Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Great people, relaxed atmosphere

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Jakes is super laid back, which is exactly what I needed. There is a hippy-ish atmosphere, meaning it is laid back and free spirited. Resort type people might need to check their attitude at the door! Loved it, will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abk6 from London

Fabulous hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jakes is stunningly designed in a very natural 'shabby chic' that makes the most of its incredibly beautiful setting. The sea water pool is the hub of life at Jakes, next to restaurant upset under an enormous tree lit with lanterns. Good food and service, our sea view room was a little small but had a wonderful large and private balcony overhanging the rocks and the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seth from Chicago suburbs, IL

Quiet and serene cabins in beautiful location

Posted Apr 5, 2014
We really loved Jakes. The staff makes you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. We took yoga classes right next to the ocean. Both restaurants (the hotel's and Jack Spratt's) were wonderful. The hotel is closely connected to the community and we really felt like we got some insight into Jamaican life and culture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magical place!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
I have been to Jake's twice now and both times were amazing. The staff are wonderful and really make this place special. Everyone is happy to help and make your visit a wonderful experience. I got treated like I counted each and every time. Thank you so much for making my stay so special!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dornette from New England, USA

Unique Spot

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Room (Seapuss3) was amazing - opened up over the rocks & crashing waves, friendly people, relaxed vibe, outdoor shower (!!)Amazing yoga deck.
Cons: Affiiated restaurant, Jack Spratts was a big disappointment.
Location: Not a lot to do. Excursions are pricy for what you get. Nice excursion to YS Falls though Lovely). Safe to walk the area - friendly people.
We were looking for a spot off the beaten path & found our way to Jakes. It is truly a unique spot. Not a beach resort (although lovely beaches are a short walk away), nor one of the cookie-cutter AI resorts, Jakes has wonderful service, amazing friendly staff, and a unique property on Jamaica's South Coast. This place is not for everyone, but it suited our mood for this vacation to a "T". Easy to meet & casually get to know other people & locals; authentic, organic local food; and unspoiled environs. The unfailing response when we said it was our 1st time to Jamaica was "You have found the REAL Jamaica" and "Shhhh! Don't tell anyone else about this place." Unfortunately, it is a LONG drive to Jakes, over terrible roads. Personally, we enjoyed seeing a bit of the country on the way there, but do not underestimate the long, bumpy, slightly nauseating drive to & from the airport. I guess this keeps the South Coast the way it is though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dornette from New England, USA

Unique Spot

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Room (Seapuss3) was amazing - opened up over the rocks & crashing waves, friendly people, relaxed vibe, outdoor shower (!!)Amazing yoga deck.
Cons: Affiiated restaurant, Jack Spratts was a big disappointment.
Location: Not a lot to do. Excursions are pricy for what you get. Nice excursion to YS Falls though Lovely). Safe to walk the area - friendly people.
We were looking for a spot off the beaten path & found our way to Jakes. It is truly a unique spot. Not a beach resort (although lovely beaches are a short walk away), nor one of the cookie-cutter AI resorts, Jakes has wonderful service, amazing friendly staff, and a unique property on Jamaica's South Coast. This place is not for everyone, but it suited our mood for this vacation to a "T". Easy to meet & casually get to know other people & locals; authentic, organic local food; and unspoiled environs. The unfailing response when we said it was our 1st time to Jamaica was "You have found the REAL Jamaica" and "Shhhh! Don't tell anyone else about this place." Unfortunately, it is a LONG drive to Jakes, over terrible roads. Personally, we enjoyed seeing a bit of the country on the way there, but do not underestimate the long, bumpy, slightly nauseating drive to & from the airport. I guess this keeps the South Coast the way it is though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Traveler from Ohio

Beautiful, friendly, fun hotel & spa

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were charmed by everyone at Jake's. Food was delicious, service was great, saltwater pool more than made up for the rocky shore it sits on. Great bar & restaurant (Jack Spratz) next door had entertainment several nights that was Jamaican flavored. The neighborhood was friendly, with lots of little places to get very Jamaican food at wonderful prices. Treasure Beach is in a rural, unspoiled part of the country. The 2+ hour ride was a great way to see the whole country before we settled into Jake's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Birgit from Somerset

Victim of their own hype?

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Location, standard of accommodation, attention to detail in the huts, hand-written welcome note on pillow - nice touches
Cons: Noisy concert until the early hours, not all facilities available (dining area) but price charged didn't reflect that
Location: Treasure Beach is a great place, go to Pelican Bar out in the sea, swim, snorkel, relax
This was the most anticipated stay of our 3 weeks in JAM, due to the raving reviews for Jake's. It left a slightly strange taste afterwards. Undoubtedly it is set in the most beautiful grounds, the view from our hut was priceless! The huts are quirky and individual - no complaints there. But our shower flooded the bathroom each time, the dining area was shut due to a function (admittedly they organised dinner deals nearby) and the room price of $245 for a one-night-extension somewhat out of proportion. The biggest beef we had was with the reggae concert they co-organised next door. Instead of the tranquillity promised we had a thumping bass and over-amped noise until the small hours - we'd have gone to Margaritaville if we wanted that! But all that can't detract from the great location and nice accommodation - you just got the feeling they were a little too much in love with their own PR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pindu from Germany

Very beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Jakes is a very beautiful hotel with a great service. The location is stunning. We stayed in the Mussels house and really enjoyed it. The only thing which we couldn't understand was the late check out policy of the hotel. We need the house until 4pm. We asked the evening before and it was ok for them if the room doesn't get booked overnight. Next morning they told, for four hours staying in the room it would cost a entire day fare. We find it too much and spend the time at the pool and enjoyed the food at the restaurant. So never mind. Used the services of Captain Dennis (recommended by the hotel) for a fishing trip. It was great being out on the sea, saw a lot of dolphins and Captain Dennis is really nice and gave helpful tipps for excursions. We are definetly going back to the Jakes!