Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Wedding nearby

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Nice grounds Hotel very large Room service fast and tasty Double check your bill- charged for breakfast we did not have- however staff were very quick to rectify this
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grubby

Posted May 22, 2014
Well........Grubby, down at heel, peeling wallpaper, damp spots,poor lighting, furniture from the 70's and it looks like the same carpet from the period..But not in a good way..Staff pleasant, I would say overworked underpaid and trying to botch things up. Decent breakfast though. Oh and they don't even have a real luggage trolley...
2 out of 5
by Lucy from Middlesex

Noisy retreat

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Shower in the bedroom was decent. Nice grounds.
Cons: Fix noisy doors. Inform guests about potential noise from wedding parties. Provide free Wifi/internet access. Provide modern TVs. Improve Spa hygiene.
Location: Have a curry in Selsdon - better than the hotel food and much cheaper.
Booming wedding party / disco not in harmony with what would otherwise be a tranquil setting. Thin bedroom walls meant could hear conversation in adjoining room (and these wedding guests were up very late). Doors slammed endlessly in corridors - could be fixed simply by maintaining the door closer mechanisms. Mattress was extremely uncomfortable - was evident previous guests had had the same problem owing to discovery of folded up pillows under the mattress to try to provide some semblance of support. The TV was an absolute joke. I thought analog signal had been switched off!? Just the 5 old stations and even then the TV kept switching itself off. We complained - hotel sent someone after 20 mins who said the signal must have been lost for a while. This is 2014. And they charge guests extra for Wifi/broadband access? Hotel needs to get with it. The hotel as a whole is in need of updating. The porch is ugly and completely at odds with the rest of the building. The shower in the Spa was poor by Spa standards (the one in the room was far better). Most guests seemed oblivious to signs asking them to shower before using the pool and not to wear shoes poolside - no staff member in the pool area - one chap popped in occasionally and seemed to be doubling as the cleaner. Not good enough.
2 out of 5
by golf not sleep from m

Nice golf course, rooms poor, service average

Posted Apr 30, 2014
No heating in room, rude bar staff, nice golf course, unmanageable putting greens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for visiting friends

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: leisure facilities relaxing
Cons: sort out breakfast not enough staff available
All ok except breakfast not enough staff and limited menu, Eggs very old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elena from London

Nice, quiet place

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Beautiful place in a beautiful, quiet location.
Cons: The iron provided in the room was useless,the tv was small, with only a few channels and far from the bed
Location: Location is beautiful and quiet. Not much nearby as it is tucked away but a short taxi ride will take you to South Croydon high street.
The room was way bigger that the double we have booked and it was clean. The bed was big and comfortable. Plenty towels provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mart1971 from Worcester

Spot on when the prices are good

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, nice room, breakfast is too expensive for my company to approve which is a shame unless it can be hidden in the bill. I must like it as I am a regular but I refuse to go when the prices are astronomical which they can vary, a lot. Sauna is nice but seems to have the same local people in every morning who are a little odd
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Greg from Deal

stay

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fine suitable for our needs. Breakfast choice very good. Bathroom sink blocked very slow drain away. Only one extra pillow in the wardrobe . Very old fashioned television with limited choice.