Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from South Deerfield, MA

Ocean Views

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Small refrigerator, microwave, well stocked coffee machine. This allowed us to safely store and reheat leftovers from restaurants.
Cons: We went in mid May. They were still doing repairs to open for the season.
Location: Easy walking distance to the beach, good restaurants, visitor center. Newport Mansions were a short drive.
The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. Large windows with a beautiful ocean view. Staff was helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that great

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Ocean view :)
Cons: Communication between Expedia and the hotel needs to be better.
Location: Beach
I received confirmation at 3:47 that my room was reserved. When we arrived at 5:30pm the desk person said the room was not available. She said they had a slow system and that she would give us a 2 double bed room. Then from 11:30pm until 1:30am the noise, yelling banging doors, with people drinking in the hallway until we had to yell at them to quiet down. We found out the next morning that they don't have any staff on duty at night. We would have had to call their "sister" hotel to get assistance.
2 out of 5
by Trevor from Long Island, NY

Clean but dated. Extremely noisy

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The view of Narrangansett Bay is extremely beautiful
Location: Turtle Soup restaurant/bar close by was very enjoyable
There was a prom party in the room directly opposite to ours that also spilled into the hallway. VERY noisy and no staff/security on site to stop it. Eventually finished at 1.30 am. Rooms are clean but dated, very seaside. Stay would be OK if not for the prom party and the hotel's lack of staffing to prevent the noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DJ from Florida/Rhode Isalnd

This place has so much potential but not there yet

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: The view and the location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Update computer system, fix main entrance door and room doors to open/shut more gently, clean extra pillows in closet, fix sliders to balcony, remodel
Location: Excellent location, beautiful front lawn w/ unobstructed ocean views, great walking distance to the local shops, restaurants, and beach.
Beautiful oceanfront views. Great location. Excellent pre-season price! So much potential but puzzled as to why the owners are not seizing a great opportunity.This place could be a gold mine for them. Prime location. It's within walking distance to the beach, shops, and local restaurants. The hotel website says it's been remodel. From what I saw, they possibly "remodeled" w/new carpeting& a coat of paint here and there. However, the baseboard trim§ions of the caulking along the tub are missing in the bathroom w/ peeling paint along the edge of the bathtub. The back of the bathroom door and walls behind the beds had what looked like some kind of liquid residue that could only be seen as the light shone on it at a particular angle. The beds were hard and uncomfortable with one scratchy foam-polyeurthane-type filled comforter. The sliding screen to the balcony fell off the track the first time I opened it.The extra pillows in the closet had not been wash as their was remaining mascara and makeup on the pillowcases from a previous guest. The room key system is outdated,using an actual key with a USB drive type of access device rather than a swipe card. Their computer system is not up to date with Expedia.com because I did not get the same oceanfront king rm I booked online. I got 2 double beds. The girl at the desk explained that their computers are not up to date with expedia so it may be best to actually call and confirm the room if you are looking for a specific r
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with a perfect view!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
When all that matters is a full view of the ocean, this is a winner. Older building not the best shape, but very pleasant and helpful staff. Loved the sitting area in the room. Will definitely return!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and view!

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: View and location.
Cons: Clean the garbage from the bushes in front. The beds and pillows were not very comfortable and should be upgraded.
Location: Was in town for a wedding. All the venues were within walking distance.
The hotel is in a great location. However I noticed there was a lot of garbage around the grounds. Also the hotel overcharged me for my room and had to credit me back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by beach bum from RI

on the ocean

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: update the room, new look
Location: everything is close by. Plenty of summer time activities to do there. You will not be bored.
Its a older hotel. But it is 50 yards from the ocean. You are right in the middle of everything to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary and Jim from Connecticut, USA

Lovely hotel for anyone.

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Pros: Quaint and Historical a real gem!
Cons: It had no pool but you were able to use pool and fitness rooms at sister hotel The Villager a short walk away.
Location: In the heart of Narragansett Bay. Walking distance to beach and restaurants.
I booked this hotel in spite of the negative reviews on the web because we needed a room at the last minute. Obviously I had some reservations about the reviews. My husband and I laughed from the moment we got there.. It was old and interesting looking and well kept up on the outside. Inside we were greeted with friendly staff. Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The price was great. And the room was very clean with a lot of extra little touches coffee maker many personal items if you forgot any. Location was fabulous walking distance to many place and restaurants, with the beach across the street.It is an old hotel the first at Narragansett Bay, so if you only like new with no dings in the furniture it is not the place for you. But to us location, price, atmosphere and good staff was what we wanted. We were lucky enough to get a room for an extra night, even though we had to change rooms. Will definitely go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SoSo

Posted Sep 6, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: Breakfast food.
Location: Great
Overpriced. Basically only breakfast item offered was pre packaged cup cakes and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'd go again!!

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Great view and great location.
Cons: Small patio/deck. Also would have liked the pool a bit closer.
Location: 5 minute walk from our main destination. Also short walk to the beach.
Overall, was a very good experience. Clean and comfortable. Great location...nearby restaurants and beach.