Ratings based on 1,007 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, Oregon

vacation

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: the staff- the pool- the beach-
Cons: the food is really good for all inclusive buffet. I have definitely had worse.
Location: Location and beach were great. We used Vallarta Adventures for activities. I always use them when in Mexico. You cant go wrong with this company.
First time at the Riu Palace and we will be back!! Excellent staff and very helpful concier
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Severn, MD

Riu down the beach.

Posted May 18, 2015
Rui Palace is definitely where you go to rest and relax. The beach is clean and the water is warm. The pool is great with its swim up bar. The only down side is if you wish to be close to other properties. This Riu is the last one down the street - not within walking distance to shops. The good news is the cabs are quick and inexpensive. Take your Mexican pecos with you on this trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

6 Days Away

Posted May 17, 2015
Great time, great place! The staff was outstanding! Some vanity things with the hotel and grounds could use some updating, but that's nit-picking. Outstanding value overall!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service, terrible food, nice pool

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The large pool was nice
Service: Below expectations with waiters and bar tenders only helping you when show dollars before you order. Otherwise they don't even come to you. Food: The worst I have ever had in my travels. Quality of ingredients is very poor. Example: they advertise steak and lobster, but they were VERY crappy steaks, and the lobster risotto is made with shrimps instead of lobster -- they put a piece of lobster on top, which by the way was like rubber. It was a big disappointment for us. Breakfast was the only good thing. Hotel staff: They are either rude, or dismissive, or not trained at all, example: upon check-in, the lady was new and she did not even know where the rooms were located in order to direct us to the correct elevator. Hotel facilities: The pool was very nice, but the pool bar is always crowded and you need patience and lots of dollars to get the bar tender attention on the lower level. We usually leave the pool and go to the bar outside the water to be able to get service, which was pretty good there. They also should have restrooms near the pool, we had to go to the spa to go to the restrooms, not very convenient. Also the restaurants dont have restrooms inside and they direct us back to the lobby. Room comfort: We had a suite, ocean view, high floor. Room was nice and big and the view was awesome, however the bed was extremely uncomfortable, the pillows were hard like a rock, not sure why. The bed linens were rough like sand paper. I would not go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pool atmosphere!!!

Posted May 9, 2015
Meet new people at the hotel, enjoy drinks and a great atmosphere. The breakfast is a decent buffet option and the chorizo tacos are yummy. Be sure to checkout the menu options at the pool daily!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
This all inclusive was just ok. I travelled with my two small daughters and the activities for kids were limited. Food was average, at best. Beach was very nice, and the pool was as well. Staff was very friendly. Overall I wouldn't come back, but it was decent.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

OK resort, wouldn't come back

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The fact that it's "all inclusive" is nice and convenient.
Cons: More friendly staff and better spa services to start.
Location: 25 minute cab drive from downtown PV and airport. Not really convenient, nothing much nearby. Location isn't amazing but it's not horrible.
I wish I wasn't restricted to a word count. To be very succinct, this resort was okay. Kind of disappointing actually. I've stayed at a Riu resort before (in Cabo) so I more or less knew what to expect but this one was no bueno. The staff was extremely unfriendly and quite defensive (for example, when I asked the person who checked us in if they received my request at the time of booking that I wanted adjoining rooms. She was quick to say they can't accommodate every request. I get that, but why the attitude?). The rooms were dated (as I expected, given my experience at the other Riu) and the food was mediocre (also as expected). However, the resort facilities, to my surprise, were very limited. I was imagining a much bigger resort with a much larger stretch of private beach but that was not the case. Also, the spa - extremely disappointing. When we tried to book appointments for us 5 girls, we were told they only had 2 masseuses working that day. For an entire resort?! You have 2 masseuses? I would think for a premium resort (as they so market themselves as) that they would offer excellent spa services. When that didn't work out, we tried to use the jacuzzi (but nope, that was booked too. Apparently you need reservations to sit in a hot tub with jets. Okay...) All in all, I wouldn't return. I wouldn't recommend you to book here either. Save your money (for what you think you may be paying a "premium" for) and book elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mount Vernon, WA

Quiet resort and a nice place to relax.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The average age of guests was 45-50. There were very few children. The environment was quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Will definitely stay here again.
Cons: Another bathroom in the vicinity of the beach/pool would be ideal. Safety handrails should be considered. A clock in the room would be helpful.
Location: We enjoy taking the city bus into Puerto Vallarta (cheaper than a taxi). Advise walking up the beach to Bucerias to check out the flea market.
Overall, we were pleased with our experience; however, with just a few exceptions. There were no clocks in the rooms, no handrails around the pool and most stairwells, and there was only one bathroom to serve the pool area, beach and restaurants. It was a long walk from the beach to the nearest bathroom. Although it was posted that guests were not allowed to save poolside lounge chairs, we found ourselves in direct competition with those guests that didn't comply with this request. Some chairs with towels set on them sat unoccupied from early morning to mid-afternoon. On the positive, this was a beautiful resort, with well-manicured grounds. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Our room was clean and, unlike some reviews we read, our bed was very comfortable. The buffet choices were ample and the quality of the food excellent. We are a retired couple and were pleased to find many other couples our age staying at this resort and very few children. We most note an unpleasant encounter with the bellboy. When we arrived to our room, we were disappointed in it's location. He personally offered to upgrade our room for a fee of $60. We gave him $40. He did come through with his promise, 2 days later, and moved us from the 3rd floor to the 8th, but we were directly above our original location. Although we had a partial ocean view, we also had a view of the other hotel rooftop with the air conditioner units and the noise that went with that. We won't fall for that next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CLOVERDALE,CA.

Best Hotel EVER !!!!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING....
Cons: CAN'T THINK OF A THING.....
Location: LOTS OF THING TO DO....
WE LOVE THE RIU PALACE, WOULD GO THERE AGAIN & AGAIN.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Camby, IN

Nice place to visit!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Best hotel in Vallarta!
Cons: Buffet food and COFFEE...they served terrible coffee across the entire resort
Location: spend time in Bucerias ($5 cab ride each way) instead of Puerto Vallarta ($25 cab ride each way). Eat at Mi Lola! Wonderful food awesome atmosphere
Hotel staff: Very nice, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly Room: Clean, housekeeping attentive, turndown service inconsistent but not a big deal, adjoining suites are awesome when traveling with friends/family but you have to ask for them. They were able to move us the second day of our stay when we asked for a better view of the ocean (to see over the palm trees in the middle of the hotel, you need to be on at least the 4th floor) Pool: not an overwhelming smell of chlorine; needs some work but maintenance was working on the pool every night replacing tiles and performing maintenance to keep it operational so can't complain Beach: plenty of beach space with available chairs; too bad you have to pay for an umbrella but it wasn't expensive just a nuisance; beach area clean; peddlers get annoying but that's just Mexico and how they earn their living...'no' works with them Bar service: EXCELLENT. swim-up bartenders are fun and good at what they do. Thanks Maribel, Nelson and Raoul (hint: tip them well at the beginning of the week and they will provide you wonderful drinks and service the remaining stay) Food: buffet needs work...they have lots of choices so you can always find something to eat but nothing really tasty; steakhouse clearly the best but difficult to get reservations; Japanese very tasty Spa: great last minute service for my spouse who was having neck issues the day we left