Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Not For Everyone

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Hotel is older and small, the reviews where positive so I booked it. I upgraded and reserved a room with a balcony only to find it faced the parking lot, our building was under construction, the drilling was really loud. I complained and the manager gave us another room, the view was better but like the other room it had an unpleasant swamp odor. This really needs to be advertised as a family resort, the pool is all children, no adult area. To get a reservation to any of the restaurants you must go to the front desk at 7am. I walked past both of the restaurants that had no available reservation only to find many empty seats. Your only other option is the buffet, totally inedible. PS...no bottled water. I really tried to give this place a chance, it was not for me. I checked out the next day.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Hotel, Samba ESTANCIA poco placentera

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Los Jardines se notaban bien cuidados
Cons: Limpieza en el cuarto
La estancia en el hotel fue muy desagradable de manera principal por la habitacion, la sensacion de falta de limpieza fue inmediata , al llegar requerimos que hicieran limpieza en el cuarto y despues de 30 minutos llego una persona de no muy buena gana a limpiar el cuarto. Definitivamente no es un Hotel donde regresaria a vacacionar..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

OK hotel, great staff but we won't go back

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The staff is excellent! The grounds, beach, and pool are great
Cons: In rooms: Super Hard pillows, WIFI does not work in rooms, AC doesn't work great. The food is not good at all...and I'm not picky.
Location: The location is nice if you want to relax, but far away from activities. The cab fare for the trip was very expensive.
First of all, calling this a "4 star resort" is being verrrrry generous. This resort is a solid 3. 85% Hispanic guests, 10% Canadian, 5% American or other The hotel grounds and main areas are good. The beach is very nice, and although some other reviews complained about the pool, it was also very nice. The staff and servers truly are what make the hotel shine. They are beyond friendly and attentive. The rooms are outdated but clean and comfortable. There were some bugs on a few decks, but c'mon people...it's a tropical climate! I didn't see any bugs in our room or any common areas. It is obvious that the staff takes a lot of pride in their work. THAT BEING SAID....we would not return to this hotel. The buffet food is barely edible. We ended up eating out as much as we possibly could. I'm not picky...I'll eat most anything, but I had trouble with the food here. Puerta Vallerta is a foodie mecca, and the fruits and fish are so fresh. The food here was grandly inferior to anything we ate in all of Puerta Vallerta. The exception was the Italian restaurant which was nice. I ended up eating fruit and potatoes every morning because the buffet was difficult to stomach. The outdoor pool buffet was worse. The bar staff was great and the drinks are plentiful. There are not a lot of activities or things to do here. We visited some friends next door at the Riu Jalisco and watched a show. They had Zumba, fun kids activities, comedy shows IN ENGLISH, etc. Next time I would either pay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom colordao

laid back atmosphere at a small resort hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Very low key, Beach was absolutely the highlight and why I was there. Always easy to get a lounge chair umbrealla and a drink. Food was OK
Cons: WIFI is rooms is a joke, earlier kayak rentals, don't close a restaurant and if you do let guests know. More day day varity on buffet. pool side food
Location: Bucerias is well worth the trip and a highlight of my trip, it was just what I need for a quick trip from the hotel.
Enjoyed the stay, I was there to relax not do a lot of activities and I was successful. The service staff is very friendly, FD staff acted friendly but was not accommodating, no late check out, asked front desk where the Mexican a la carte' restaurant was, they told me but did not say it was closed which was disappointing. Upgraded to suite asked for 2 beds got to my room and there was one after calling FD and told I could not move that night we stayed put because it was the best location in place facing the ocean. FD could not recommend a "Mexican" restaurant outside of the hotel even though theirs was closed. Hotel was filled with Mexican families which in my eyes was great. If you do not get joy out of kids do not stay here. Room was fine a bit musty and the fold out couch was awful, we put it on the floor. Did not take in the shows at night. despite all this I did enjoy myself. the place is a bit run down a bit but it was clean for the most part.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver BC

Beach front hotel family oriented

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Buffet didnt have much variety, addition of too much sugar on their meals. Don't go there with teenagers, they will get bored. Only activities they manage for them, was the beach volley ball once a day. You feel stuck in the hotel, no stores or little village walkin distance. We have to take the taxi, bus was 45 min. Only bonus was the long flat beach (+ 15km). Ocean was shallow and warm too in March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Love everything about it! My window view, the pool and the easy access to the beach. Can't go wrong with the the bartenders especially Cirillo he was great. Had an awesome waiter by the name of Carlos... I will return again for sure. Food was delicious and all staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB, Canada

Nice swimmable beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Beach was really nice. The sand was nice and soft - the closer you get to Bucarias the coarser it got.
Cons: This is a very noisy hotel.Thicker, solid core doors with closers attached to them so they can't slam would go a long way in cutting down the noise.
Location: Turtle nesting sanctuary is just down the beach so if you are lucky you can release some turtles at sunset for 31 pesoes - cheap!
Stayed at the Samba from Feruary 22 to March 4th 2015. A good, reasonable, clean hotel. A very good deal for budget concious travellers - you will not be dissapointed. Easy walk to Bucarias via the road - the beach seemed longer and is tough on the feet the closer you get to Bucarias.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Great place very friendly

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We had an amazing holiday. Beautiful setting, amazing beach, with the most accommodating staff. Every employee bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. Amazing customer service.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Old rooms but great pool and beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: I really enjoyed the sports and activities put on by the staff as well as the efficiency, friendlyness of every staff member!
Cons: Food was average at the buffet, but too similar day and night. The Mexican menu requires more options! The ambiance of the rooms!
Location: Lots of dining options nearby; Ciao, Fajita Republic were excellent! Bucerias is a great town to walk around, and visit!
Location of this resort was exactly what we wanted and expected. Close to bucerias, long beach to walk in either direction, with nice sand and access to ocean. The resort is an older resort, and t is apparent is through the rooms and outdoor amenities. At first we were given a room with a balcony facing the staff parking lot/RIU hotel which disappointed us however the friendly and accommodating staff were able to move us the following day to a room with a balcony facing the pool and ocean which was great since we had a 2 week stay! The rooms simply caught us off guard as the walls are all completely bare, and the mirrors in both the room and bathroom are rusted and quite old. Lamp shades are quite rusted as well due to the moisture in the rooms. This also gives the rooms a musty smell if the doors aren't open. Besides the rooms, the outdoors is lanscaped and kept in great shape. Grass is beautiful and manicured daily. The bikes to rent are quite rusted and older, the shuffle board paint is peeling, simply needs a bit of TLC, however we still used them and everything was fine! By the pool washroom there was definitely an odour from the septic system that was constant. Around 9 pm every night by the show area, there was a 'burp' in the septic system where a terrible odour would arise as well. Didn't last too long but caught lots of peoples attention!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Very old!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
This is my first review ever! Samba was not what the pictures revealed. I walked into a room with very low ceilings (hit my hand a few times and I'm only 5'5). There were old looking vents in the room and what appeared to be mold around the vent. The sink had rust and the mini fridge was in the bathroom on the counter. Leaving anything in the room gave it a very limp/damp feel (passport, paperwork). The food was not as good as I hoped, although I did get full. There were tons of stews and it all had a Mexican feel to it. Oh yeah, the bed felt wet and smelled sour. The alcohol was being poured heavy yet I didn't even get a buzz. Not a single buzz in 4 days drinking all day. I felt bloated from all the sugar in the drinks. There was no jucuzzi and the resort is very small with no real amenities. The WiFi was helpful and free as promised. It's about a 20 minute ride from the airport. Attended dinner at one of the restaurants at the resort and the food was much better. Salvador was amazing and friendly!!! There were gnats always at the dessert table and near the pastries put out by the coffee. All in all I would not back there, but for the money if you want all inclusive and don't mind it being quite old and out dated......have at it.