Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: made to feel very welcome, breakfasts have a very wide range of choice and hotel is dog friendly.
Cons: some bookings are room only on expedia. b'fast £10 if booked at hotel. Expedia charge £14.95!
Location: business trip so no local activities but Mcaruthur glen shopping mall less than 1 mile away.
Great hotel -clean, comfortable and easy access from M1. Good sports facilities. Dog friendly adn staff very helpful and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Enjoyed the stay

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Easy to access, large number of rooms so isn't continually full like the smaller inns in Derby, staff friendly
Location: Not much ... brewsters fayre across the street for buffet and some food and drinks.
Enjoyed the stay but food not quite to my liking (little different fare in Canada) and didn't see much else around the area at night. Weather though was nasty and could hear the wind throughout the night rattling windows and drafty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent spa

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Room was unbearably hot all night!lovely hotel and spa though
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Disappointing room for price

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Good location. The toiletries were made from natural ingredients, and the hotel stated it tried to use local produce where possible.
Stayed at the hotel for one night on business, but thought the Premier Inn, across the road & which I stayed in the following night, was better value for money. Hotel entrance and breakfast room were pleasant, as was the breakfast, although the staff were already clearing away the hot food by 9:10. The bedroom was clean and tidy, however the fixtures and fittings were dated and worn, and the edges of the carpet just looked dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

Business visit

Posted Oct 10, 2014
The stay was fine except they made a mistake with my bill charging me £61 for a room service pizza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gillian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Very comfortable stay at this hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Bed and pillows very comfortable and the room felt cosy and it was nice to walk in to a hotel room that was nice and warm on arrival.
Cons: If anything I would just say to make it a bit more upbeat in the rooms (décor).
Location: Not really sure about the location but handy as not far from the Motorway & there is a pub/eating place close by and its also very near to an Outlet.
Would recommend to friends/family and have to say the bed and pillows were extremely comfy. It's not a flash upbeat hotel but excellent standards from what I saw on my over night stay. Staff were helpful and explained all the facilities available.. Overall I would give this hotel 10 out 10 and would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel. Restaurant food lacking.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Good value and good staff. Nothing wrong with the room and the leisure facilities are fine (gym small). However, we had to send some meals back in the restaurant as they weren't well-cooked and we ate at the Brewer's Fayre for breakfast as the Derbyshire's breakfast is overpriced. £15 vs £6.50 for toast, coffee and fresh fruit? No contest. It's only a 2 min walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin

Good Business Hotel Close To The M1

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was good.
Cons: The shower controls were not easy to use, and I found it difficult to find optimum temperature.
Location: The Hotel is located close to the M1 Motorway.
I stayed at the Derbyshire Hotel for business purposes. I was entertaining a customer and supplier and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel was close to the M1 Motorway, as my supplier needed to get to Heathrow Airport early the following morning.