Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the money

Posted Dec 3, 2014
The Hotel use to be days inn. It's in renovations right now. Lobby is updated, breakfast needs more work. The Rooms need work also sink trap leaking place bucket underneath, no flat screen only in lobby. Location is great right off the interstate heading south.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Decent room, you get what you pay for. Great set up if you are there to fish the lake, very boater friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom south hill

OVERALL STAY

Posted Sep 9, 2009 on Hotels.com
This is my hometown so I chose this hotel because of location, as well as past dealings. However I was disatisfied this time because housekeeping only left one of each item in a room that was reserved for 4. I do enjoy the convenience of everything in the area including resteraunt and bar onsite.
2 out of 5
by Kenfrom Fairfax, VA

our stay at Days Inn South Hill

Posted Jul 1, 2009
The hotel is OLD but seems in reasonable repair, but when we walked into our room, the lights near the door worked, but the lights by the TV didn't work. The lights by the bed didn't work either. both had bulbs. the front desk said to check the plug. the bed lights were unplugged -- and the plug was behind the night stand!? My 7 year old son needed a bath but the drain plug would not fit in the tub, so we used a wash cloth. The ceiling lamp in the bath had no cover. functional but not pretty. Beds were way too soft. Our room was in the back by the cleaning staff laundry so it was noisier than most rooms. The pool was not quite recovered from a party several days ago. the partiers had clogged the filter with broken balloons and had broken an underwater light. The light was fixed but was now sitting on the edge of the pool -- above water with the cord going back underwater. Safe but looked haphazard. I talked to the pool manager as he was getting things right. My son loves the pool, so he went in, and we watched him. There is an adjoining Dennys 50 steps from the hotel. Food was good, but the kitchen was slow. I will find another place to stay next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2008 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Everything was great

Posted Dec 2, 2008 on Hotels.com
I am a former resident of South Hill, and also had my wedding reception there. The hotel and staff are always welcoming and the fact that Denny's is right there makes it a great stay for the entire family.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Smithfield

Terrible Experience

Posted Oct 1, 2008 on Hotels.com
The hotel had great personnel, clean rooms, lovely lobby and a convenient restaurant. The problem is that we couldn't get any sleep in the two nights we stayed. Friday night guests ran around outside our room yelling and talking on their cell phones. We complained to the front desk, but it continued until 3:45 a.m. Saturday night a band started playing at 8:00 p.m. and lasted until 2:00 a.m on Sunday. Our walls were vibrating from the loud speakers. This hotel would not give us our money back to cancel our reservation. We were stuck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Greensboro, NC

Nice hotel in South Hill.

Posted Sep 11, 2008
A very nice hotel with good rates. This hotel has a Denny's restaurant and a sports bar attached to the lobby. The computer in the lobby available to guests is a big plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not Bad....Not Bad At All!

Posted Jul 29, 2008 on Hotels.com
We were down for a funeral and were told that this was the only hotel in the area. We booked online before we left. When we got there, there were several hotels, but I soon figured out that this was THE only hotel (worth staying at!) It was clean, nice outdoor pool, the check-in staff was very nice and helpful - even VERY late at night. There was LOTS of noise and music as there was a nightclub near the lobby, but you couldnt hear it in the rooms. I would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2007 on Hotels.com