Ratings based on 1,027 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Nice, but not our favorite

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Nice view of the ocean; nice beach. Waves were great for boogie boarding. Room was comfortable for the most part.
Cons: More light in bathroom over the tub. Have more activities, particularly for tweens/teens and keep to the posted schedule. Replenish the food.
Location: Really nice beach for boogie boarding. We took a city tour that included a tequila tasting - nice tour.
For the most part, this resort was fine. The views are great, we were upgraded from a partial ocean to full ocean view, and really can't complain too much. Unfortunately, we were comparing this to our stay at an all inclusive in Cancun and it just didn't compare. While the staff was helpful enough, they certainly did not go the extra step or give the type attention we had experienced at Cancun's Moon Palace. Also, it was disappointing for our 16 year-old son as they really didn't have as many activities as they advertised. Often they didn't stick to the schedule posted and skipped activities. And, since there were not too many kids his age, he was getting bored at times. The rooms were serviced well for the most part but it did smell a bit moldy in bathroom. Having been to other humid locations that didn't have this, I was disappointed with that. Also, they really should put some lighting above the showers/tubs - it is quite dark in that part of the bathroom. Also, keep in mind that since this hotel is farther north, if you take any tours and have to pick up people at other hotels, you will be on the van for quite a while just picking up and dropping off others. Being vegetarian we are always at a disadvantage with food. However, they did have many choices. Although after a few days we were tired of the basically the same menu day to day (but I think that's to be expected at any all-inclusive resort). Also, they need to replenish the food more and label everything properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
I just left the Riu Palace after a 6 night stay May 24-30. I should preface my review by mentioning that this is my first trip to a Riu resort as we typically stay at the adults only Excellence in Playa Mujeres. I've been fairly spoiled going to this resort and it's pretty difficult for anywhere to live up to it. Service: The service was pretty good overall at the resort. Flor took care of us daily from the pool and did a pretty good job getting our drinks in a timely manner. Activities: I actually did enjoy the variety of activities by the pool from the crazy games, to pool volleyball, to water polo. The activity staff were friendly and engaging. Although I did enjoy the poolside music, it tended to be a little loud at times and played the same repetitive music. Rooms: Rooms were pretty decent, nowhere near the Excellence rooms as the shower was pretty small and no privacy with the toilet. You couldn't do your business when your spouse was getting ready. We were upgraded to 8027 after a few days and it was a nice view. The beds weren't bad. Would have been nice to have some sort of juice and or snacks in the rooms as there was pop, water, and beer in the mini fridge. Again not a huge deal but after being at the Excellence you get kind of spoiled with these amenities. Food: This was the biggest downfall of this resort. There were only 4 restaurants where you didn't have to eat at the trough (i.e. the buffet). You had to have reservations at all of them and could only rese
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: We loved the elegant charm, the varied lounges, the pool only steps from the beach and surf.
Cons: We were disappointed in the spa facilities- the jacuzzi's were lukewarm, both the steam rooms were out of service, and the sauna wasn't preheated.
Location: A short walk down the beach to the right will take you to the flea market in Bucerias, past massage tents offering 20.00 1 hour massage. Worth it!
The property was beautiful and constantly maintained and cleaned. The many a la cart restaurants were hit and miss, but still worth the experience. The staff were all helpful, unobtrusive, and maintained a high level of professional courtesy and comportment. The drinks were fantastic and the bartenders quick to remember exactly how you like it and what brand alcohol you're drinking. Our room had a fantastic view of the sunset, courtyard, and beach. The activities at the pool area had a retirement home feel, but many guests seemed to enjoy the diversion. This isn't an adults only facility, however there were very few children. I thought it odd that you had to make a reservation in hour increments to use the steam room and sauna. It was disappointing that we were not told at the time the steam rooms were out of order and the sauna wasn't preheated for your reservation time. However, over all it was a very relaxing vacation. The beach sand was soft and fine, the surf warm even at night, and the spigots to rinse your feet pumped warm water. A nice touch. Even the pool was bathwater warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Staff was great!

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, pool,
Cons: Food at the specialty restaurants, stronger drinks, pool closing time
Location: Sea safari with Vallarta Adventures was awesome! Massages down the beach were nice and cheap.
The second we got to the Riu we were greeted with a drink. The alcoholic drinks were fairly weak but it wasn't a big deal because you could just ask for a double or drink more! We were still served as quick and good as when we didnt tip. Tips are were not manditory. Eddy and Mario were by far our favorite employees at the hotel they were so much fun! The rooms were nice and big but the bedding wasn't that comfortable. The pool was amazing. I agree with the other reviews that if you want a good seat you need to be there early. We would get to the pool around 10-11am each day and always could find one but had to look hard. The poolside service was awesome! We wish the pool was open later than 8 but it was nice that there was always a show in the theater. Make sure to check out the Michael Jackson show! It was great! Don't waste your time at one of the specialty restaurants. We went to La Toscana one night and it was not good at all. We went to the buffet right after. If you walk about a mile down the beach to the right there was a small tent with women giving massages. We got two, one hour massages for $40 including a tip! Overall we reccommend this hotel and will definetely be staying here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Excellent hotel! Great pools and beach area. Clean

Posted May 26, 2015
The staff was extremely helpful, pleasant, and courteous. Grounds were beautiful! Views were spectacular. Buffets were plentiful, restaurants were ok. We would definitely go back again. Rooms were very clean, staff took care of each request. Very carefree and relaxing vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester NH

Excellent

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Very organize and very clean.
Cons: I cannot think of anything to improve.
Location: We did go into town and had a great time!
The stay was great and the upgrade was great. Better view of the hotel grounds when upgraded. Your staff waiter Carlos was great and lots of fun. Excellent worker!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
The staff is very attentive, great overall experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Oregon

vacation

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: the staff- the pool- the beach-
Cons: the food is really good for all inclusive buffet. I have definitely had worse.
Location: Location and beach were great. We used Vallarta Adventures for activities. I always use them when in Mexico. You cant go wrong with this company.
First time at the Riu Palace and we will be back!! Excellent staff and very helpful concier
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Severn, MD

Riu down the beach.

Posted May 18, 2015
Rui Palace is definitely where you go to rest and relax. The beach is clean and the water is warm. The pool is great with its swim up bar. The only down side is if you wish to be close to other properties. This Riu is the last one down the street - not within walking distance to shops. The good news is the cabs are quick and inexpensive. Take your Mexican pecos with you on this trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

6 Days Away

Posted May 17, 2015
Great time, great place! The staff was outstanding! Some vanity things with the hotel and grounds could use some updating, but that's nit-picking. Outstanding value overall!!