Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We have stayed here several times over the course of a few years and have been consistently pleased with our stay each time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

South Bend Varsity Club

Posted Jul 20, 2014
This is a very nice hotel with a lot to do in a fairly limited space. If you are a Notre Dame fan this is truly the place to stay because of all the history on display in the hotel. I will try and stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Very clean and nice rooms
it was great because it was a great location im not adding more info
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
First impression are everything. We pulled onto the property and the curb appeal (flowers, lawn, condition of the asphalt...) imaculant. The presentation of the property and the rooms were very pleasing to the eye and suprisingly the wallet. The front desk assistants were not very friendly, barely made any eye contact and didn't even crack a smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Chicago suburbs

Great in general with a few hiccups....

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The accommodations were lovely, the layout was perfect for us, and we had a very enjoyable stay.
Cons: The dishwasher was useless, and we would have liked a refill of coffee service each day.
Location: We toured Notre Dame one day, which was interesting. We also toured the Menno-Hof barn about 30 minutes away, which was fascinating and informative.
When we arrived, we were impressed with the overall cleanliness, the grounds, and the layout. However, we were placed in a room that was not what we booked online. When I politely complained to the staff that I was pretty sure we booked a full kitchen (and brought several meals to prepare accordingly), at first I was told they were booked up and the best they could do was lend us a George Foreman grill. Then a second staff member came to our rescue and located a room that was cleaned and ready, and more like what we were expecting. After mentioning that there was normally an upcharge for this room, we were re-located without any other hassles. The second room was perfect - exactly what we were expecting, and cozy and comfy in addition. Once we got settled, we plugged in our laptop and used the free wi-fi to double check what we had booked, and found out that they had put us in the wrong room originally (we booked a "suite" on Expedia, which translated to a "deluxe" on their website, but since the special for the weekend was the same price for both, they put us in the smaller room even though we specifically booked the larger deluxe with the full kitchen). So then I didn't feel bad for getting the "upgrade" without the upcharge, and we were able to enjoy the weekend without worrying about displacing anybody else. The only other disappointment was that the pool was far away from the hot tub. We couldn't relax in the hot tub while the kids played in the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014
It was very good. Very good water and we can cook at the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to shopping center & restaurants

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was impressive. We liked that it was a suite with all the amenities you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Cons: We were disappointed that there was no information in the room about the restaurants and attractions near the hotel.
Location: There were many restaurants and a shopping center nearby. I is also located on the corner of a major high street which made it easy to find.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was comfortable and roomy enough to stretch out and relax in. My wife liked the jacuzzi tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Dallas, TX

Great Location for access to Notre Dame

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Notre Dame; Quietness in rooms
Cons: Complimentary breakfast buffet
Location: Right down the street from Notre Dame
The original reason I booked The Varsity Club l is that it was the only hotel that did not require I prepay for Graduation weekend last summer when I booked it. Since I was not sure when I would be arriving or how long I would be staying, it was wonderful to finally find one hotel in South Bend that did not require non-refundable payment a year in advance. It was also more reasonably priced than most of the other hotels I found and that I have stayed in over the last four years. Due to another child's graduation the same weekend I attended my daughter's graduation from Notre Dame alone. I found the Varsity Club to be very nice. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, the bedding was comfortable and the walls were thick enough that I did not hear anything from the hallway or other bedrooms. If I had any complaint, it would be that the breakfast buffet was not complimentary. When you pay almost $300/night it seems like a free breakfast should be included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted May 23, 2014
Worked out great. Really enjoyed it great size room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are delighted that the Varsity Clubs of America was suitable for your needs, and that you had a great time here. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, and we hope you’ll consider us for future visits to South Bend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roadtripper from Seattle

Nice Hotel near Notre Dame

Posted May 15, 2014
According to the friendly front desk clerk, this hotel was purchased by a timeshare magnate because his son went to ND. The walls are lined with ND sports memorabilia. The place feel like a high-quality time share; I was given a studio room, with a comfortable bed and a nice kitchenette. Amenities were high-quality. I would gladly stay here again.