Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC Canada

Nice setting Very relaxing.

Posted May 17, 2015
The surroundings of the complex is very beautiful. You felt very relaxed and the rooms were all traditional Mexican style. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We will definitely return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Fantastic true Mexican experience

Posted Apr 19, 2015
We didn't want to do the usual "all inclusive resort stay" and Casa Virgilios proved to be the right choice. Breakfast was great, every day different and it filled us for almost all day :-) The room was specious, decorated in traditional mexican decor as the whole house. In real it looks much, much nicer than on pictures. the pool is big and surrounding garden beautiful with plenty of seating and bbqs. The house is in safe area. We were using local buses to get us around Nuevo Vallarta (5-10 pessos) and also to Sayulita (20 pessos), Punta de Mita (15 pessos), Puerto Vallarta. Local beach with only one public access is about 10 minutes walk. Overall we were very happy with the place. It is great for independent travelers who want to travel around and not to stay in one of the concrete monsters with thousands of drunk people. My only suggestion for the owner would be to do the breakfast a little earlier. It starts at 9am with coffee and fruits but the actual food doesn't come till about 9:15 am. Which is fine if you are planning to stay in the area, but late if you plan to head somewhere further out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
nice homey hacienda style hotel with lovely pool and yard with beautiful flowers everywhere., walking distance to beach and nice quiet neighbourhood, owner always accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

REAL Mexico Experience

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness location friendliness and laid back approach
Cons: NO
Location: Close to Beach, Restaurants and local vibe
Wonderful time in a great location at a fantastic price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Very nice room for a short stay.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location, in residential area. Only 15 minute walk to public beach. Beautiful area.
Very comfortable King size bed. Fridge and microwave, 15 minute walk to public beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Silton, Saskatchewan

Just like home away from home, only nicer!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
An amazing place to enjoy as your base for exploring the area and so close to the beach, transportation options and an amazing choice of restaurants. The pictures on the web site don't do it justice at all - it's even nicer! The pool is sparkling clean, the breakfasts are great and the the staff are wonderful. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Evergreen, Colorado

Feels like home

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of staff and the large rooms. The breakfast is homemade and delicious.
Location: Near shopping and food but in a residential neighborhood. Very quiet and easy to find.
This is my second stay here. I love the owner and his laid back welcoming attitude. The rooms are huge and have a fridge and microwave. The showers have plenty of room and the location cannot be beat. Walking distance of some great restaurants. We can't wait to return again next year to our home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peachland BC

a lovely relaxing interlude

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: garden - pool - staff- room other guests manager who set a tone of being guest centred and who didn't sweat the small stuff
Cons: more bacon
Location: Nuevea Vallerta isn't your typical beach community - it is upscale and doesn't feature rows of souvenir shops selling triniketry and kitchey baubles.
we checked into this facility and stayed two nights after having read the reviews on Expedia. The reviews were accurate. The place is beautifully designed, very well maintained and offers above average accommodation at very reasonable prices. The garden area is beautiful and the pool was much appreciated. Staff were very gracious and the chap in charge was great. They did everything to make guests comfortable and welcomed. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and the breakfast constituted a variety of fresh fruit and cooked egg and other dishes that were very tasty. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and we would return to this B&B anytime. Other guests - a most pleasant combination of people - all seemed to feel the same way. A great stay - too short.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Prince

Relaxing and quiet.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The quiet, relaxed atmosphere and tropical surroundings.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Casa Virgilio is in a safe residential area, not far from restaurants and the ocean, a short taxi ride to shopping and bus stops to other attractions.
We stayed at this little piece of paradise for 26 days (most of February) and enjoyed every moment. The owner, Virgilio, was gracious and helpful with any request or question. Our room was spacious and bright, decorated with a Mexican flair. The bed was fairly firm but the pillows were dense and not suitable for me. I had to buy a better one at the Walmart. Satellite TV was newly installed in each room during our stay. Breakfast in the morning was very substantial, different every day, with eggs, beans, and quesadillas, fresh fruit and different kinds of smoothies,usually along with sweet baked items. The staff are all very hard workers, never saw any of them taking breaks, and the whole place was very clean, top to bottom. The grounds are well maintained and the pool cleaned every day. Washing machine available and pool towels. Beach is about a 10 minute walk. There was a fair assortment of good restaurants within walking distance, also a city bus that could take you to as far as the PV hotel zone with connections to the Malecon. An Oxxo close by was great for snacks and beer. Taxis are plentiful, 70 pesos to Nuevo Walmart, 40 pesos to Paradise Village. We will certainly be back here next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas Texas

Casa Virgilios is wonderful.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: It was all excelant
Location: Three blocks to beach and tennis courts. We were in walking distance to everything. Lovely neighborhood
Convenient, clean, beautiful grounds and pool, helpful and a great breakfast