su sorrento. Pessimi i taxi (18 € per 2 km) e bus.
arrivati in camera, bellissima ma con balcone verso strada, ho richiesto una camera più tranquilla verso l'interno; e con grandissima cortesia mi è stato assegnata. Per arrivare in hotel dal porto di sorrento bisogna prendere un autobus locale (non ricordo la società) che porta proprio a due passi dall'hotel. L'autista è stato davvero squisito (excellent). Il sabato sera dopo le 21.30 (sebbene in orario vi fossero segnati degli autobus all 21.52 e 22.20 circa) non vi è stato più alcun mezzo che da sorrento stazione andasse a S. Agnello di sorrento (davvero squallido). Un tassista ha chiesto dalla stazione di sorrento a s. agnello (2km) ben 18 euro. Ho protestato con un vigile urbano che molto solertemente stava redigendo delle multe per divieto di sosta e la risposta è stata che è una tariffa normale. Complimenti alla città di sorrento.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a bit run down. Location wasn't brilliant, 20 walk minute away from the center. Overall, you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Natafrom Sorrento, Rome

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except for finding a parking on the streets
2 out of 5
by Kfrom Washington, D.C.

Old hotel near the coast

Posted Sep 15, 2013
The staff is very accommodating. However, they have little to work with, except the location. The rooms are spartan and uncomfortable, the beds are hard, the breakfast was continental with canned fruit and showed little effort, the showers are extremely small (smaller than every cruise I have ever been on). Most annoying was the mold and mildew in the showers. On the positive side, the balcony we had was large, the wifi was free, and the courtyard was nice.