Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
On the outskirts of Croydon. Free shuttle to the train station and only 18 minutes to Victoria. Rooms are small but ok. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

nice stay

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: the views, the spa facilities
Cons: i feel the rooms should all be updated with flat screen TVs or freeview box.
Location: lots of restaurants and bars close to enjoy a meal or a pleasant drink
selsdon being one of my best hotels to stay in, it was a wonderful stay as always. the spa was just heaven good way to detox after a long week! full complements to staff and i will definetly be returning for another stay. many thanks bernard
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands

Lovely building. . Dated rooms

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Attended a friends wedding here over the weekend. Lovely grounds and buildings but dissapointment at how dates the rooms are. I have stayed in a few stately homes/ victorian mansions in the past but all have been given an uplift to bring them in line with modern hotel rooms. This Mansion was very much still dated. I don't think the carpet has ever been changed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Careful they don't charge you for breakfast

Posted Sep 3, 2014
The hotel was generally fine. However a few days after staying there I checked my bank account and saw that I had been charged £10.50 directly by the hotel. I hadn't booked breakfast and didn't ask for it to be added yet this is the same cost as the breakfast. This was probably a mistake by the staff on reception, however my requests for it to be refunded have just been ignored.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Canterbury

Comfy bed

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Spacious bedroom. Good facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
A pleasant stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

In desperate need of refurbishment

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Desperately needs renovation. Bed extremelly unconfortable and poor service at the restaurant (1h wait for two burgers, the waiter apologised and our drinks were free).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Lovely short break

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, check in time was flexible (we called ahead that we were running late and it was no problem), room was good value for money
Cons: Extras were a little on the pricey side, we didn't have breakfast there or use the wifi. Things are generally a little in need of a freshen up
Location: It's within easy access of East Croydon station (with regular trains to London Victoria), taxi back late at night was about £17.
We had a lovely stay in this hotel, the staff were really friendly and made the experience what it was. It's within really easy access to East Croydon station and we used the free shuttle service which was great (although designed for business users so be aware it only runs first thing in the morning and early evening). We dined in the restaurant which was lovely. The spa was a little run down but was still relaxing and worth a visit. It is a shame there isn't a separate kids pool though!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simonfrom Cornwall

Great location but

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was within an annex to the hotel and was dated anymore like staff quarters. Which was not mentioned in any literature. Breakfast could have been better and the servos has room for improvement.