Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Basic hotel, good value for the price.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Good, basic room.
Cons: Better amenities (towels, soaps).
Location: Close to many restaurants & shopping, and within 10 minutes of Notre Dame campus.
Overall, nice, basic room. Nothing exceptional, but nothing bad as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your accommodations and found us to be a good value. Thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Clean, inexpensive, close to groceries + shopping

Posted Apr 21, 2015
This isn't a swanky place, but it is clean, neat, and inexpensive. Also relatively quiet. Some areas could use a fresh coat of paint and beds are a little firm, but I'm not being nitpicky. We've stayed there three years in a row for ND events and this is our go-to hotel for the future. Much better and much cheaper than the hotels on Route 31. About 3-4 miles from ND campus. Multiple shopping malls and big-box stores within a half mile (Target, WalMart, Sams Club, Office Depot, etc). Large grocery store (Meijers?) just around the corner. Room has a fridge, microwave and sink, so you can purchase food/drinks and then save it in the room. Breakfast bar in the mornings is minimal, includes coffee, muffins, fruit. But you can go to the grocery store and buy what you want for breakfast and keep it in the fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Rip the Duck lax tournament.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Hotel was close to weekend events & staff was terrific.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our proximity to your event and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

Bad smell throughout the hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
When my husband called the hotel to check on the reservation on the arrival day, they did not have the reservation. I called an hour later, and suddenly they found it. The hotel parking lot did not feel safe. The room and the hallway and lobby were permeated with the smell of burnt caramel, and we have no idea what caused this. The bed and room were clan, but the whole place seemed uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your visit with us was uncomfortable. We do our best to provide a home away from home experience, and I am disappointed that we fell short. To uphold our company’s high standards, we will be working with our housekeeping staff on better eliminating odors. Please know that guest safety is our number one priority. I will make sure our staff makes more frequent rounds of our property to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bartlett, Il

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Staff was friendly, location of the hotel was excellent, room had a faint smell of something that I can't describe but it wasn't unpleasant, "breakfast" consisted of granola bars, muffins, coffee, and fruit so plan to keep snacks in the room or supplies for more elaborate cooking since what they provide isn't enough. I would love to stay in this hotel again, good price for the services provided and really close to the ND campus and other places of interest in South Bend and Mishawaka
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and location of our hotel; however, we apologize that you were unsatisfied with our grab-and-go breakfast. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Cheap but good

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location and cost
Cons: wake up calls...workout area & hot tube. Have fresh towels at least brought to me as an option.
Location: Lots of places to eat near by.
The hotel was in a good location to what I needed to do in South Bend. Easy to get to. I was disappointed in that I had to pay for maid service and did not like having to go to the front desk with dirty towels to get clean ones. And not having a wake up call was disappointing as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that you were unhappy with our housekeeping options and the amenities we provide. Still, we are glad to read that our location was convenient for your needs and that you found our hotel to be a good value. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IN

I will stay again!!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The room was very clean and staff were nice. I was surprised for the priced how WONDERFUL the room truly was. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting such a positive review. I'm so pleased to hear that the staff was nice and you enjoyed a clean room at a great price. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: clean
Location: It was close to the school for our swim meet and easy to get to
Everything was good except there was no one at the front desk when we checked in. We had to hunt around for the house phone to contact someone. I tried to call the hotel but after a few rings, it disconnected me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that there was no one to attend to your needs in a timely manner. Still, we are happy to know that we were able to provide you with a clean room in a convenient location. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Nice place to relax!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
It was great room for my boyfriend and I to get away and relax! We felt very welcomed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm thrilled that you were able to relax in a welcoming environment. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: clean
Cons: better soap
Location: lots to do
Very noisy but otherwise good, doors slamming and room not very sound proof
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that you experienced disturbances from adjoining rooms during your stay. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that we provided you with a clean and comfortable room. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.