Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dubuque, ia

Shuttle to ND stadium

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Nice rooms and friendly staff. Traveled here for Notre Dame football game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice hotel but rooms are rather small

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Candlewood Suites. Our only complaint was the size of the room. The bedwas so close to the wall on both sides that it was difficult to get in and out of. Other than that it was a very nice room and the staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Melanie, Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Candlewood Suites-South Bend! I apologize for the limited space between the wall and your bed in the room. We will definitely look into rearranging the room and making it cozier and more spacious. We hope that if you return to South Bend, IN that you will stay with us again. We value all of our return guests!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Willis, VA

No hot water, no alarm clock & no airport shuttle

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Cons: communication
As if the first two weren't bad enough, the website was misleading stating long term parking, which one would assume a shuttle. The evening front desk assured me they would call me a cab in advance. I was in the lobby 15 minutes prior to my cab and asked the morning clerk to confirm my cab. He called and then advised that a cab had not been ordered, but that one was on the way. Disappointing. Won't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Melanie, Hotel Management
On behalf of the entire Candlewood Staff I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. The service you received poorly reflected the service we hope to give all our guests.. I apologize for the obvious lack of communication between shifts and that your cab was not ordered on time. I know how frustrating it can be to be thrown off schedule, especially when you had no control over it. We hope that if you ever return to South Bend you will give Candlewood Suites another try and give us an opportunity to show you how dependable we are!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Not impressedfrom Texas

Unhappy stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I made my reservations a few weeks before my stay and asked all the normal questions directly with the hotel; how far from where I was going to be, breakfast, shuttle service, ect. When I arrived there was no shuttle service from the airport as I was told. I was told numerous times there was a shuttle from certain times and turns out n shuttle at all. Also, one has to ask to have room cleaned otherwise it will not be done. The one good thing about this hotel is that it offers a shuttle to the football games through a 3rd party for a small fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Elyse Hale, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. It unacceptable that you received misleading information from our staff. We do not have a shuttle, but, as you said, there is a private shuttle that stops at our hotel every hour to accommodate our guests to the stadium for a nominal fee. We will be more diligent in making our guests aware of this fact. You are also correct about housekeeping. Because we are an extended stay property, we value our guests' privacy and try not to disturb them during their stay. However, it is our highest priority to take care of our guests, and we should have asked if you needed accommodation in this regard. Again, I am very sorry that we did not take care of you during your most recent stay. We appreciate that you took the time to write this review, and your feedback has been heard. We hope that we have another opportunity to take care of you in the future, as you are important to us, and we want to show you just how important you are. Sincerely, Elyse Hale General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kirk Willardfrom Walla Walla

Great stay!

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really kind and helpful front desk! Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Elyse Hale, Hotel Management
Dear Kirk, What a wonderful review! We appreciate that you took the time to write such kind words about our Front Desk staff. It is our hope that, should your travels ever bring you back to the area, you come to visit us again at the Candlewood Suites in South Bend. Sincerely, Elyse Hale General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Just passing through town.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We were greeted quickly once we entered the hotel lobby and the check in process took minimal time. The room was clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was with the outside door that was next to our room was supposed to be accessible using our room key. Our room was at the end of the hallway and it would have been convenient to park by and use the side door instead of the main lobby door. The check out process was also quick and easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Melanie, Hotel Management
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Candlewood Suites-South Bend. I sincerely do apologize for the side entrance door not working properly. I know how much of an inconvenience that can be. If you ever return to the area I hope you return to Candlewood Suites-South Bend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Close to South Shore Railroad

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Housekeeping was less than top drawer.
Location: South Shore Railroad handy. Good pizza at The Volcano nearby. For a great meal, it's a 6 minute drive downtown to the Lasalle Grill.
Quiet room. We were there just two nights. It's clearly aimed at longer term guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Melanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave great feedback. Candlewood Suites is most certainly aimed towards extended stay guests. We hope to provide each of our guest a "home like" atmosphere. If you return to South Bend I hope you will return for another great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andyfrom Michigan

Good Choice

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The candlewood is a good choice for those staying for a few days in S. Bend especially with families. It is nice to have a kitchenette to be able to prepare some meals, keep drinks cold, etc....The only minor complaint is that the internet connection is sporadic and often slow. The staff said they would look into correcting that.