Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great resort, highly recomended

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Location, room, breakfast
A great resort, good for a short or a long stay in the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice Hotes with a few little difficulties

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Pros: the beach 10m away from the hotel entrance
Cons: the lonelyness
The Hotel was really nice but there was no shuttle service to Puerto Jimenez and it was a little bit to far to walk, especially in the heat. Besides, the hotel wanted to get 8% of the price when we wanted to pay with credit card. To much!!!! Third point, the owner seemed interessted in the hotel guests, but he didn't know anything about the activities, the prices and much more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

so so

Posted Apr 6, 2013
beds not that comfortable and food really expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda from Houston, TX, USA

Beautiful, secluded hotel!

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Beautiful location! Right on the beach!
Cons: Beds are very uncomfortable and it is difficult traveling into town or to other activities in the area.
Location: Secluded!
We had a lovely stay at Agua Dulce! Chris and Carlos were extremely helpful and the majority of the staff very pleasant! The views there are breathtaking and the hotel grounds themselves are a sight to see. If you need a guide for anything (which I would recommend using one as most things are difficult to find in Puerto Jimenez), ask for Jairo (sp?). He was the best! The only complaints I have are that the beds were VERY uncomfortable and although you have a jacuzzi big enough for several people in the room, you are unable to use it due to a lack of water pressure (it took about an hour to fill) and lack of hot water (the bath was completely cold). Also, although Agua Dulce is only a few miles from town, plan on renting a car as it is very difficult not to do so while staying here due to the hotels remoteness (not necessarily a bad thing). The Costa Rican breakfast is delish as was everything else we had while staying there. The prices are a little high, but they are that way throughout all of Costa Rica. All that being said it is a beautiful place and if you want something secluded and away from all the tourism, then this is the place for you! Pura vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by diane from Seattle, WA

What will change with new owners?

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: beautiful grounds, nice pool and hot tub, beach looked nice
Cons: dinner
Location: quite far from town, so without transportation need a car or able to bike. it's beautiful, though!
We were there three weeks before new owners took over. Who knows what the future holds? It's a beautiful place, but quite secluded from town. The dinner was less than spectacular, but they may have been trying to use up what they had. Breakfast was quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zina from Atlanta, GA, USA

Miles and miles of private beach for $90 a night

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: Privacy
This small resort is the perfect combination of comfort and wilderness. Rooms have AC and there is a pool and a restaurant on the premisses. However, the beach is completely private. When you walk out onto the beach you feel like a castaway. There is nothing but miles of sandy beach and green jungle around. You can watch a beautiful sunrise while you are having a complementary breakfast in the restaurant. The food is great all day long. Staff is very friendly and helpful with arranging anything from a taxi ride to town to tours into the jungle. The grounds are beautifully maintained and you feel like you are in the middle of a tropical garden. You can spot Scarlet Macaws and Tucans flying around almost every day. This is just a perfect place to stay in Puerto Jimenez and very reasonably priced compared to the orher options in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Newmarket, ON, Canada

Great time in Puerto Jimenez

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: The air conditioning is nice and cool and quiet. Beach is spectacular, close to many restaurants.
We were 2 couples in Costa Rica for 2 weeks traveling around in 9 hotels. This was our favourite. Hotel is clean, spacious, great air conditioning, nice pool and surrounding area, awesome beach, super for swimming, nice breakfast that was included in the room price. Mike, the guide for Corcovado affiliated with this hotel was great and we hiked with his partner Jorge who was awesome. Truly an exceptional place! We will be staying there next time we go to Puerto Jimenez.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in Puerto Jimenez

Posted Feb 27, 2013
we loved this hotel for many reasons, the location was right on the beach which seemed like it was our own private 18 km beach very isolated but near everything , lots and lots of scartet macaws and toucans and other wild life, the rooms were very big and clean, the food was quite good ,the pool was great and the staff were very nice especially the manager Carlos who helped us with all our needs and even helped us with booking our next hotel. for the price you could not get anything better in Puerto Jimenez.