Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S.C.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: don't really know. only drove up to So. Bend and back
Since we were going to a Football game in So. Bend, getting a motel as close as we could was a must. Days Inn is well known and we have stayed in them all across the country. Some good, some not so good. Made it by Internet so unable to see up close. Thought the 98.00/night was a little high, but considering the crowds for this very popular team and completely booked at the site, we had no choice and agreed to book the 2 nights. Looked very old when we arrived, was skeptical. The office clerk was very pleasant. Should have gone up to office to complain when we checked in, our fault, we did not. The carpet was very old and worn, couldn't tell if clean or not. It seemed there were wires or some such under the carpet as there were bumps and dipsall over it. The only bathroom paper was a !/2 used roll on the dispenser. Not until my husband was in the bathroom the next morning did we discover this. Had to walk to office to request a roll, which he gave me. Bathroom door needed to be wiped down, visible stuck drips on it. Just overall dingy, pillows small and uncomfortable, flat and hard. Need a strainer or some sort of "catcher" in sink. Always afraid something small is going to go down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing the places to eat closed early
hotel was dirty toilet didn't work it the room smelled and the breakfast wasn't worth eating worst hotel I ever stayed at and I travel alot
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Culver Parents' Weekend visit

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Cons: We had a non-smoking room, but it smelled like it had been a smoking room in the past. Needed more airing out.
In terms of price, the Days Inn raises it when Notre Dame is playing at home, and unfortunately Culver Academy's parent's weekend was the too. Otherwise it was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, KY

Hotel close to convenience: shopping, eating, etc

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet room, friendliness of the manager and staff, continental breakfast.
Cons: Need a rod in the sink area to hang a hand towel. Need a handle in the tub area to hold onto getting in and out of the tub.
Location: Everything a person would need: nice restruants and/or fast foods. Stores to buy necessities if one did not bring everything one needed.
The manager from India and I had great repore talking about our experiences in India. I was warmly welcomed and given precise instructions to whatever I would need: breakfast room, ice machine, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price I was very happy

Posted Jul 29, 2014
You get what you pay for. This is not the Hilton but for what I paid per night I was very happy. Room was clean, the staff was pleasant and helpful, bed was comfortable and I felt safe staying at this location. Will stay again if the need should arise.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

I wasn't expecting much and was not disappointed

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: Everything
Location: Notthing
If I could have gotten a room at a higher quality hotel, I would have. However rooms go fast on permit weekend at Culver Academy. This motel is dated and the room could use a good cleaning. the linens were not appealing. I was happy to have had the foresight to have brought my own sheets and pillow. The towels were like sandpaper. Shame on me, i should have brought those also. All and all, i was expecting just what I got.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay for the money!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
There are not a lot of hotels in the area on a friendly budget. Days Inn was sufficient especially for the cost! The only complaint would be the odor of smoke in the room. You can definitely tell it use to be a smoking room.
3 out of 5
by Elizabethfrom kalamazoo, michigan

when in a pinch

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: It was quiet enough to sleep.
Cons: without meaning to sound too snooty, the whole place could use some updates: new carpet, paint, furniture...everything.
a bed is a bed, right? And beggars can't be choosers. So if you *have* to stay in the area and everything else is booked up, this will do. Old "motel" style. The door stuck a bit, hard to open and close. Rooms were smaller than I have become accustomed to at the big chains. Carpet was worn and bed was more firm than for my tastes. There was a "funky" smell. Upon arrival, the room seemed stuffy so we turned on the air conditioner, then left for a little while. When we came back, the air conditioner was not running and the room was still pretty stuffy. We turned the AC on again and it continued to run through the evening sufficiently. The room seemed clean, but I didn't want to poke around. Bathroom very small. Staff at the registration desk was neither friendly nor rude.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ND game week end

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Place smelled, carpet a mess and overall dirty
Cons: Demo the building and rebuild it
Stayed at hotel for one night while going to south bend game
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrisfrom Worcester MA

Real improvements since my stay a year ago

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Cons: The breakfast room needs expanding and sprucing up.
Location: It is helpful to have a restaurant across the parking lot and is right off the highway.
This is a small motel but they have really made an effort over the last year. The room was much nicer: recently painted, attractively decorated, with an excellent shower. A for effort and a move from C minus accommodations to a strong B. It's a very small and basic motel, but much improved.