Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aguascalientes, Mexico.

Temporada alta no recomendable

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Muy rica la comida, pero cuando se llenó el hotel bajo la calidad del servicio, higiene, comida y bebidas. Excelente servicio de los meseros, las camareras y el equipo de animación. De cualquier forma muy recomendable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 4, 2015
We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Lots of food, plenty of drinks, abundant activities in a beautiful setting. The restaurants were very nice and took very special care of us. Every single staff member is genuinely friendly and always willing to help with anything. The outdoor Mexican fiesta was over the top and unbelievably well organized. Everyone there works very hard to make your stay and the whole atmosphere just wonderful. It's the second time I've been there, first with my family then with my girlfriends and I would go again in a heart beat.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Illinois

Marival Resorts-3rd time there within 8 yrs

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Our family had an ocean front suite on the beach that was roomy & clean but desperately needs an upgrade. The staff is super friendly & helpful. The food service was VERY slow in the nicer restaurants but tasty. We reluctantly agreed to attend a "vacation club preview" of which they try to sell you on but it also educated us on changes., ie gold members have priority access to certain areas for dining, staying on the beach, top shelf liquor, etc. Although it's a decent place to vacation we will not be returning. We're not interested in staying @ a resort where the division of "common folk" is evident even though we paid alot of money to stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

It's a beautiful hotel but...

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful setting, very friendly staff people.
Cons: Better communication among staff members and those who answer the phone. Improved check-in. Stronger Wi-Fi. Small business center to print docs.
It was a beautiful, well-maintained, and clean hotel. Our 3 bedroom suite was lovely and right on the beach. However, the hotel itself is poorly run and inefficient. We had a terrible check-in process that became very complicated regarding what funds they would accept for payment. I had even called the hotel prior to our arrival to clarify whether they would accept US Dollars on credit vs debit and whether we could make any of the payment in US cash dollars. We were assured no problems and then it was a mess to check in. They would not accept any cash payments and wanted to convert everything to pesos on my AMEX card. When I told the front desk that I had spoken with them to clarify they denied and asked who I had spoken to. I showed them the phone number and they said that wasn't their telephone number although it obviously was. In the middle of all this they had one of their tour representatives enter the picture to try to get us to go to a welcome breakfast that we realized was a time-share sales pitch. It was not a great way to start out the vacation. Over the course of the next seven days we ran into several smaller "communication problems" where one of their staff members would tell us one thing and then when we got to where we were going the previously provided information was untrue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Desorden en la cena. Esperando en la fila para cenar. El personal no capaz de atender la gente, faltan cubiertas servietas en la mesa. Mesas sucias etc. No recomendable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Good value hotel, great staff, disappointing food

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The pools are great. Many pools...never over crowded The beach is great The hotel staff is exceptional!!! The rooms were clean and comfortable
Cons: This would really be a great hotel if they would remove some of the ridiculous rules and improve the buffet quality.
Location: We went into downtown Puerto Vallarta a number of times. It has fantastic food and great local markets. The zip line tours were great. Scuba!!!
We traveled to Marival as part of our first trip to Mexico. We have been to many other all inclusive hotels and have traveled quite extensively over the years. To summarize our trip, the hotel and facilities are decent (not fantastic), the hotel staff is fantastic, the food is sub-par. First the annoying things about our experience. The check-in process is a bit annoying as it takes too long and you are immediately pressured to attend the time-share sales presentation. There are lots of rules that were frustrating - Don't lose your bracelet or we will charge you - Don't lose your towel card or we will charge you - You can't sit in those loungers on the beach...they are for gold members only - You can't drink at that bar...it is for gold members only - We couldn't manage to get reservations to any of the sit down restaurants. You can only book 24 hours in advance, but when we tried to book 24 hours in advance, we were told that there were no reservations available. - You can play pool or ping pong (when it rains), but only for 30 minutes and then they kick you out. - The most annoying thing was the food in the buffet. We managed through it for the first 2 days and then ended up going out for dinner all of the other nights. We couldn't get into the sit down all inclusive restaurants, and simply couldn't stand to eat the buffet food for 3 meals. It was very sub par in my opinion. - We couldn't use the water sports most of the days because of "blue flags"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, MN

Great location with beautiful beaches.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Our trip was fabulous! The staff is very accommodating and helpful. Beautiful grounds and beaches. The part of the complex we were in is very dated and needs a facelift. Our original room had old paint splattered on the mirrors and overlooked a roof. We asked to have our two rooms moved. Once moved it was better, but still dated and this time over the Martini bar which was noisy at night. Our second room had to remain where it was as the room they were moving us to already had someone in it which my kids walked in on. But you don't spend much time in your rooms so we went with what we had. Please note that I tried to print our boarding passes going back home and was unable too. My first experience with the concierge to get help doing this indicated that he did not speak English. When I went back the next day he could speak fluent English. They apparently have a firewall or something that blocks your access to the internet which the concierge said he got unblocked for a short period of time, but I still did not have access to the necessary links and gave up. We did the zip line with Canopy Tours and the staff and experience was absolutely thrilling. In addition, we did a personal tour of Puerto Vallarta's historic sites, shopping areas and beautiful homes in the hills. A wonderful experience and highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Wonderful winter getaway experience

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Service, variety of restaurants, "quiet" adults-only pool in addition to family areas, cleanliness.
Cons: Initiate those who don't know about all-inclusives to how it works; staff will help, but only if you ask.
Location: We went to Puerto Vallarta, a 30 minute bus ride or 20 minute cab ride away. To the north, we went to San Pancho, a beautiful little seaside village.
My wife and I stayed here from 2/27/15 to 3/6/15. It was her first time to Mexico, and my fifth. This hotel is easily the best of any I have stayed in. With the exception of the time-share pitch, we pretty much had to work hard to find any flaws. Even the time-share guy, Miguel, turned out to be a really, really nice young man, a Mexican originally born in the Midwest United States who engaged my wife in talking about his life and why he chose to move to Mexico. We turned them down for the time-share presentation, but they make it hard to do, attempting to set the appointment as they check you in to the hotel. Other than that, we found the hotel to be wonderful. The restaurants were good, especially the La Bamba, which has become one of those Brazilian steak house restaurants where you can eat all you want. They give you a card that is green on one side and red on the other. As long as the green side is up, they keep stopping by your table with offerings of steak, sausage and other meats. One thing that would help would be if they would explain which parts of the resort are open to non-time-share visitors. It seemed as though a couple of beach areas and one bar were for "club members only," which we didn't understand; however, it wasn't very important, as we never asked anyone. To sum it all up, if you want to be pampered, not lift a finger to do anything, eat and drink all you want and lay by a pool or by the beach, this is your place.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mesquite,NV

Not was I was expecting

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: HOTEL NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT PEOPLE SAVE UP TO GO ON A VACATION.
Location: Stayed at hotel needed to get taxi to go anywhere,ex to airport 12.00
Starting at check in, check in was three o clock. While waiting ,in a holding area, we were approached by time share salespeople. At 5 we went to our room to find out that it was outside the kids pool on the first floor. We changed rooms no king bed,shower flooded, fan in bathroom did not work. Bought phone card neither of the phones in this whole complex did not work ,it would be a couple of days they said to have it fixed,I got my money back only to use my room phone one minute for 4 dollars not being able to hear who I was calling. They came to replace the phone. Food was nothing to remember.but you could drink your dinner, if you drink. Beach toys were limited because of water conditions,waves,manta rays. Forget any snorkling. Pictures are deceiving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County

No complaints, Excellent Food

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Food, amenities and staff
Cons: Instead of trying to sell a timeshare when we arrived I would have liked more information of things to do. Also you need reservations for dinners.
Location: On the last day we learnt that there was a free shuttle that goes up and down the main street, why didn't we know about that on the first day?
Overall I would say that the was a great hotel, the staff was very attentive and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food from the restaurants where you order from a menu, it was excellent. The buffet food was typical buffet food, nothing to write home about.