Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Vicente Ferrer from Playa del Carmen

Beautiful location, nice project, unfinished

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Poor F&B supplies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Denver

A jewel

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Truly a beautiful, architecturally magnificent place. It was quiet when we were there, which will not last, as this place deserves far more traffic. The setting is fabulous, the place is gorgeous, the facilities are excellent, staff was great, and we loved it. It is away from the hustle of Puerto Vallarta, so it may not appeal to the action crowd. For us it was peaceful, and 10 minutes from the town of Punta de Mita where you can go for dinner and meet other tourists. It is very aptly named. It has the largest set of pools I have ever seen. Adjoining golf course is great, and reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from New York City

Sun sand water peace

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The design and maintenance of the hotel/condos and grounds is top notch. Rooms all face toward the Pacific with the pools and gardens in the foreground. The beach is idyllic with palms, soft sand, and stones. Breakfast, juices, and tropical drinks are highlights. The negatives result from inexperience and not acting as a full hotel- their "store" has nothing useful- sunblock etc in stock, the music in the lobby and grounds was often hokey (Celtic relaxation music one day, romantic 80s songs another), and the dinner menu had a handful of undesirable choices all trying to be generic American. Assuming transportation elsewhere to dinner, this place is heavenly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by P from Minnesota

La Tranquila is tranquil & romantic for couples!

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Relaxing and romantic atmosphere, great pools and beach. Service and food were excellent. Rooms very comfortable.
Cons: The spa has not been built yet, should designate an area or room for a temporary spa. Need to give info about the area restaurants & activities.
Location: Must take $15 taxi or car to nearby cities for other dining options (ie. Punta Mita). Hotel did not have a list of activities in the area.
My husband and I decided to go to Puerto Vallarta and Punta Mita for 2 weeks and stay at 3 different resorts. La Tranquila was by far the most relaxing and romantic. After staying at some very nice resorts that catered to families (including the high-end St. Regis) we were pleasantly surprised by La Tranqila. The resort is beautiful with the best infinity pool ever. The beach is unbelievable and has soft sand with gold flecks that is flat to make it easy for walking. There is always a wonderful breeze by the pool or on the beach. We ate at the resort for several meals and all the food was fabulous. Our service was great from "Sergio", "Miguel" and "Chen", who went out there way for special requests. Rooms are very cool modern, comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem!

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Pools, beach, service, rooms, view.
Cons: The prices for drinks are outrageous! $2.50 for a bottle of water from Costco and $8 for a Modella beer? Atleast give free water all the time!
Location: Punta Mita is quaint and Sayulita is a great town too.
This is one of the nicest, quietest hotels we have ever stayed in, and we travel a lot. It's serene and peaceful so party people need not stay. The pools and beaches are huge and deserted. You feel like you are the only ones there, and most likely are! We got a great deal through Expedia which we will probably never get that rate again so can't afford their normal prices but wow, what a place!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort still under construction

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great place to relax away from the action.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by justatraveler from US

Under Construction

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place has amazing rooms and is the perfect place to stay if you just want to lay around. ON the other hand, the beach is about .5 mile from the rooms, there is only one place to eat during the day, and no real bar. There are two wings under construction and only one done. There is nothing walkable closeby- but a 10$ cab ride to Punta de Mita. I don't really recommend this place=- unless u are looking for some very sober alone time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fernando

AMAZING HOTEL!

Posted Nov 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is brand new and definitely one of the best options in Punta Mita... It's just as good as the Four Seasons or the St. Regis, and it's way more affordable... We had an amazing time, the pool is great, the staff is great and the beach is awesome! Thank you La Tranquila for an amazing time! We will definitely be coming back and recommend this hotel to anyone!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Breath taking

Posted May 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful, Quiet, Beachfront Delight

Posted Aug 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort Spa & Beach Club, Punt de Mita If you want a new, nice, quiet, gorgeous and relaxing place to stay, then I highly suggest this resort. The resort Butler Concierge, Richard, was professional, attentive, helpful, genuine, friendly and outstanding in the service he provided us prior to and during our stay at La Tranquila, Punta de Mita. He arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport, which was done in style. We were offered a cold wet towel and bottled water and escorted past the time share and transportation vendors into a clean, new accommodating car. The 45 minute scenic drive to the resort was comfortable and smooth. The private property of the resort was secured within gates and guarded with staff. Construction of the remaining two towers continues as the resort is open for business, but the noise is very low and overpowered by the ocean and property piped pleasant music and did not impact the enjoyment of our stay. This impressive resort is luxurious, clean, extremely modern upon entering the open-air as we entered the well designed lobby. Already, we are being addressed by names and check in was easy and fast. The resort is currently under priced in my opinion– almost too good to be true. The resort overall and our room could be rated 5 stars. Our suite was on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking the many swimming pools and ocean, awesome view of the well kept gardens too. There is a plunge pool on the balcony which was quite refreshing after hanging out on the beach all day. I enjoyed the Jacuzzi jet powered bath tub and 7 head shower head shower stall. The maids kept our suite impeccably clean and tidy. Occupancy is low as they haven’t been open even one year yet and have only recently hooked up with travel sites . You almost feel as if you have the whole place to yourself. Staff was very accommodating and at our beckoned call. The only drawback to this beautiful place is the fact that because it is still under constructions it still faces growing pains. Our door/housekeeping bell kept going out ringing coninuously and the patio doors wouldn’t lock but Moses was there immediately to repair these minor flukes. The fridge overheated and there were no in-room mini-bar items; no movies in-room; and the restaurant is limited in selections – especially Mexican food selections. However, response time was very fast for anything we asked for including extra towels, soaps, room service, ice, etc. We had an entire pool to ourselves and the many pools are not small by any means. One could swim laps or simply relax on the negative edge overlooking the ocean. The beach directly in front of the resort is lined with many intimate jet air-temperature Jacuzzis, each housing tiled lounged chairs where you can hang out for the day. Another option is to set up under the palappas or umbrellas where staff brings you snacks and drinks. This resort is so remote, we never saw one beach vendor anywhere. You can take a nice walk in both directions along the beach and the ocean is swimmable at any point, no rocks to contend with as is the case in Puerto Vallarta. My husband enjoyed his workout in the gym which has about 6 machines and free weights, plenty of bottled water and towels. There is also a plunge pool just outside the gym room for a refreshing post-workout dip. We’ve traveled the world and must say that this resort is, even while construction is going on, one of the most beautiful resorts we’ve stayed at, including a long list of Four Seasons and Ritzs. The setting is near an estuary, where the river meets the sea and a golf course. We were told there will also be tennis courts on the property which we look forward to, being avid tennis players. We will be staying here again. The food is the only thing preventing me from giving this resort the full 5 Excellent Rating. There are two restaurants on the property, however, only one is open at a time. Breakfast and lunch are served at the Snack Bar near the pool/beach area and dinner is served in the resort’s lobby after 6pm, when the staff moves the kitchen. They have limited menus so you may want take a taxi to Sayulita or Punta de Mita for real Mexican food. We were hoping for enchiladas, burritos, refrijoles, etc. but instead the flare at the resort was an attempt at what we thought was their interpretation of American food. One night our steak was way overdone and dried out when requesting medium rare, and on another occasion our burger was as raw as could be and unpalatable when requesting the same. They offered to comp us and bring something else and were so apologetic and meant well. Gustavo, the chief food service guy, was helpful and even went out of his way to acquire Lychee’s, a local fruit in season, at our request. Julio, our server, was very professional and pleasant at all times. There was only one unusual incidence where a server asked kindly that we pay his tip in cash since their payroll wouldn’t reflect it for entire week. We didn’t carry any cash on us at the resort until his request. Overall, the service was exceptional, the grounds, the beach, the pool exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning for another stay.