Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The food was good , I have stayed at a number of "all included" hotels and this food was well above average. The rooms were clean and well maintained.
Hotel is right on the beach with showers and toilets very close, no need to go into the hotel. Has a good sized pool with a bar. It has a small shop for essentials.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: The staff is AMAZING!!! They are so nice and friendly, whether you speak English or Spanish.
Cons: The cafeteria food is ok. There is a big selection so there was usually at least one thing I could eat, but I was expecting better food.
Location: The location is right on the beach. There isn't a lot to do on the resort/beach, but the Puerto Vallarta boardwalk is a 30 min. bus ride away.
The resort is a family-friendly hotel and we were the only non-Mexicans at the resort (which was awesome). The cafeteria food had a lot to be desired, but we made reservations for the Mexican and Italian restaurants and they were BOMB. The staff was unbelievably friendly and accommodating. The floors in the rooms were tile, which at first threw me off, but I ended up liking it because it was nice and cool, and the cleaning staff kept it incredibly clean every day. There were a lot of great activities and fun things for kids to do, and I liked the family-friendly atmosphere. Almost everyone there had kids, and there is absolutely no night life, so don't come to the hotel if you just want to get drunk and party. The drinks were good and the bartenders were always willing to make interesting things for us. There were always PLENTY of lounge chairs in the shade so we were never stuck without a place to sit (even when we got there later in the morning or afternoon). I suggest reserving the Mexican and Italian restaurants as often as you can, and spend your days sitting under the shade right on the beach in the cool air.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Not For Everyone

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Hotel is older and small, the reviews where positive so I booked it. I upgraded and reserved a room with a balcony only to find it faced the parking lot, our building was under construction, the drilling was really loud. I complained and the manager gave us another room, the view was better but like the other room it had an unpleasant swamp odor. This really needs to be advertised as a family resort, the pool is all children, no adult area. To get a reservation to any of the restaurants you must go to the front desk at 7am. I walked past both of the restaurants that had no available reservation only to find many empty seats. Your only other option is the buffet, totally inedible. PS...no bottled water. I really tried to give this place a chance, it was not for me. I checked out the next day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Hotel, Samba ESTANCIA poco placentera

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Los Jardines se notaban bien cuidados
Cons: Limpieza en el cuarto
La estancia en el hotel fue muy desagradable de manera principal por la habitacion, la sensacion de falta de limpieza fue inmediata , al llegar requerimos que hicieran limpieza en el cuarto y despues de 30 minutos llego una persona de no muy buena gana a limpiar el cuarto. Definitivamente no es un Hotel donde regresaria a vacacionar..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

OK hotel, great staff but we won't go back

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The staff is excellent! The grounds, beach, and pool are great
Cons: In rooms: Super Hard pillows, WIFI does not work in rooms, AC doesn't work great. The food is not good at all...and I'm not picky.
Location: The location is nice if you want to relax, but far away from activities. The cab fare for the trip was very expensive.
First of all, calling this a "4 star resort" is being verrrrry generous. This resort is a solid 3. 85% Hispanic guests, 10% Canadian, 5% American or other The hotel grounds and main areas are good. The beach is very nice, and although some other reviews complained about the pool, it was also very nice. The staff and servers truly are what make the hotel shine. They are beyond friendly and attentive. The rooms are outdated but clean and comfortable. There were some bugs on a few decks, but c'mon people...it's a tropical climate! I didn't see any bugs in our room or any common areas. It is obvious that the staff takes a lot of pride in their work. THAT BEING SAID....we would not return to this hotel. The buffet food is barely edible. We ended up eating out as much as we possibly could. I'm not picky...I'll eat most anything, but I had trouble with the food here. Puerta Vallerta is a foodie mecca, and the fruits and fish are so fresh. The food here was grandly inferior to anything we ate in all of Puerta Vallerta. The exception was the Italian restaurant which was nice. I ended up eating fruit and potatoes every morning because the buffet was difficult to stomach. The outdoor pool buffet was worse. The bar staff was great and the drinks are plentiful. There are not a lot of activities or things to do here. We visited some friends next door at the Riu Jalisco and watched a show. They had Zumba, fun kids activities, comedy shows IN ENGLISH, etc. Next time I would either pay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from colordao

laid back atmosphere at a small resort hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Very low key, Beach was absolutely the highlight and why I was there. Always easy to get a lounge chair umbrealla and a drink. Food was OK
Cons: WIFI is rooms is a joke, earlier kayak rentals, don't close a restaurant and if you do let guests know. More day day varity on buffet. pool side food
Location: Bucerias is well worth the trip and a highlight of my trip, it was just what I need for a quick trip from the hotel.
Enjoyed the stay, I was there to relax not do a lot of activities and I was successful. The service staff is very friendly, FD staff acted friendly but was not accommodating, no late check out, asked front desk where the Mexican a la carte' restaurant was, they told me but did not say it was closed which was disappointing. Upgraded to suite asked for 2 beds got to my room and there was one after calling FD and told I could not move that night we stayed put because it was the best location in place facing the ocean. FD could not recommend a "Mexican" restaurant outside of the hotel even though theirs was closed. Hotel was filled with Mexican families which in my eyes was great. If you do not get joy out of kids do not stay here. Room was fine a bit musty and the fold out couch was awful, we put it on the floor. Did not take in the shows at night. despite all this I did enjoy myself. the place is a bit run down a bit but it was clean for the most part.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver BC

Beach front hotel family oriented

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Buffet didnt have much variety, addition of too much sugar on their meals. Don't go there with teenagers, they will get bored. Only activities they manage for them, was the beach volley ball once a day. You feel stuck in the hotel, no stores or little village walkin distance. We have to take the taxi, bus was 45 min. Only bonus was the long flat beach (+ 15km). Ocean was shallow and warm too in March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Get some sun!

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. This all inclusive hotel was perfect for a our quick getaway. The food was delish and the drinks they made was awesome!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Un 8

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
En general el hotel está bien, lo único que no me convenció es que en el Snack no hay variedad en la comida y la atención de quien hace las hamburguesas y hotdogs, es áspera y a veces como con fastidio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Love everything about it! My window view, the pool and the easy access to the beach. Can't go wrong with the the bartenders especially Cirillo he was great. Had an awesome waiter by the name of Carlos... I will return again for sure. Food was delicious and all staff was friendly.