Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Invited to never come again

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very bad food, bad customer service, bad music on the disco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington/California

Surf in- Surf out.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The zoo is a fun little stop on your way to a meal; the rooms are clean and comfortable; food is good by all inclusive standards. Awesome staff.
Location: I come to surf. Sayulita is a fun visit, too, but I prefer the surf in Punta Mita.
I love that the hotel is situated right at one of the area's best breaks for short boarding. That being said, the surf in the entirety of Punta Mita are probably better suited for long boarding, as they waves don't pack much punch. Nevertheless, this was my 4th stay here and the perfect wave-cation for a family, with fun to be had by all. The food is pretty good and there's always great variety coming out of the kitchen. The air conditioning is awesome in the rooms and the rooms are comfortable and clean. I look forward to another stay in the not too distant future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice place but not quite as advertised

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, lots of choice for food, beautiful pool and beach.
Cons: Expedia's description and photos next to the room types.
We really enjoyed our stay. Lots of choice for food and beautiful beach and pool. There is a sheltered beach area for kids to swim in safely, a kids club and very interesting botanical area and mini-zoo. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My only complaint is with regards to the description on Expedia. This was our honeymoon and we booked a Junior suite which showed a picture of a larger room, showed a large 2 person hydromassage bath in the bedroom. The text also says "opens up to a balcony, great for kicking back and taking in ocean views". We ended up in a smaller room than shown in the picture (still classified as a junior suite), the tub was in the bathroom, and much smaller than in the photo, and the balcony could only fit one small upright plastic chair (typical of most rooms I think), certainly no room to "kick back", barely enough room for 2 people to stand on, and the view was of the jungle, pointing away from any possibility of "ocean views". When we inquired at the front desk we were told that was all that was available and they could check about moving us if a room with a view became available on another day, but that the photo wasn't accurate for that room type. When we went back to check the next day there was no record of our request to move and nothing avail. Despite that we had a wonderful time and made the best of it; just a bit of a disappointment after having high expectations for a special trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The beautiful setting and the staff.
Cons: That the resort would offer air transportation to and from the airport.
Location: The resort is in Punta Mita, not Puerto Vallarta so you are not near the city, you are about 45 mins. away.
This resort was in a absolutely beautiful, the only thing that might be a negative to some would be that it is so far out that the resort does not offer airport transportation. This can be stressful trying to get a honest taxi driver to get you to and from the resort. That being said the staff at the resort was more than willing to help us get a fair taxi driver to the airport and even counted out our fare and told us not to pay more than that. If you like to get away from the city and tourist traps, this is the resort for you. My husband and I stayed on the resort for 8 days straight and never got bored. There is plenty to do and see and just plain relax. All the staff that we met from housekeeping, restaurant staff and waiters, bar tenders, security were so very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by net

Great people but a little run down.

Posted May 18, 2014
Overall a great experience but mostly due to the people I met and some of the staff. Rusbel was amazing! The hotel is a little old and the rooms were not overly clean. The adult pool had a great view but there is no swim up bar or service so you must go to the bar to be served. The main pool had some entertainment but we found that it was complete madness most days so stayed away. The ocean had great waves but it smelled a bit and not a normal ocean smell. Live music was great in the evenings Room tip: do not get a room near the main pool if you like to sleep in or have naps during the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Encinitas, CA

Stay away from their 'club membership'-prsentation

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: the beach
Cons: a certain time slot where the adult pool allows smaller kids, just because that pool is so much nicer
Location: Visit Puerta Vallarta, Buceria etc
Been at this hotel 4 times, but was very disappointed this time after sitting through a 90-minute presentation on their overpriced club membership packages. Not only do they seem like a complete scam, my brother was promised a $200 spa certificate for sitting through the same thing, which he had in writing on his appointment card. However after got his whole family with a 2-year old up early in the morning for the appointment he was then told they had 'run out of spa certificates'. Besides this being the most ridiculous excuse I ever heard when their spa employees have nothing to do for most of their day, it just goes to shows how these guys operate and what kind of other empty promises they will give you in writing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Calgary, AB, Canada

Overall a great experience

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, entertainment, layout, activities scheduled, access to the beach, the size of the beach and ability to use water equipment.
Cons: The beds and pillows and make sure there are enough towels for each member staying in the room.
Location: The secluded location was perfect. There was an abundance of things to to and plenty of transportation available to do those things and go on tours.
The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay that much more enjoyable. The resort itself was amazing. It was very clean all the time including the beach. The entertainment was fantastic. We actually have plans on returning to the resort with other family members.
3 out of 5
by joshua from michigan

Great hotel, staff was the problem

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Stayed at the royal side. Gilbert was a great host and told us of the best places on grounds. However the rest of the staff on that side showed racism and a rude side. The bartender would get mad for unreturned glasses (that's the waiters job) and would refuse to give another drink until we walked back to the poolside to get them and even threatened to charge us per glass if we did not. The food was small portions, the lobsters were the size of shrimps. The food staff ran to American guest while leaving Hispanic guest waiting or unserved. Grounds were well kept and rooms were clean. The regular side looked so much funner and the staff were so much nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great surf beach

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Facilities are great
Cons: Better a la carte
Location: Sayalita and bucerias
Giovanni in hemmingways bar , and Lara the security guard are fantastic hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJIDE from Calgary, Canada

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The surf and employees.
Cons: Free Wifi only in lobby & it was slow. Tennis, ping pong, etc rentals only available before 6 pm but you will want to use later when it is not so hot.
Location: Grand Palladium near Punta Mita. Great surf right at resort and Punta Mita and Salylitus is nearby as well.
The beach and surf were great to have right at your back door. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Multiple pools and eateries to enjoy. Great view. Great amenities such as tennis, ping pong, archery, etc but equipment rental is only from 9 to 6 pm. If you want to partake earlier or later when it is not so hot you will need to bring your own equipment.