Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable place to stay

Posted Jun 10, 2014
We were passing thru and decided to stay a night at a local hotel , so we looked on expedia. We chose this location at around $130.00, went in to book in - staff said to just do it at counter not to bother with the app First transaction was over 340.00, with a disagreement , then they repeated the situation at approx $230 with confusion over which currency was being used. My partner got annoyd and just got his phone and bkd on the app which wrkd fine straight away and we were good to go. The situation was annoying, but unintentional from the staff. The hotel was great otherwise :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted May 15, 2014
Disappointed with this hotel. Unfriendly staff when we checked in. Bed was not comfortable. There were two hall full bottles of coca cola in the mini fridge. Very overpriced for what we got for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from London

Great spot for exploring Southern Iceland

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location and quiet rooms
Cons: Sheets were a bit tatty
Location: Good Thai restaurant next door
This hotel was what we expected based on reviews etc, situated in the middle of Selfoss. The staff were lovely upon arrival and we were able to check in a couple of hours early. Lots of parking, decent breakfast buffet and nice quiet rooms were the best aspects of this hotel. Also we had a stunning view looking out over the river to the mountains. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel / good price

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Easy access hotel, comfortable rooms. Reasonable rates. Wifi that actually works well. Breakfast included. Smart choice ! Perks: Rooms with river view are fun. Tryggvaskali Restaurant across the street is fantastic for a nice dinner after a day of exploring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jessica from uk

Great location for a self drive

Posted Feb 24, 2014
We stated here for 5 nights. Great spacious room over looking the river. Good location for DIY/self drive exploring including golden circle, waterfalls, Blue lagoon, Reykjavik and northern lights which we saw for three nights in a row right outside our bedroom window. Only negative - hotel food v. Expensive but there are loads of places to eat in Selfoss and the spa is not included in room price. Costs an extra £27 per couple each visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Could be so much better

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was no internet in the room, only in the lobby and lobby was very cold so getting wifi was not easy. Breakfast had almost nothing to eat, waffle maker was broken, only couple of cold meats and cheese and couple dilled fish to eat, half of the time even those were out. The spa closes at 5pm and given that they only have 4 hrs of day light in the winter, you have nothing to do at the hotel at night and spa is basically useless. The rooms only have single beds, they pushed two beds together and called it full beds. Hot water is really smelly, it's the only time you smell worse after a shower than when you went in. I don't think I would go recommend this unless they offer really good deals on rate and im not looking for comfort.
2 out of 5
by Mark from United Kingdom

Unhelpful staff

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The location.
Cons: Staff could be more helpful. Breakfast could be improved. Rooms should be soundproofed, and light proofed to exclude exterior light.
Location: Not much nearby I am sorry to say. The Selfoss to Grindavik road is worth the drive though.
Stayed for one night on 29/12/2013. We were initially shown Room 101, but it had a rather disappointing view of the rear carpark. I asked the receptionist if we could get a room with a view of the river on the other side of the corridor and was told that these were "superior rooms". Despite the fact that the hotel was virtually dead (I'd be surprised if it was more than 10% full) she said they only had 1 superior room available and it was cost an extra ISK 5000.00 (approx £27). Ermm... no thanks! It was only when I checked my paperwork about 15 minutes later that I realised we had actually booked a superior room, so we were moved to Room 122. Both rooms were twins, and when I asked if we could have a room with a double bed, I was told by the receptionist that they didn't have any double beds, all rooms were twins. Really...!! Really struggled to sleep in the room due to the arctic gale that was blowing outside the hotel. It whistled past the windows all night and was clearly audible in the room. I accept that the hotel is not at fault for the wind, but perhaps some double (or even triple) glazing might have helped. Also not helpful to sleep was the curtains which were by no means blackout, allowing a fair degree of light through - including the exterior orange floodlights. Didn't sleep a wink all night. Breakfast was a complete disappointment, and not worth paying anything for. All in all, I was really disappointed and won't consider staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Xu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Brookings, Oregon

Location

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: As mentioned, update the furniture.
Location: About two hours to the Glacier Lagoon and about a half hour to the Golden Circle.
This hotel is right on a river and walking distance to restaurants. It is close to the "Golden Circle". We knew checking in early was unlikely, but the receptionist was a bit snippy about it. Internet is only available in the lobby and while we were there it was in and out. They have one community computer. Breakfast was very good. Our bedspread had stains on it and the furniture needs updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com